Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (270 total).

ABC for Health (ABC for Health)

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Academic Pediatric Association (APA )

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH)

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

Adopt a Special Kid (AASK)

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

Advocates for Children and Youth (ACY)

Annotation: Advocates for Children and Youth (ACY) is a statewide nonprofit organization that educates Marylanders about the needs of children and encourages investment in good health, quality education, safe environment, and economic security of children. Activities include: educating and mobilizing Marylanders around the needs of children and their families; researching and providing information to public officials, the media, and statewide organizations on key issues affecting Maryland's children and families; identifying effective programs and services that meet the needs of children and their families and advocating for funds to implement these programs and services; and A providing legal representation to children who are having trouble staying in school. A publications list if available, and some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Maryland, Public policies

AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth and Families

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP )

Annotation: The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is a national professional organization representing the interests of more than 125,000 nurse practitioners of all specialties. Founded in 1985, the organization provides NPs practicing in the U.S. with a unified way to network and continually advocates at the local, state, and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, and personalized healthcare. AANP conducts research, provides training tools, sponsors a national conference, and publishes position statements, a peer-reviewed journal, and patient education materials.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Legislation, Nursing societies

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health (CDH)

Annotation: The Campaign for Dental Health (CDH) is a network of local children's and oral health advocates, health professionals, and scientists who are working together to preserve the nation's gains in oral health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Campaigns, Oral health, Public health

American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (AAP SODBP), founded in 1960, works to optimize the relationship between primary care and subspecialists, provide education and disseminate strategies to support quality clinical practice, and advocate on behalf of children and providers. The website provides information about educational activities and a toolbox of resources and tools to help physicians advocate for children at the federal, state, or local practice level; screen and assess developmental and behavioral concerns; and support developmental and behavioral services and policies related to developmental and behavioral pediatrics. Additional contents include the Learning Disabilities Navigator, a comprehensive resource guide for learning difficulties and disabilities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior development, Child development, Continuing education, Developmental screening, Emotional development, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

American Academy of Pediatrics, Illinois Chapter

Annotation: The Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (ICAAP) is an organization of approximately 2,300 pediatricians in Illinois. Primary activities include advocacy on behalf of children, families, and health professionals in Illinois; the provision of continuing medical education and other resources for pediatricians, pediatric specialists, and other child health care providers; and collaboration with other state organizations and agencies on programs and projects that improve the health and well-being of children.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Illinois, Pediatric care, Pediatricians

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is a national medical society representing physicians who are specialists in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The academy sponsors educational conferences and programs; publishes Archives (a scholarly journal) and Physiatrist (a newsletter); and promotes legislative advocacy. An online discussion forum is open to members.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Professional societies

American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB)

Annotation: The mission of the American Association of the Deaf-Blind (AADB) is to assure that a comprehensive, coordinated system of services is accessible to all deaf-blind persons enabling them to achieve their maximum potential through increased independence, productivity and integration into the community. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in large print, Braille, and on disk (MS Word).. AADB prints a quarterly magazine, The Deaf-Blind American. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Advocacy, Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Hearing disorders, Information services, Visually impaired, Youth services

American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)

Annotation: The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) advances health promotion and wellness initiatives for children and adults with disabilities. AAHD accomplishes its mission through advocacy, education, public awareness, and research efforts at the federal, state, and community levels. The website contains the Health Promotion and Wellness Resource Center for People with Disabilities, which provides abstracts, best practices, data, links, fact sheets, presentations, and state resources on primary conditions, secondary conditions, and other health and disability-related topics. Additional content includes the Disability and Health Journal, news, initiatives, a public policy center, and membership and scholarship information.

Keywords: Disabilities, Access to health care, Advocacy, Education, Information dissemination, Intervention, Prevention services, Research

American Bar Association, Center on Children and the Law (ABA)

Annotation: The Center on Children and the Law is a program of the American Bar Association's Young Lawyers Division. Founded in 1978, the center works to improve the quality of life for children through advancements in law, justice, and public policy. It conducts research and disseminates information; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and programs to improve the skills of legal professionals in proceedings affecting children; provides referrals; educates and assists non attorneys and organizations in child-related law; and stimulates public awareness of the law and systems of justice related to children. It also analyzes legal issues related to the promotion of child and adolescent health. In particular, with the support of a MCHB/OAH grant, the ABACCL is working in collaboration with the American Medical Association, the National Association of Social Workers, the American Psychological Association, the American Dietetic Association, the American Nurses Association, and the National Assembly of School Based Health Care to promote adolescent health initiatives. Publications include the monthly ABA Child Law Practice.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Courts, Legislation

American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network

Annotation: The American Cancer Society, Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN) is the the nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society that allows for increased lobbying of local, state and federal officials; cancer advocates to hold lawmakers accountable for their votes and actions through voter guides and town hall meetings; and provides legal protection to the Society. By forming ACS CAN, the Society is able to encourage additional advocacy efforts without jeopardizing its tax-deductible status. ACS CAN facilitates campaigns for more funding of cancer research, a national breast and cervical cancer early detection program, access to care, colon cancer, patient quality of life, and advocates for the Federal Drug Administration regulation of tobacco.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cancer, Lobbying, Patient advocacy

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.