Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Association for Research on Mothering (ARM)

Annotation: The Association for Research on Mothering (ARM) is an international feminist organization on motherhood and mothering. It is housed at the Centre for Research on Mothering at York University. ARM is an association for scholars, writers, activists, professionals, agencies, policy makers, educators, parents, and artists. Its mandate is to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of feminist, academic, and community grassroots research, theory, and praxis on mothering-motherhood.ARM are committed, in both membership and research, to the inclusion of all mothers, First Nations, immigrant and refugee mothers, working-class mothers, lesbian mothers, mothers with disabilities, mothers of colour, and mothers from other marginalized communities.It offers an electronic newsletterm a journal, and other publications.

Keywords: Ethnic groups, International organizations, Minority groups, Mothers

Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI)

Annotation: The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI), part of La Leche League International, was established in 1989. CBI maintains a collection of about 40,000 articles on breastfeeding which can be searched at no charge using an online database. The center also provides bibliographies and links to breastfeeding information for consumers and professionals.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

La Leche League International (LLLI)

Annotation: La Leche League International (LLLI) offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. All or parts of the website have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers, Spanish language materials

MotherNet America

Annotation: MotherNet America (formerly The Resource Mothers Development Project) is a national support network for community-based maternal and child programs. It works to strengthen at-risk families, help parents give their children a healthy start in life, and increase the capacity of underserved communities to sustain positive change. MotherNet America's own model programs -- MotherNet L.A. in Compton, California and MotherNet Loudoun in Loudoun County, Virginia -- offer culturally and linguistically appropriate programs including intensive perinatal home visiting and case manangement; case management for chronic conditions including asthma, obesity and diabetes; mentoring for children with a parent in prison; center-based classes on parenting, nutrition, family strengthening, domestic violence, health-focused English as a Second Language and health literacy-focused computer skills; school-based adolescent sexual health classes; community health fairs; immunization outreach; and health coverage application assistance. Publications produced by MotherNet America include the Women's Wellness Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers about a broad range of women's health issues; Curriculum Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers; and Home Visitors Handbook, a training text and field resource for outreach workers. The Home Visitors Handbook is available in Spanish and English.

Keywords: Home visiting, Outreach, Pregnancy, Resource mothers

National Organization of Single Mothers (NOSM)

Annotation: Founded in 1991, the National Organization of Single Mothers seeks to help the country's single parents meet the challenges of daily life and to counter the negative stereotype of single parents. The organization maintains an online bookstore, publishes an online magazine, hosts discussion forums, and links to blogs, support groups, and other resources of interest to single mothers.

Keywords: Child support, Parenting, Single mothers

Washington Child Development Council (WCDC)

Annotation: The Washington Child Development Council (WCDC) is a nonprofit organization composed of concerned representatives from child development centers and family child care homes, as well as parents and other interested persons, who join together to focus on the developmental needs of the children living in the District of Columbia. WCDC encourages the District government to establish policies that promote the nurturing of children so that all children may reach their full potential. WCDC has been committed to working with teenage mothers and homeless families by serving as an advocate to promote much-needed child care services for this at-risk population. The organization sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Child care, Child development centers, Family child care, Homeless persons, Underserved communities

Wider Opportunities for Women (WOW)

Annotation: Wider Opportunities for Women (WOW) works nationally and locally to achieve economic independence and equality of opportunity for women and girls. The organization provides skills training models, technical assistance, workshops, and advocacy for women workers, and encourages nontraditional employment for women. WOW also publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Working mothers

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.