Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a guide to telehealth-related policies, laws, and regulations for all states and the District of Columbia. The report contains information about Medicaid policy trends, including common telehealth Medicaid policy expansions. Also discussed are professional practice standards, private payer reimbursement, online prescribing, and consent laws and requirements. Information about licensure requirements by state for health professionals providing telehealth is incuded.

Contact: Center for Connected Health Policy, 2520 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 180, Sacramento, CA 95833, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cchpca.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, Telemedicine

Annotation: This review evaluates the effectiveness, use, and implementation of telehealth for women’s preventive services for reproductive healthcare and interpersonal violence (IPV). It examines patient preferences and engagement in telehealth and explores how this form of health care delivery affects health outcomes, particularly for those who are geographically isolated or in underserved settings or populations. The use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 pandemic is highlighted.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Health care delivery, Health screening, Prevention services, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit explains what teledentistry is, helps health professionals navigate the steps to implement teledentistry services in the dental office, and provides additional resources for continued learning. Topics include the case for teledentistry and teledentistry benefits, challenges, components, equipment and supplies, and codes and use cases. Also discussed are workflow development, legal considerations, and best practices.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Legislation, Oral health, Telemedicine

Annotation: During this 20 minute virtual round table, presenters from the Association of Maternal and Child Health (AMCHP) discuss the role that telehealth played in addressing equity and access to care during the pandemic and how an equity lens can be used to evaluate telehealth practices moving forward.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Access to care, Evaluation , Health equity, Racial factors, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This webinar features three presenters who describe the Equitable Evaluation Framework and explain how equitable evaluation activities can be applied to telehealth work. Included are telehealth examples based on equitable evaluation. The recording is from the virtual roundtable presented on May 17, 2022 by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Equity, Epidemiology, & Evaluation Team,

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Evaluation , Health equity, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This issue brief presents five ways in which state policymakers can support equitable school-based telemental health (TMH), with recommendations based on relevant policy context, existing research, and feedback from interviews with five TMH providers who testified to on-the-ground experience with these interventions. The brief expands on the following recommendations: (1) Use Medicaid as a funding source for TMH; (2) maintain COVID-era telehealth flexiblities to increase access to TMH; (3) allow flexibility in TMH program implementation so programs can tailor their offerings for different communities; (4) Make it easier for TMH programs to obtain parental consent; and (5) help schools establish multi-tiered systems of support to best leverage investments in TMH.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health services, Policy development, School age children, School health services, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: This toolkit offers pediatric and adult medical professionals sample content that can be used to facilitate transfer to adult care, as well as a sample resource for the transferring young adult that explains the telehealth visit. The two tip sheets are designed to be used as a general guide for the agenda of the joint telehealth visit, and both can be customized to the practice and young adult and family situation. Additional resources include a practice script example and a link to Got Transition's Six Core Elements of Health Care Transition.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of the telehealth landscape, describing the need, benefits, and challenges using this modality to address serious mental illness (SMI) and substance abuse disorders (SUD) among adults. It reviews the literature and research findings related to this issue, examines emerging and best practices, discusses gaps in knowledge, and identifies challenges and strategies for implementation. The guide is part of the Evidence-Based Resource Guide Series--a comprehensive set of modules with resources to improve health outcomes for people at risk for, experiencing, or recovering from SMI and/or SUD. It's designed for practitioners, administrators, community leaders, and others considering an intervention for their organization or community.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Document Number: PEP21-06-02-001.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Mental illness, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Telecommunication, Telemedicine

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that policymakers in the state make informed oral health policy decisions. It discusses three policy opportunities: increasing the state budget for expanding school-based dental sealant programs, strengthening Ohio’s safety net oral health system in the state budget, and preserving dentistry in telehealth services that Medicaid authorized during the COVID-19 pandemic to promote access to oral health care.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Budgets, Dental sealants, Ohio, Oral health, School health, Statewide planning, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report describes case studies that highlight community health centers’ promising practices and lessons learned through the process of successfully adopting or expanding telehealth services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The case studies include both rural and urban community health centers, and they cover several different types of telehealth programs, including primary care, behavioral health, oral health, chronic disease management, home health, dietetics, paramedicine, and school-based clinics. The case studies illustrate how each community health center responded to a similar set of challenges.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Case studies, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Telemedicine, Virus diseases

Annotation: This resource guide describes how organizations are using remote services in creative and promising ways to deliver education, training, employment, and mental health services to all young people — regardless of their race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic status. The guide presents six core strategies and identifies key issues, challenges, promising practices and tips for each approach. The strategies are: (1) creating the foundation for success by meeting basic needs first; (2) strengthening organizational and staff capacity to meet new demands; (3) providing services that support mental and emotional health; (4) building community; (5) ensuring instruction is engaging; and (6) adapting experiential and work-based learning to the virtual environment.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent Mental health, Adolescent health, Distance learning, Initiatives, Model programs, Technology, Telecommunications, Telemedicine, Youth services

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information on how to practice self-care after an in-office or teledentistry appointment. Topics include practicing healthy habits, decreasing risk for tooth decay, tooth sensitivity, tooth pain, bleeding gums, and jaw or muscle tightness and/or pain. For each topic, a list of tips is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pain management, Prevention, Telemedicine

Annotation: This issue brief provides a definition of equity in telehealth, describes four dimensions of equity in telehealth policy, and provides case study examples of how these dimensions can be applied when assessing the equity impacts of a given maternal and child health (MCH) telehealth policy solution.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health equity, MCH services, Policy, Public health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This guide provides information about using teledentistry during the COVID‐19 pandemic. Topics include the impact of physical distancing, system considerations, components of a care system, workflow, and optimizing in-person visits. The guide also discusses the advantages of an “all-in one” teledentistry system containing multiple components that are linked and integrated (e.g., registration, consent, schedule, messaging, live video).

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID‐19, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, Teledentistry, Telemedicine

Annotation: This compendium presents programs designed to improve access to high-quality oral health care in rural communities and shares best practices related to providing oral health services in these communities. It is divided into topic areas: workforce development and training, care integration, telehealth, clinical practice, and policy and national models. Each topic area highlights specific programs and provides information on the program purpose, a program summary, and information on the program’s efficacy and impact.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealth.us Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2017 Edition

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Programs, Public policy, Rural population, Telemedicine, Training

Annotation: This toolkit provides states with statutory and regulatory infrastructure issues to consider as they evaluate the need to expand their telehealth capabilities and coverage policies. It covers (1) patient populations eligible for telehealth, (2) coverage and reimbursement policies, (3) providers and practitioners eligible to provider telehealth, (4) technology requirements, and (5) pediatric considerations. This toolkit also includes a compilation of frequently asked questions (FAQs) and other resources available to states. An accompanying checklist of policy questions serves as a tool for states to assess telehealth in their state.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Checklist

Keywords: Children', Medicaid, Telehealth, Telemedicine, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This paper summarizes the types of telehealth policy flexibilities provided by states and the federal government during the COVID-19 pandemic and longer-term considerations for governors regarding the impact of such policies on care delivery and payment with the goal of helping policymakers assess the appropriateness of policy permanence beyond the pandemic.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Public policy, Telemedicine

Annotation: This policy brief defines a set of measures for evaluating grants awarded under the School-Based Telehealth Network Grant Program, administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (FORHP) Office for the Advancement of Telehealth. Grants were targeted to rural, frontier, and underserved communities providing telehealth services for school children, with a particular focus on five clinical areas: asthma, behavioral health, diabetes, health weight, and oral health. The goal of the project was to identify a common set of measures that could be collected from each of the grantees for a cross-grantee assessment of school-based telehealth services, utilization, process, and outcomes.

Contact: Rural Telehealth Research Center, N200 CPHB, 145 N. Riverside Drive, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 384-3830 Web Site: https://ruraltelehealth.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Rural health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This environmental scan summarizes themes that emerged during interviews with key informants on the implementation of telehealth solutions during the COVID-19 pandemic. The brief describes several themes that emerged across multiple programs: (1) There is significant variance in the level of telehealth implementation occurring across jurisdictions; (2) Systemic and widespread connectivity issues exist for families and some programs; (3) There is a lack of evidence by which to make decisions about if and how to continue or expand telehealth to best meet families’ needs; and (4) Improved mechanisms are needed to connect available educational and training resources with the providers and staff who need them, when they need them. Contributors include representatives from Title V and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs, newborn screening functions, and maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting (MIECHV) services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Children with special health needs, Health care delivery, Interviews, Maternal health, Telecommunications, Telemedicine, Youth

Annotation: This guide discusses telehealth and telemedicine, how state departments are working with telehealth, and state examples and mini-case studies. Additional resources and a list of national and regional telehealth resource centers are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, State initiatives, Telecommunications, Telemedicine