Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Association for Persons in Supported Employment

Annotation: Association for Persons in Supported Employment works to expand integrated employment opportunities for persons with disabilities. Services to consumers include reference information. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Disabilities, Employment

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

DisAbled Women's Network Ontario (DAWN)

Goodwill Industries International

Annotation: Goodwill Industries International, Inc. provides job skill training and job placement assistance to disabled and disadvantaged individuals. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications. Some materials are available in English, Spanish, and other languages. Goodwill publishes newsletters and magazines. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Disabilities, Employment

Job Corps

Annotation: The Job Corps is a national training and employment program administered by the Department of Labor to address barriers to employment faced by disadvantaged youth ages 16-24 throughout the United States. The purpose of Job Corps is to assist young people who need and can benefit from an intensive program, operated primarily in the residential setting of a Job Corps center, to become more responsible, employable, and productive citizens. The program targets severely disadvantaged youth and provides total support, including basic education and vocational classes; dental, medical, mental health and vision care; social and recreational programs; counseling; and student leadership activities. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, and some Asian languages. The program publishes an annual report. The program also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Employment, Training

National Association of Commissions for Women (NACW)

Annotation: NACW is a non-partisan membership organization composed of regional, state, county and local commissions created to improve the status of women. NACW serves as a national voice for commissions for women in the United States, its territories, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NACW advocates on myriad public issues in efforts to attain equity and justice for women and their families in the home and in the workplace. NACW helps low income women become self-sufficient, encourages job development, and supports women's health initatives, research, and other action agendas.

Keywords: Low income groups, Women, Advocacy, Employment, Gender discrimination, Government, Public policies, Research, Women's health, Work family issues

National Federation of the Blind (JOB)

Annotation: The National Federation of the Blind (NFB) is a consumer organization of blind people working together to improve opportunities for the blind and the understanding of blindness by the general public. NFB provides public education about blinding, information and referral services, scholarships, literature and publications about blindness, aids and appliances and other adaptive equipment for the blind, advocacy services and protection of civil rights, employment assistance and support services, development and evaluation of technology, and support for blind persons and their families. Job Opportunities for the Blind (JOB) is a joint project of the U.S. Department of Labor in partnership with the National Federation of the Blind. JOB offers free services to U.S. residents who are blind and looking for work in the United States. JOB provides non-visual technology training to job-ready blind individuals.

Keywords: Blind, Employment

National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC)

Annotation: The National Youth Employment Coalition (NYEC) is a nonprofit membership organization of national service providers. The Coalition provides resources and networking opportunities for youth employment policymakers. Publications include a newsletter,Youth Notes. NYEC has developed the Promising and Effective Practices (PEPNET), a self assessment, self-nomination and peer review process to identify effective youth employment/development initiatives. Services to consumers include reference information. The coaltion sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Coalitions, Youth services

PACER Center

Annotation: The PACER Center is a parent training and information center for families of children and youth with all disabilities from birth through 21 years old. Located in Minneapolis, PACER provides information, support, workshops, and referrals to families and professionals in Minnesota and across the country. The organization sponsors conferences, produces a variety of publications (with some materials available in Spanish and Asian languages), and develops and develops specialized websites. PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center provides resources designed to benefit all students, including those with disabilities.

Keywords: Assistive devices, Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Children, Disabilities, Family resource centers, Mainstreaming, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Special education, Supported employment, Training, Transitions, Young children

Public/Private Ventures (P/PV)

Annotation: Public/Private Ventures is a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve the effectiveness of social policies, programs and community initiatives, especially as they affect youth and young adults. In carrying out this mission, P/PV works with philanthropies, the public and business sectors, and nonprofit organizations. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include policy papers, guidebooks, a catalog, an annual report, and a newsletter, Public/Private Ventures News.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescents, Curricula, Employment programs, Mentors, Vocational education

Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Workplace Supports (RRTC)

Annotation: The purpose of the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Workplace Supports (RRTC) is to identify factors that enhance or inhibit businesses from employing people with disabilities. The researchprogram is based on a close collaborative relationship with business organizations and is designed to study: return to work strategies for persons who become disabled while employed; key components of effective disability management programs; financial tax credits to encourage hiring, retention, and advancement; the impact of work support interventions on employment and advancement; employer perceptions of obstacles to hiring and retaining; and the significance of structural changes in the American economy on people with disabilities. RRTC provides organized and cost effective designs for training that offers diversity and flexibility to its customers, including university courses; self-paced modules;teleconferences ; newsletter ; online courses; fast facts on workplace supports; seminars/workshops; state-of-the-science conference; regional conferences. RRTC offers inquiry responses, publications, reference information, searchable databases, training seminars, and workshops. An e-mail newsletter is available to anyone interested in employment for people with disabilities.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Developmental disabilities, Disabilities, Disability benefits, Employment, Habilitation, Transitions

U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy ( )

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Labor's Office of Disability Employment Policy, formerly, the President's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities, promotes job opportunities for people with disabilities. The office responds to inquiries, produces publications, conducts public awareness campaigns, and provides technical assistance on disability employment issues.

Keywords: Disabled, Disabilities, Employment programs, Habilitation, Public awareness campaigns

Vocational Rehabilitation (VR)

Annotation: Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) is a nationwide federal-state program for assisting eligible people with disabilities to define a suitable employment goal and become employed. The Rehabilitation Services Administration (RSA) oversees grant programs that help individuals with physical or mental disabilities to obtain employment and live more independently through the provision of such supports as counseling, medical and psychological services, job training and other individualized services. RSA's major Title I formula grant program provides funds to state vocational rehabilitation (VR) agencies to provide employment-related services for individuals with disabilities, giving priority to individuals who are significantly disabled.The state office will provide callers with the address of the nearest rehabilitation office where persons with a disability can discuss issues of eligibility and services with a counselor. The office provides medical, therapeutic, counseling, education, training, and other services needed to prepare people with disabilities for work. It is an excellent place for a youth or adult with a disability to begin exploring available training and support service options.

Keywords: Disabilities, Employment, Training

Wellesley College Center for Research on Women

Annotation: As a component of the Wellesley Centers for Women, the Center for Research on Women houses an interdisciplinary community of scholars engaged in research programs and publications which examine the lives of women, men, and children in a changing world. Center activities include improving school-aged child care, informing the public about gender equity in education, conducting research on women's employment, investigating child health and adolescent development among diverse groups, and providing information on work and family leave policies. A publications list is available and a biannual newsletter, Research Report, is also published. The Center also sponsors workshops and conferences.

Keywords: Child care, Employment, Family leave, Gender discrimination, Research, Women, Work family issues

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.