Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (328 total).

5p– Society (Five P Minus Society)

Annotation: The 5p– Society is a parent support organization for families of children with 5p– Syndrome (also known as Cri-du-Chat and Cat Cry Syndrome). The society's mission is to encourage and facilitate communication among families having a child with 5p–Syndrome and to spread the awareness and education of the syndrome to these families and their service providers. The society works with leading genetics and medical researchers to further research efforts, and holds an annual national meeting. Publications are available to consumers. Publications include the 5p– Newsletter.

Keywords: Cri du chat syndrome, Family support services, Information services, Parent groups, Support groups, Medical research

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Academic Pediatric Association (APA )

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

AcademyHealth

Annotation: AcademyHealth, formerly the Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy (AHSRHP), is the professional home for health services researchers, policy analysts, and practitioners, and a leading, non-partisan resource for the best in health research and policy. Drawing from the strengths of more than 3,600 individuals and 120 organizations, AcademyHealth provides a forum for its members to share the latest research, review and analyze health policy, and network with their peers. Services to consumers include publications and searchable databases. The organization publishes a journal and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Health policy, Health services, Policy development, Research, Training

ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH)

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)

Annotation: The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a federal-state-industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of client-level health care data. HCUP includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. The databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, state, and local market levels. H-CUPnet, a free, online query system based on data from HCUP, provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department use.

Keywords: Databases, Federal initiatives, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Health policy, Hospitals, Public private partnerships, Research

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

ALS Association (ALSA)

Annotation: The ALS Association, previously known as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association (ALSA), supports research on amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig's disease. Association activities include research funding, patient services, public and professional education, chapter development, and the establishment of ALS clinical service centers nationwide. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include manuals on managing ALS, Basic Home Care, ALS and The ALS Association, a set of five videos, Reason for Hope (a newsletter published three times a year), and Scientific Briefings (published 2–4 times a year). The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Medical research, , Motor neuron disease, Neuromuscular diseases

Alstrom Syndrome International (ASI)

Annotation: Alstrom Syndrome International (ASI) provides information, networking, and emotional support for people afflicted with Alstrom Syndrome and their families. It also serves as an information resource for physicians, researchers, and any associated professionals who have an interest in Alstrom syndrome. ASI also promotes and encourages medical research with the hope of determining the cause and finding a cure for Alstrom Syndrome and related diseases. ASI publishes a quarterly newsletter and maintains a listserv for individuals (both professionals and family members) interested in Alstrom Syndrome. Materials are available in Portuguese, German, Italian, Spanish, Swedish, Dutch, Turikish and Japanese.

Keywords: Alstrom syndrome, Medical research, Support groups

Altarum Institute

Annotation: Altarum Insittute is a nonprofit health systems research and consulting organization. Altarum's technical service offerings are grouped into the following seven categories: health research, policy, and analysis; health program management, technical assistance, and evaluation; business advisory services; clinical research support and pharmacovigilance; strategic communications and digital services; conferences and meetings; and health innovation and technical assistance.

Keywords: Health policy, Policy development, Research, Systems development, Technical assistance

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Oral Health Research and Policy Center informs and advances research and policy development that will promote optimal children's oral health and care. Activities include monitoring and reporting data, developing and implementing special projects, producing policy analysis, and conducting research.

Keywords: Children, Oral health, Public policy, Research

American Association for Dental Research (AADR)

Annotation: The American Association for Dental Research (AADR), a division of the International Association for Dental Research, has as its mission to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health, to support and represent the oral health research community, and to facilitate the communication and application of research findings. It is involved in the study of national affairs and related legislation, and the possible effects on dental research. The association's Web site includes fact sheets and research advocacy links.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Research

American Association for Dental Research, National Student Research Group (NSRG)

Annotation: The American Association for Dental Research National Student Research Group (NSRG) is a student-run organization whose main purpose is to foster an environment in every dental school whereby students interested in enriching their dental education through research are encouraged to do so. It is composed of a network of self-governing local student research group (SRG) chapters at each dental school. It provides information on awards and contests; networking opportunities, both electronically and at conferences; and a newsletter.

Keywords: Dental schools, Research, Students

American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP)

Annotation: The American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP) has these objectives: medical education, advocacy, clinical research, career development, and referral networking for medical professionals interested in SIDS and pediatric sleep disorders as well as those involved in the care of infants in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) and upon discharge. AASPP holds an annual conference is held each year and is associated with the American SIDS Institute (http://www.sids.org).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, Research, SIDS, Sleep disorders

American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)

Annotation: The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) advances health promotion and wellness initiatives for children and adults with disabilities. AAHD accomplishes its mission through advocacy, education, public awareness, and research efforts at the federal, state, and community levels. The website contains the Health Promotion and Wellness Resource Center for People with Disabilities, which provides abstracts, best practices, data, links, fact sheets, presentations, and state resources on primary conditions, secondary conditions, and other health and disability-related topics. Additional content includes the Disability and Health Journal, news, initiatives, a public policy center, and membership and scholarship information.

Keywords: Disabilities, Access to health care, Advocacy, Education, Information dissemination, Intervention, Prevention services, Research

American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA)

Annotation: The American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA) provides publications which address brain tumors, their treatment, and coping with the disease; nationwide resource listings of brain tumor support groups and physicians offering investigative treatments;Connections pen-pal program; a national brain tumor symposium for patients and their families; and free social service consultations. ABTA also sponsors regional Town Hall meetings across the country which focus on state-of-the-art treatment options. ABTA funds brain tumor research at institutions throughout the United States and Canada. A tri-annual newsletter, the Message Line, describes those research advances as well as other ABTA activities. ABTA also publishes booklets.

Keywords: Brain diseases, Brain tumors, Cancer, Information services, Medical research

American Cancer Society (ACS)

Annotation: The American Cancer Society (ACS) is a nationwide community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives, and diminishing suffering from cancer through research, education, advocacy, and service. The society provides educational materials and information for patients, their families, and professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish and in Asian languages (Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese).

Keywords: Cancer, Information sources, Medical research, Public awareness materials

American College of Radiology (ACR )

Annotation: The American College of Radiology (ACR) works to ensure that imaging is safe, effective, and accessible to those who need it. Members include radiologists, radiation oncologists, and medical physicists. The college sponsors Webcasts, conducts research, provides training materials, and produces publications, including practice guidelines and technical standards, as well as patient materials. In addition to ACR's main Web site, the college also maintains a Web site designed specifically for patients in collaboration with the Radiological Society of North America (see www.radiologyinfo.org).

Keywords: Patient education, . Research, Professional societies, Professional training, Radiology

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.