Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: support@postpartum.net Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Fragile X syndrome (FXS). It describes what Fragile X is; explains what causes it; and discusses the conditions that are common among children with Fragile X. It also lists some of the signs of FXS and explains what parents should do if they think their child has FXS. One side of the fact sheet is in English and the other is in Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disabilities, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

• Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Guide

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Evaluation, Language development, Language disorders, Research, Screening, Screening tests, Speech development, Speech disorders, Young children

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to programs and individuals interested in using tele-intervention (TI) to provide family-centered early intervention to families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing who have chosen a spoken language outcome. Topics include benefits and challenges, implementation of TI sessions, technology to support TI, privacy and security considerations, licensing issues, evaluating TI outcomes, and reimbursement issues for TI. Video examples and a list of related publications and resources are included.

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Deafness, Early intervention, Hearing disorders, Infants, Language barriers, Language development, Language therapy, Service delivery, Telecommunication devices, Telemedicine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about autism and communication. The fact sheet answers the following questions: (1) what is autism spectrum disorder (ASD)?, (2) who is affected by ASD?, (3) how does ASD affect communication?, (4) how are the speech and language problems of ASD treated?, (6) what research is being conducted to improve the communication in children with ASD?, and (7) where can I get more information?

Contact: National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Information Clearinghouse, One Communication Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20892-3456, Telephone: (800) 241-1044 Secondary Telephone: (800) 241-1055 Fax: (301) 770-8977 E-mail: nidcdinfo@nidcd.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-4315.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism spectrum disorders, Communication, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Language disorders, Research, Speech disorders, Treatment

Annotation: This report examines the extent of hearing loss among children, settings in which deaf and hard-of-hearing children are educated, factors that help them acquire language and literacy skills, and challenges to providing appropriate interventions for them. Background on the issue is also provided.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Deafness, Early childhood education, Education, Hearing disorders, Language development, Literacy, Literacy education

Annotation: This video for parents and expectant parents, which is available in English and Spanish, present opinions of experts and parents on the newborn screening process. It depicts how screenings are conducted, what happens afterwards, and how newborn screening results are used. State screening policies are discussed, and parents' concerns about newborn screening are addressed. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Save Babies Through Screening Foundation, P.O. Box 42197, Cincinnati, OH 45242, Telephone: (888) 454-3383 E-mail: email@savebabies.org Web Site: http://savebabies.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer information materials, DVDs, Genetic disorders, Infant health, Multimedia, Neonatal screening, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The fourth edition of Facts for Life contains essential information that families and communities need to know to raise healthy children. This handbook provides practical advice on pregnancy, childbirth, childhood illnesses, child development and the care of children. This edition also features a new chapter on child protection. The book is intended for parents, families, health workers, teachers, youth groups, women’s groups, community organizations, government officials, employers, trade unions, media, and non-governmental and faith-based organizations. It is available in Arabic, Bangla, English, French, Indonesian, Kiswahili, Spanish, and Turkmen.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org $1.00. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-806-4466-1.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Birth intervals, Breastfeeding, Child health, Child health promotion, Common cold, Developing countries, Diarrhea, Hygiene, Immunization, Malaria, Maternal health, Non English language materials, Nutrition disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This document reports on a qualitative evaluation of the Caring Across Communities program, an initiative that supports the development of school-connected mental health care models to reduce emotional and behavioral health problems among children in low-income, refugee, or immigrant communities. The report provides background on the study, lists program sites, discusses the study methods, and presents findings.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: chhcs@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Families, Health care delivery, Immigrants, Initiatives, Language barriers, Low income groups, Mental disorders, Mental health, Parents, Prevention, Program evaluation, Refugees, School health

Contact: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange, State University of New York, University at Buffalo, 515 Kimball Tower, Buffalo, NY 14214-3079, Telephone: (716) 844-8683 Fax: (716) 844-8639 Web Site: http://cirrie.buffalo.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Curriculum development, Language disorders, Language therapists, Professional education, Speech pathology, Speech therapists

Annotation: This book, which focuses on mental health screening and early intervention and mental health promotion for children and adolescents, covers the following topics: (1) assessing and screening for common mental health problems, (2) diagnosing, managing, and preventing mental health disorders, (3) anxiety disorders, (4) attention deficit hyperactivity disorders, (5) eating disorders, (6) grief and loss, (7) mood disorders, (8) marital separation and divorce, (9) maltreatment, (10) sexuality, (11) substance abuse, (12) violence, (13) reimbursement, and (14) brief interventions. Each chapter contains summaries, checklists, questionnaires for parents and youth in English and Spanish, information on other tools, and resources. Some chapters include DSM-IV criteria for specific problems. An index is included.

Contact: National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, 20 Brace Road, Suite 200, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034, Telephone: (856) 857-9700 Fax: (856) 857-1600 E-mail: info@napnap.org Web Site: http://www.napnap.org $50.00, pus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Attention deficit disorder, Child mental health, Divorce, Early intervention, Eating disorders, Grief, Health promotion, Maltreated children, Mental disorders, Prevention, Questionnaires, Reimbursement, Screening, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence

Annotation: This booklet provides an overview of the early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI)process, including screening before ages 1, 3 and 6 months; communication choices for families with infants who have hearing loss; and working with the infant's health care provider. A list of Web sites for more information is included. It is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• In English
• In Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Communication, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infants, Parent professional relations, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This bilingual guide, which is available in English and Spanish, is intended to inform caregivers and families about how to seek help for children with mental health problems. Information is provided on what caregivers and families need to know, ask, expect, and do to get the most out of their experiences with systems of care. The guide discusses finding services, preparing for the first visit, partnering with service providers, and rights and responsibilites. A glossary is included, as well as a list of resources for more information. The end of the guide provides space for notes.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: info@mentalhealth.org Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: SMA4054.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education materials, Families, Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Patient rights, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for parents of newborns provides information about newborn screening conducted to detect hidden disorders. The brochure explains what newborn screening is, how it is done, and its purpose. The brochure also discusses what hidden disorders are, why screening is important, whether parents can elect not to have their infant screened, screening costs, what happens to blood samples, whether infants can be screening for other disorders, and where to go for more information. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Wisconsin Newborn Screening Laboratory, University of Wisconsin at Madison, 465 Henry Mall, Madison, WI 53706, Telephone: (608) 262-1293 Fax: (608) 262-3257 Web Site: http://www.slh.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Disorders, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infant health, Neonatal screening, Screening tests, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide for parents of children with hearing loss provides information that can help parents connect with other families, explore communication choices for their children, find out about services, locate possible financial assistance, learn how to access educational services, learn about their rights as a parent of a child with hearing loss, and find community support systems and programs. Background information is provided, as is information on universal newborn hearing screening, early intervention, and state and national resources. Five appendices include a glossary, information about hearing aids, a list of resource materials, a list of audiological assessment sites, a list of local resources, and a directory of educational services. An index of organizations and agencies is also included. The guide is also available from the Web site in Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Deafness, Early intervention, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infant health, Resource materials, Services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This checklist -- which is one in a series designed to assist organizations and systems of care to develop policies, structures, and practices that support cultural and linguistic competence -- focuses on systems of care and organizations concerned with the delivery of services and supports to children and youth with emotional, behavioral, and mental disorders and their families. The checklist offers a list of actions that these organizations or systems of care can put into practice. Each item includes a description. The checklist also includes a list of definitions and a reference list.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: cultural@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior disorders, Children, Communities, Culturally competent services, Emotional instability, Evaluation, Families, Health care systems, Language barriers, Linguistic competence, Mental disorders

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward health professionals, discusses the common problem of failure to return for a follow-up examination among infants who are identified with hearing loss. The report aims to provide information to reduce the extent of this problem. The report addresses the following issues: (1) why don't some parents return for a follow-up examination? and (2) what all parents need to know before the leave the hospital. A list of free publications from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders is included, as are lists of resources for parents of a child with hearing loss, support services, general information and referral services, communication options, and clinical studies. The document is also available from the Web site in Spanish.

Contact: National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Information Clearinghouse, One Communication Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20892-3456, Telephone: (800) 241-1044 Secondary Telephone: (800) 241-1055 Fax: (301) 770-8977 E-mail: nidcdinfo@nidcd.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Child health, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infant health, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This 5-year study was designed to determine whether there was a causal relationship between otitis media observed in a day care setting and developmental delays in language and attention. Otitis media is the second most frequent reason parents take their children to a physician. Although antibiotic regimens have helped to reduce the acute phase of the disease, there is no really effective therapy for the fluid that often remains in the middle ear after the acute phase is over. This fluid is associated with a mild to moderate hearing loss. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-149221.

Keywords: Attention Deficit Disorders, Audiometry, Child Care, Delayed Development, Hearing Loss, Illnesses in Child Care, Language Disorders, MCH Research, Otitis Media, Preschool Children, Research