Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 18 (18 total).

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health

Annotation: The C.S. Mott Children's Hospital National Poll on Children's Health (NPCH), located within the University of Michigan Health System's Division of General Pediatrics' Child Health Evaluation and Research Unit, measures public opinion, perceptions and priorities regarding major health care issues and trends for children in the United States. Findings from the NPCH contribute to the national dialogue on children's health and health policy issues and help to inform new policy initiatives and research ideas regarding children's health. Current issues range from insurance coverage and preventive services to health care access, obesity, smoking and substance use, screening programs, and children with special health care needs. The NPCH measures the opinions and perceptions of a nationally representative sample of approximately 2,000 U.S. households - with and without children - using an established Web-based survey technology provided by Knowledge Networks. A different sample is drawn for each poll. Each sample is subsequently weighted to reflect the latest population figures from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Keywords: Children's health, National surveys, Public opinion, Public policy

Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA)

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As the nation’s largest group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI)

Annotation: The Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) develops and facilitates the implementation of client-centered quality-measurement tools. CAHMI’s website has information about how to implement and apply the measures. CAHMI also provides technical assistance for services for client-centered quality measurement and improvement, including research design, analysis, and reporting to key stakeholders. The initiative's Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) functions to advance the use of public data on health and health-related services for children, adolescents, and their families.

Keywords: Collaboration, Quality assurance, Adolescent health, Child health , Evaluation, Measures, Surveys

Child Health USA

CityMatCH

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC)

Annotation: The Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC), a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, functions as a partnership with the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau and its users to advance the effective use of public data on health and health-related services for children, adolescents, and their families in the United States. DRC provides access to national, state, and regional data as well as technical assistance in the collection and use of the data. DRC's website includes data on over 100 indicators from the National Survey of Children's Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs. An interactive search feature allows users to select, view, compare, and download survey data for every state and HRSA region.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Data, National MCH resource center, Online systems, Resource centers, Surveys

Education Commission of the States (ECS)

Annotation: The Education Commission of the States (ECS) is a nonprofit, nationwide, interstate compact formed to help governors, state legislators, state education officials, and others develop policies to improve the quality of education from birth through post-graduate school. The commission conducts policy research and surveys, maintains an information clearinghouse, provides technical assistance to states and helps them to implement changes in education, fosters nationwide leadership and cooperation in education, and organizes state, regional, and national forums. The comission sponsors conferences and workshops, maintains online databases, and publishes periodicals, policy briefs, and dozens of topic-related products.

Keywords: Education, Policy development, Research, Self help clearinghouses, Surveys

Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center

Annotation: The Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center, formerly the National Teen Pregnancy Prevention Research Center, collaborates with community-based, youth-serving organizations to promote youth development through research, training, and advocacy. The Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center, housed at the University of Minnesota, Department of Pediatrics, is one in a network of 33 academic centers whose main objective – as a PRC – is to link science to practice through collaborations with public health agencies and community-based organizations. All of the PRC’s share the fundamental goal of advancing the fields of health promotion and disease prevention by: focusing on high-priority health issues; bridging gaps between scientific knowledge and public health practice; applying and rapidly transferring research results; and enhancing cooperation between academic colleges and universities and state and local health departments, health-related agencies and organizations. The center provides inquiry responses, publications, and reference information, publishes a newsletter, and offers conferences, training seminars, and workshops. The center is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Information services, Needs assessment, Surveys

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Annotation: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. It publishes a catalog and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Data, Education, Statistical surveys, Statistics

National Survey of Children's Health Data Resource Center

Annotation: The National Survey of Children's Health Data Resource Center provides information on children's health and well-being collected in a manner that allows comparisons among states as well as nationally. The Web site provides an interactive data query feature which allows users to search more than 60 measures and child health and well-being derived from the National Survey of Children's Health, 2003 and to compare results for children of different ages, race and ethnicity groups, etc. Topics include children's physical and mental health stuatus; child and family demographics; health insurance status; family health and activities; access and use of health care services; parental health status; and parent's perceptions of neighborhood characteristics. Data files from the National Survey of Children's Health, 2003 can be downloaded in SAS format at no cost from the Web site. This center is a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI). The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: , Data, Online databases, Child health, Resource centers, Statistical surveys, Statistics

PeriStats

Annotation: Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center PeriStats provides access to US state, city, and county maternal and infant health data. The new Web site features more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables; detailed data for more than 210 of the largest U.S. cities and counties; state-specific data for the Midwest, Northeast, South, and West; and brief Quick Facts summary pages defining and describing the most relevant facts for all maternal and child health topics.

Keywords: Data, Births, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Maternal mortality, Neonatal mortality, Perinatal health, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy outcome, State surveys

Social Climate of Tobacco Control

Annotation: The Social Climate of Tobacco Control researches the increased health risks to children of exposure to secondhand smoke including lung cancer, heart disease, and respiratory illness. Support for the National Social Climate Survey of Tobacco Control was provided by the AAP Julius B. Richmond Center for Excellence for Children, Mississippi State University's Social Science Research Center, and the American Legacy Foundation.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Passive smoking, Prevention, Research, Smoking, Surveys, Tobacco use

Sociometrics Corporation, Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP)

Annotation: Sociometrics Corporation's Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP) includes studies focused on adolescent sexual health issues. Studies address a variety of topics including the incidence, prevalence, antecedents, and consequences of adolescent pregnancy and family planning; and behavioral factors related to sexually transmitted infections.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Data, Family planning, Health behavior, Outcome and process assessment, Predisposing factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Surveys

State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC)

Annotation: The State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is a healthy policy research center within the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. SHADAC specializes in issues related to health insurance access, use, cost and quality with a particular focus on state implementation of health reform. Work includes providing technical assistance to agencies and individuals across the country, at both the federal and state government levels. SHADAC also conducts health policy research, which is translated into issue briefs, reports, and peer-reviewed journal articles. SHADAC also administers and maintains the SHADAC Data Center, which provides health insurance coverage, access, and cost estimates from federal population surveys. SHADAC is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Keywords: Policy analysis, Access to care, Data collection, Electronic publications, Health insurance, State programs, Surveys, Technical assistance, Uninsured persons

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Epidemiology and Research (MCHB OER)

Annotation: The Office of Epidemiology and Research (OER) provides a central location for all maternal and child health (MCH) data and research. The office administers funds and other resources for grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements; provides leadership in assisting in the development of the National Survey on Child Health and the National Survey on Children with Special Health Needs; coordinates the Health Information Technology efforts of the Bureau; and disseminates information on data collection and analysis on women of childbearing age, infants, children, and children with special health care needs.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health surveys, MCH training, Research methodology, Technical assistance, Title V programs

Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.