Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (48 total).

American Association of Birth Centers (AABC)

Annotation: The American Association of Birth Centers (AABC) educates women and families about the birth center alternative, promotes standards for quality care through licensure and certification, and provides a forum for communication among birth centers. The association has a resource center of statistical information and publishes standards, reports, a membership directory, and audiovisual materials. Services to consumers include referrals. ABCC offers a multimedia Web site with information, stories, statistics and directories for all (clinicians and consumers). The association also publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and conferences. AABC was formerly called the National Association of Childbearing Centers (NACC).

Keywords: Childbirth, Birthing centers, Information services, Pregnancy, Statistics

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids

Annotation: The Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, an initiative sponsored through partnerships with health, education, medical, civic, corporate, youth, and religious organizations, strives to reduce tobacco addiction and exposure to second hand smoke among children. The campaign's goals are to change public policy regarding tobacco at the federal, state, and local government level; to counter tobacco industry marketing to youth; and to increase the number of organizations and individuals supporting efforts to fight tobacco use. Information is provided on federal, state, and global initiatives aimed at reducing tobacco use. State statistics on tobacco usage and tobacco related deaths, samples of tobacco advertisements and statistics on industry advertising costs, and news reports on tobacco-related studies and legislation are available through the organization's Web site. Fact sheets, special reports, and information on tobacco political action committee contributions are also provided through the campaign's research center.

Keywords: Tobacco use, Adolescent health, Child health, Media campaigns, Pubic policies, Statistics

Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA)

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

U.S. Census Bureau

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC)

Annotation: Child Care and Education Research Connections (CCEERC) is a tool for researchers and policymakers that facilitates access to current research and findings, datasets, statistics, instruments, and other analytic tools related to child care and early childhood education. It is a partnership among the National Center for Children in Poverty at Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health; the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research; and the U.S. Administration for Children and Families' Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation. Research Connections highlights current research; develops and disseminates materials designed to improve child care policy research; provides technical assistance to researchers and policy makers; synthesizes findings into policy research briefs; and facilitates collaboration in the field. Services to consumers include referrals, data sets, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and provides an online discussion list and an electronic announcement list.

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Public policy, Research, Statistics

Child Health USA

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Childstats.gov

Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

CPONDER

Annotation: CPONDER, CDC's PRAMS Online Data for Epidemiologic Research, provides access to data collected through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System surveys. The web-based query system contains data that may be analyzed by state, by year, and by topic. Results are returned in the form of a table and graph that users can copy into a document or spreadsheet.

Keywords: Data analysis, Federal programs, Online systems, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Statistics

Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database

Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Data, Directories, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Online databases, Public health, Social security, Statistics

Disability Statistics Center (DSRRTC)

Annotation: The Disability Statistics Center is a program funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research to train individuals and develop statistical information on disability in the United States. It provides statistical information on a wide variety of topics concerning disability in the United States, and responds to questions using a library of books, reports, research papers, and technical information on surveys and databases. The center produces a catalog and a journal, provides publications and reference information for consumers, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Statistics

DiversityDataKids.org

Annotation: Diversitydatakids.org was founded to fill an urgent need for a rigorous, equity-focused research program with a clear mission to help improve child wellbeing and increase racial and ethnic equity in opportunities for children. Areas covered include early childhood; income, work, and family; and neighborhoods. It was established in 2014 with support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Keywords: Children, Cultural diversity, Data, Equal opportunities, Statistics

FastStats State and Territorial Data

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.