Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: The Academy of Women’s Health is an interdisciplinary, international association of physicians, nurses, and other health professionals who work across the broad field of women’s health, providing up-to-date advances and options in clinical care that will enable the best outcomes for women patients. The academy’s focus includes the dissemination of translational research and evidence-based practices for disease prevention, diagnosis, and treatment for women across the lifespan. Resources include an annual conference, the Journal of Women's Health, a blog, and discussion groups on social media.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Information dissemination, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional associations, Women', s health

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD) represents women dentists in the U.S., internationally, and in the U.S. armed forces. AAWD is a national network for employment opportunities and scientific exchange. The association sponsors an annual conference and a professional journal. AAWD's Smiles for Success (SFS) Foundation was formed to assist women in transition who cannot afford the cost of oral health care. The SFS Foundation offers cost-free oral health care to women graduates of accredited job readiness and placement programs, or other community-based agencies, religious institutions or rehabilitative systems. Smiles for Success educates and instructs women treated by the volunteer dentists, so that they and their families will then seek and maintain permanent oral health care as they become financially stable.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Oral health, Professional societies, Women

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: The American College of Women's Health Physicians (ACWHP) works to advance women-centered heath care, promoting quality women's health services, the education and training of women's health physicians, and support of basic and clinical research in women's health. ACWHP offers CME opportunities and a variety of publications including In This Case, a monthly case study from a women's health physician's perspective.

Keywords: Professional societies, Health services, Physicians, Women', s health

Annotation: The American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) promotes women's health through position statements, policy advocacy, and physician education. AMWA also sponsors conferences and training seminars and provides a career center.

Keywords: Advocacy, Policy development, Professional societies, Smoking cessation, Women', s health

Annotation: The American Menopause Foundation (AMF) is a not-for-profit health organization dedicated to providing support and assistance on issues concerning menopause. AMF provides information on scientific research through its newsletter, literature, and educational programs, and coordinates a network of volunteers who serve as a resource for women, families, organizations, and corporations for whom the symptoms of menopause have become a growing concern.

Keywords: Women', Menopause, s health

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Keywords: Nurses, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women', Workplace, s health

Annotation: The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America collects manuscripts, books, and photographic and audiovisual materials essential for understanding women's lives and activities in the United States. Core manuscript holdings cover the women's rights movements past and present, feminism, health and sexuality, social reform, and the education of women and girls. Book topics include women’s rights, women and work, women’s health, women of color, comparative material about women in other cultures, works on women in the arts and in music, women and family, feminist and anti-feminist theory, and lesbian writings. Periodical titles, including popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, Ebony, Seventeen, highlight domestic concerns, leisure pursuits, etiquette, fashion, and food.

Keywords: History, Special libraries, Women

Annotation: The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) is a non-profit organization that advocates for the participation of women scientists in the process of creating the agenda for women's health research. The association is committed to equity and full participation for women and girls in sciences, mathematics, engineering, and technology. AWIS publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences to promote and maintain the participation of women in the scientific field.

Keywords: Research, Science, Scientists, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: The Association of Junior Leagues International (AJLI) is an educational and charitable organization of women committed to promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. There are Junior Leagues in 293 in the United States, Canada, Mexico, and the United Kingdom, with more than 170,000 members. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. The Web site features descriptions of selected community initiatives of junior leagues in specific communities.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Voluntary organizations, Volunteers, Women

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women', s health

Annotation: The Center for Young Women's Health, founded in 1998, is a collaboration between the Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine and the Division of Gynecology at Children's Hospital Boston. The center provides adolescent girls and young women with health information and special health education programs and conferences by and for adolescents including links to information about medical care available at Boston Children's Hospital. The center's website is designed to help adolescent girls, their parents, teachers, and health care providers improve their understanding of normal health and development, as well as of specific diseases and conditions. Contents include resources on special youth programs, medical services, and research projects.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Young women

Annotation: The Boston Women's Health Book Collective (also known as Our Bodies Ourselves) is a non-profit education, advocacy, and consulting organization. Its Women's Health Information Center maintains a resource directory of local and international feminist and women's health groups, offers links to health information via its Web site, publishes a newsletter, and has developed a Women and Health Thesaurus used in several libraries. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese (Mandarin), and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Women, Disabilities, Women', s health

Annotation: Breast Cancer Action (BCA) seeks to inspire and encourage the changes necessary to end the breast cancer epidemic. The organization questions common assumptions and calls for corporate accountability. BCA conducts annual town meetings, publishes a variety of materials, including a newsletter (available in both English and Spanish) and electronic e-mail alerts, recruits volunteers, conducts fundraising campaigns, and advocates for support.

Keywords: , Advocacy, Breast cancer, Public awareness campaigns, Women', s health

Annotation: The Breast Cancer Fund identifies — and advocates for elimination of — the environmental and other preventable causes of the disease.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breast cancer, Women', s health

Annotation: The Breast Cancer Network of Strength (formerly the Y-ME National Breast Cancer Organization) offers breast cancer information, publications, peer support, survivor-staffed hotlines (interpreters available in 150 languages), a newsletter, and conferences. It publishes a newsletter and and distributes For Single Women with Breast Cancer and When the Woman You Love Has Breast Cancer, a booklet that addresses the emotional issues of men whose wives, partners, or other loved ones are diagnosed with breast cancer. A Spanish hotline and Spanish-language publications are available. The organization sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Women', s health

Annotation: The Centre works to improve the health of women through innovative research and the development of women-centered programs, practice, and policies. The Centre partners with Canadian local community agencies, provincial initiatives, national organizations, and international agencies to conduct research and/or to exchange knowledge among community members, academic researchers, policy makers, and health care professionals. Priority topic areas are: women, gender, tobacco and lung health; women, gender, addictions and mental health; women and health services; women, gender and chronic disease; health promotion and women; and physical activity.

Keywords: Canada, Advocacy, Chronic illness and disabilities, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mental health, Tobacco use, Women, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Annotation: The California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative is devoted to eliminating preventable maternal death and injury and promoting equitable maternity care in California by bringing resources, tools, measures, and quality improvement techniques to providers, administrators, and public health leaders. The web site offers current information about California maternal outcomes, specific projects that are in process, annotated bibliographies of important topics, resources developed or have received from other organizations, key links, and specific information to assist in performing quality improvement for maternity topics. The site also serves as a communications tool for the many CMQCC committees that are working on state-wide projects.

Keywords: Research, California, Health services delivery, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Quality assurance, State initiatives