Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper is a report of a marathon encounter group studying physician patient relations and its implications for a philosophy of care. Both health personnel and patients were participants. This paper will include the background and philosophy of the marathon, the theoretical assumptions, methodology, findings from the marathon, suggestions for future marathon projects, suggestions for future evaluations of marathons, and implications for interdisciplinary attempts at comprehensive care in in low-income areas. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Physician patient relations, Title V programs

Annotation: This project sought to reduce infant morbidity and mortality due to low birthweight, and to demonstrate a cost-effective prenatal care program which was integrated into the existing system and can be duplicated in other states. Project objectives included: reducing the incidence of low birthweight newborns in the project; reducing the incidence of women who engage in high-risk behaviors during their pregnancy; instituting a model prenatal education, counseling, referral, and followup program in physicians' offices and other sites; and enhancing the education and counseling skills of prenatal care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103258.

Keywords: Counseling, Education of Health Professionals, Education of Patients, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Referrals

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the roles and functions of oral health professionals and other providers that make up oral health teams. Information on dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, community care connectors, and non-oral-health professionals is included. Others that may be part of an oral health team are also mentioned, including denturists, dental aides, mental and behavioral health professionals, and home health aides.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health aides, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health professionals, Home health aides, Mental health professionals, Oral health, Patient care teams

Annotation: This booklet introduces expectant parents to TeamBirth, a collaborative approach that promotes patient involvement in pregnancy and childbirth decisions. It provides a structured format for communication between patients and their care team through regular "huddles" and a shared whiteboard system. The booklet includes sections on documenting pregnancy experiences, planning for different stages of labor and delivery, identifying preferences for pain management and birth support, and reflecting on the birth experience afterward. Practical tools include checklists for labor support options, discussion guides for admission and assisted delivery scenarios, and suggested questions to help patients advocate for themselves during the birth process. The booklet emphasizes that patients are essential members of the care team and encourages them to share their preferences, ask questions, and participate in decisions throughout pregnancy, labor, delivery, and postpartum care. Available in both English and Spanish.

Contact: Ariadne Labs, 401 Park Drive, Third Floor WEST , Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 384-6555 E-mail: info@ariadnelabs.org Web Site: https://www.ariadnelabs.org/

• Link

Keywords: , Childbirth, Collaboration, Labor, Patient-centered care, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive, counseling, restorative and emergency, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. They re available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This website describes nurtur, a digital health platform that uses artificial intelligence to predict and prevent postpartum depression in mothers. The platform works with Ob/Gyns to identify at-risk patients early in pregnancy and provides personalized self-guided therapy and ongoing support throughout the pregnancy journey. Using a three-phase approach across trimesters—discovery, prevention, and engagement—nurtur offers tools that have been proven to prevent over 50% of postpartum depression cases. The platform features a collaborative care model that integrates primary care providers, behavioral care managers, and psychiatric consultants, while being reimbursable through health insurance. In beta testing as of April 2025.

Contact: Nurtur Care, E-mail: support@nurturcare.com Web Site: https://nurturcare.com

• Link

Keywords: Artificial intelligence, Mobile Apps, Obstetrics, Patient education, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Screening, Service integration, Telemedicine

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide provides detailed instructions for implementing a multilingual, person-centered decision aid for routine labor induction in prenatal care settings. It presents both web-based and paper versions of a decision support tool developed by Partner to Decide, a nonprofit organization, with funding from the Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center. The guide outlines implementation options, necessary resources, and evaluation strategies for healthcare providers adopting the tool, which supports shared decision-making for pregnant people considering labor induction between 39-42+ weeks with no medical indication. It includes step-by-step quality improvement processes, example workflow charts, sample medical record documentation language, and strategies for addressing common implementation challenges. The document contains substantial appendices with worksheets for systems analysis and example implementation flowcharts to help healthcare settings customize the tool's adoption to their specific needs.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Induced labor, Labor, Models, Patient care, Patient education, Patient satisfaction, Prenatal care

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen explores the intersection of substance use and maternal health with innovators Dr. Nichole Nidey and Michelle Kavouras, focusing on the power of lived expertise to shape equitable, evidence-based care. Dr. Nidey, a maternal and child health epidemiologist and founder of the Empower Project, discusses how her work collaborates with individuals who use substances during pregnancy to inform meaningful research and interventions. Kavouras, a peer doula and harm reduction advocate, shares her journey from lived experience to leadership in substance use advocacy, highlighting the importance of compassionate, non-stigmatizing care. This conversation challenges misconceptions, unpacks the complexity of language in healthcare, and emphasizes the need to meet pregnant people where they are. The episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: aim@acog.org Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Maternal health, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Pregnancy, Prevention, Research, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the extension of postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months following birth, which states have been able to implement since April 2022. It examines how this extension supports improved access to perinatal and postpartum care but requires complementary state actions to be fully effective. The brief highlights key challenges in postpartum care, including care fragmentation, workforce shortages, and barriers to implementation at system, community, and individual levels. It outlines four solution areas: developing comprehensive standards of care, expanding dyadic care models, increasing workforce support, and providing education and technical assistance. The document concludes with specific recommendations for funders to support implementation efforts at local, state, and national levels to improve maternal health outcomes and advance health equity.

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals, patient education materials

Annotation: This website provides resources and information for new mothers and healthcare providers about the postpartum period, referred to as the "4th Trimester." It features evidence-based materials designed by and for mothers to support women during this transition to motherhood. The site includes sections on physical recovery, emotional health, breastfeeding, pelvic health, building support networks, and baby care. Visitors can access downloadable tools including postpartum planning guides, health information sheets, and recovery checklists in both English and Spanish. The 4th Trimester Project aims to change how America treats new mothers by emphasizing respectful, patient-centered care and addressing the social, emotional, physical, and economic support women need during the postpartum period, with particular attention to the needs of those with limited resources.

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This toolkit offers evidence-based guidance to help health professionals make health information easier to understand and act on, make health care easier to navigate, and increase support for people of all health literacy levels. Contents include 23 tools addressing the following five domains: path to improvement, spoken communication, written communication, self-management and empowerment, and supportive systems. Additional contents include resources such as sample forms, PowerPoint presentations, and assessment tools.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication no. 23-0075.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Empowerment, Forms, Health care systems, Health literacy, Patient care, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Self care, Social support

Annotation: This policy statement provides pediatricians with evidence-based information on caring for adolescents who are hospitalized for acute or chronic illnesses. The statement describes the impact that hospitalization may have on the development and emotional progress of teenagers and discusses the importance of confidentiality between patients and medical teams. Topics include adolescent hospital admission demographics, access to staff with adolescent health expertise; the hospital setting and design of services; staff interaction with patients and families; issues related to bias and institutional/systematic racism; and the transition from pediatric to adult care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Statement
• Clinical Report

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This clinical report provides pediatricians evidence-based information on the developmentally appropriate, comprehensive clinical care for hospitalized adolescents, including those who may have learning, intellectual, or developmental disabilities. Topics addressed include opportunities and challenges when caring for specific hospitalized adolescent populations and the evaluation of patients' ability to participate in their own care and assent to decision-making. The companion policy statement, "The Hospitalized Adolescent, includes descriptions of adolescent hospital admission demographics, personnel recommendations, and hospital setting and design advice, as well as sections on educational services, legal and ethical matters, and the transition to adult facilities.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Clinical Report
• Policy Statement

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen and Dr. Gillispie-Bell address the common myths surrounding equity and improving quality of care within the healthcare system. They discuss whether clinicians are inherently racist and the complex interplay between individual intentions, systemic biases, and how equity and quality are inherently intertwined. emphasizing that trust and relationship-building are pivotal for achieving positive patient outcomes. Dr. Gillispie-Bell and Christie also challenge the notion of blaming patients for non-compliance with care, and emphasize that the onus is on the healthcare system to provide accessible and patient-centered care. They also tackle the misconception that socioeconomic status alone can explain maternal health disparities, and highlight the importance of acknowledging and dismantling systemic biases. This episode is part of the AIM for Better Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: aim@acog.org Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Health care systems, Health equity, Implicit bias, Maternal health, Physician patient relations, Racism

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork