Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (110 total).

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG)

Annotation: The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) provides education, resources, and representation for the medical genetics profession. ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic disease and establishes uniform laboratory standards, quality assurance, and proficiency testing. The college develops clinical practice guidelines and produces laboratory-services directories, databases, position papers, and population screening guidelines.

Keywords: Genetics, Advocacy, Diagnosis, Genetics education, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Publications, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

American Geriatrics Society (AGS)

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

American Medical Association (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Keywords: Nurses, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women's health, Workplace

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR)

Annotation: The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is a professional, scientific, and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of bone and mineral metabolism. ASBMR encourages and promotes the study of this field through annual scientific meetings, publication of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, advocacy, and interaction with government agencies and related societies.

Keywords: Medical research, Advocacy, Clinical medicine, Conferences, Professional societies, Publications, Research perrsonnel, Scientists

American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG)

Annotation: The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) is a professional organization of human geneticists commited to becoming fluent in the language of the genome, better understanding human variation, and promoting public health. ASHG serves research scientists, health professionals, and the public by sharing research results; advocating for research support; enhancing genetics education by preparing future professionals and informing the public; promoting genetic services; and supporting responsible social and scientific policies. The society sponsors an annual scientific meeting, publishes an electronic newsletter and the peer-reviewed American Journal of Human Genetics.

Keywords: Electronic publications, Genetic services, Geneticists, Genetics, Professional societies

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.