Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video for parents and expectant parents, which is available in English and Spanish, present opinions of experts and parents on the newborn screening process. It depicts how screenings are conducted, what happens afterwards, and how newborn screening results are used. State screening policies are discussed, and parents' concerns about newborn screening are addressed. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Save Babies Through Screening Foundation, P.O. Box 42197, Cincinnati, OH 45242, Telephone: (888) 454-3383 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://savebabies.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer information materials, DVDs, Genetic disorders, Infant health, Multimedia, Neonatal screening, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video for trainers, administrators, and educators in early childhood programs in Hawaii is designed to increase awareness and understanding of positive attachment and social connections in the context of postpartum depression.

Contact: Same Small Boat Productions, 1050 Bishop Street, Suite 436, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 384-2902 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://samesmallboat.com Available from the website.

• Link
• Video Script

Keywords: Attachment behavior, DVDs, Early childhood educators, Emotional development, Hawaii, Health promotion, Infant health, Parenting, Postpartum depression, Psychosocial development, State programs, Training, Training, Vulnerability

Annotation: This DVD contains three videos providing information for parents and caregivers of infants about safe sleeping environments. The first video (runtime 12 min., 25 sec.) discusses the role of the Consumer Product Safety Commission in developing product standards, issuing recalls of unsafe equipment, and safety tips for infants in sleeping environments such as cribs, not placing baby to sleep on their tummies or sides, keeping babies away from window or monitor cords, and removing any extra bedding or toys from baby's sleep area. Additional information is provided from the Keeping Babies Safe and American Academy of Pediatrics organizations. Two shorter versions (runtime 4 minutes) in Spanish and English are also provided on the DVD. All videos are available on the web site as well.

Contact: Keeping Babies Safe, 16 Mount Bethel Road, Suite 245, Warren, NJ 07059, Telephone: (908) 581-8699 Web Site: http://www.keepingbabiessafe.org/index.shtml Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child safety, DVDs, Infant equipment, Infant health, Prevention, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These training and educational materials are designed for health professionals, teachers, and parents seeking to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. News; information about events; links to resources by topic and by audience, such as Head Start and the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) programs; and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others are also available on the website.

Contact: Choosy Kids, 3160 Collins Ferry Road, Morgantown, WV 26505, Telephone: (304) 777-4541 Fax: (304) 777-4543 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.choosykids.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Audiovisual materials, Child health, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Oral health, Parents, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program, Young children

Annotation: This awareness video presents three mothers who tell the story of how their infants died in unsafe sleeping environments. Topics include positioning baby on their back for all sleep, sleeping alone in a crib, keeping the crib clear of soft bedding and toys, cultural factors in infant sleep environments, and breastfeeding practices.

Contact: Baltimore City Health Department, 1001 East Fayette Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 396-4398 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.baltimorecity.org Contact for cost information.

• Link

Keywords: , Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Infants, Multimedia, Parent education, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to be a resource guide and information referral source for parents or caregivers whose child has recently been diagnosed with epilepsy. Contents include information and tips with links to downloadable tools. The toolkit is organized into the following six sections: About Epilepsy, Managing Epilepsy, Daily Life with Epilepsy, Life Stages with Epilepsy, Resources, and Forms. A DVD that chronicles the experiences of three families raising a child with epilepsy is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Project Access, Epilepsy Foundation, 8301 Professional Place, Landover, MD 20785, Telephone: (301) 332-1000 Web Site: http://epilepsyfoundation.ning.com/group/accesstohealthcareisnotanoptiontest Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Additional Information

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Epilepsy, Parents, Resource materials

Annotation: This toolkit for parents, families and child services professionals introduces ways in which parents and caregivers can help their infants build secure attachments, examines challenges encountered in the process, and provides suggestions on how challenges may be overcome. The toolkit includes a 30 minute DVD, a quick-reference guide answering attachment and parenting questions, three informational brochures and tips printed on a magnet and a bookmark. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Moments Matter, Web Site: http://www.earlymomentsmatter.org $10, plus $2.50 shipping and handling.

• Preview Video

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bonding, DVDs, Family life education, Fathers, Infant health, Maternal mental health, Mothers, Multimedia, Newborn infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video presents several women who have suffered and recovered from perinatal mood disorders. Sharing their experiences, these women help reassure and educate new mothers, their family members and friends, and health care professionals. Their stories are complemented by up-to-date information from three experts in the field.

Contact: Postpartum Support, International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Free preview available from the web site; DVD-ROM $50; discounts available for members and volunteers from web site..

• English Version And Preview
• Spanish Version And Preview

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, DVDs, Maternal mental health, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This kit contains 14 items including a DVD with advice for new parents in California; an 84-page parent guide with resources for families; a 248-page tabbed manual on oral health development and quality in childcare and preschool; a fact sheet on smoke-free cars; 7 brochures on topics such as poison prevention, oral health, the paid family leave insurance program, the Healthy Families insurance program, and play and young children; and a board book for infants. Also included is a 180-page book on what to do when a child gets sick. VHS-format tapes are available instead of the DVD by returning an enclosed card. The kit is also available in Cantonese, Korean, Mandarin, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: California Children and Families Commission, 2389 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 260, Sacramento, CA 95833, Telephone: (916) 263-1050 Secondary Telephone: (800) KIDS-025 Fax: (916) 263-1360 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccfc.ca.gov Contact for cost information.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, California, DVDs, Educational materials, Newborn infants, Parent education, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This booklet contains information to help parents who live apart work together to take care of their children. It includes a definition of the term co-parenting (sometimes called shared parenting) and explains how this arrangement can benefit the child. It offers guidance to help parents communicate with each other, talk to their children, provide consistency in their parenting, ease transitions between homes, and resolve conflict with the other parent. The booklet also discusses how children at different ages may be affected and provides the basic elements for an effective co-parenting plan. It is available in English and Spanish. The accompanying video can be watched online, downloaded, or ordered in DVD or VHS format; the DVD and VHS formats contain both English and Spanish versions.

Contact: Texas Office of the Attorney General, P.O. Box 12548, Austin, TX 78711-2548, Telephone: (512) 936-1737 Fax: (512) 469-3157 Web Site: http://www.oag.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• Booklet
• Video

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child custody, Child development, Communication, DVDs, Family relations, Parent child relations, Parenting, Parenting skills, Single parents, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

Annotation: This video examines the increased rate of infant mortality among African Americans in the United States, contrasted to the rate of infant mortality in U.S. born white women and in African immigrants and the impact on African American women of racism and chronic maternal stress, The website contains transcripts of the video in English and Spanish, video clips, and other information. The Unnatural Causes series was broadcast by PBS; all episodes are available on one DVD.

Contact: California Newsreel, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://newsreel.org/ Available from the website.

• Description
• Purchasing Information

Keywords: Blacks, DVDs, Infant mortality, Multimedia, Racial factors, Women

Annotation: This video resource provides information on oral health and oral hygiene for pregnant and parenting women and their infants. The content focuses on the importance of visiting the dentist early in pregnancy, maintaining oral hygiene practices throughout pregnancy, and potential concerns about oral disease during pregnancy. Additional information is included on the importance of breastfeeding in healthy oral development, cleaning an infant's gums, avoiding frequent and prolonged eating, avoiding utensil-sharing, and scheduling the first dental visit on or before an infant's first birthday. Content is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, DVDs, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

Annotation: This video for parents shows the importance of oral health for children and how Head Start programs can help parents find a dental home. It discusses the importance of baby teeth, how to keep teeth healthy, and shows a child on a typical visit to the dentist. It shows how to fill out the medical history form, the roles of the dental hygienist and dentist, taking radiographs, cleaning, oral hygiene education, and fluoride treatments, It explains how a dental home provides preventive, continuous care and is a source for dental information, and how a Head Start program can help make and keep appointments, get to the dentist, and fill out health and insurance forms. The content is also available in DVD or online formats.

Contact: Center for Media & Democracy, 294 North Winooski Avenue, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 862-3966 Fax: (802) 860-2370 Web Site: https://www.cctv.org Available from the website.

• RealAudio

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, DVDs, Dental hygiene, Head Start, Oral health, Public service announcements

Annotation: This DVD explains to expecting parents what newborn screening is, the test procedure, and what parents need to do if retesting is necessary. It discusses the public health program state requirement for testing within the first two days after birth for common and rare conditions. The DVD contains both English and Spanish versions.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $22.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Genetic screening, Infant health, Neonatal screening, Screening tests, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video for parents provides steps to reduce an infant's risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The seven steps include back sleeping, infant bedding and a proper sleep environment, room sharing with the baby in a crib or bassinet, pacifiers, the importance of breastfeeding, risks from overheating, risks from smoking during and after pregnancy by mother and others, and informing all secondary caregivers of these steps in and outside the home. Additional information is provided on shaken baby syndrome, the importance of tummy time, and limiting an infant's time in a car seat to travel only. The video is available in English and Spanish, each in DVD and VHS formats.

Contact: InJoy Birth and Parenting Education, 7107 La Vista Place, Longmont, CO 80503, Telephone: (800) 326-2082 Secondary Telephone: (303) 447-2082 Fax: (303) 449-8788 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.injoyvideos.com/ $149.95, plus shipping and handling. Available in VHS and DVD formats..

• Link

Keywords: Prevention, Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Videotapes, Infant health, SIDS, Risk factors, Sleep position, Smoking, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video provides new parents with advice on newborn care, including health and safety information. Topics include newborn appearances, senses, and brain development; baby cues, crying, and comforting techniques; breastfeeding, formula feeding, burping, sleeping and SIDS safety; diapering and cleaning, cord care, circumcision care, nail care, and dressing; and health and safety, the car seat, safety straps, the baby's physical and parent health. A 4-page facilitator's guide is available. The video is available in English and Spanish, each in DVD and VHS formats.

Contact: InJoy Birth and Parenting Education, 7107 La Vista Place, Longmont, CO 80503, Telephone: (800) 326-2082 Secondary Telephone: (303) 447-2082 Fax: (303) 449-8788 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.injoyvideos.com/ $199.95, plus shipping and handling. Available in VHS and DVD formats..

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, DVDs, Videotapes, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Newborn infants, Parenting, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report describes a project funded in part by Healthy Tomorrows in the Tuscon, Arizona community from 2000-2005 to establish a residential-based services program for young single parents between the ages of 18 and 21. Topics include the use of the "Parents as Teachers" program in the project to improve the attachment process between the infants and young children and their parent by establishing good parenting techniques, correcting or preventing self-defeating social behaviors in the family units, and involving pediatric residents and nursing students. Report contents include the purpose, goals, and objectives of the project; a description of the methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes; a list of publications and products; dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up; and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. References are provided along with appendices including reports, plans, and recommendations; a resource manual and life book, sample newsletters, pamphlets, and a presentation; materials from the Healthy Tomorrows conference; newspaper articles and information on the city-wide baby shower; and a DVD with a 12-minute promotional video about the program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Arizona, Audiovisual materials, Community based services, DVDs, Family support programs, Final reports, Homeless persons, MCH research, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parent support services, Single parents

Annotation: This 90-minute training DVD is designed to help experienced health promotion trainers ensure that their approaches with diverse populations address culture and language in an effective, appropriate, and respectful manner. The DVD addresses (1) rationale for cultural and linguistic competence, (2) frameworks for achieving cultural and linguistic competence, (3) values, principles, and practices of culturally and linguistically competent health promotion training, (4) how the Health Belief Model can be used to infuse cultural and linguistic competence into training, (5) principles and models for community engagement, and (6) issues in the content and logistics of trainings. The DVD can be used alone or in conjunction with a set of training activities designed to enhance the content, which are available from the National Center for Cultural Competence Web site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National SUID/SIDS Resource Center , Georgetown University, 2115 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 601***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20007-2292, Telephone: (866) 866-7437 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-7466 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidscenter.org Single copies available at no charge.

• Web Based Training Materials For The DVD

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, DVDs, Health promotion, Language, Language barriers, Linguistic competence, Training materials

Annotation: This DVD presents a symposium held at the National Library of Medicine in Rockville, MD on November 5-6, 2003, on the need for brick and mortar libraries and documented current practices in the planning, management, construction, and renovation of health sciences library facilities. Topics include the role of the library in the 21 century; library reinvention and the coexistence of computers and books; what will new physical and virtual information hubs look like; changes in teaching, learning, and technology and how are library services and spaces affected; and models already in existence and lessons learned. Contents of the DVD include searchable video of 35 symposium presentations, "thumbnails" of speakers presentations and slides, poster sessions with explanations by presenters, biographies of all presenters and additional interviews with several speakers, and Web links to symposium resources and related Web sites.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Conferences, DVDs, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Library services, Planning, Trends

Annotation: This video guides parents through the steps of recovery, emotional- and physical wellness, and newborn care. The first section, Mother care, discusses care for the new mother after delivery including body changes, pains, baby blues or postpartum depression. Section two focuses on feeding techniques for the baby including breastfeeding and formula feeding. Section three focuses on baby care including umbilical cord and circumcision care, jaundice, diaper hygiene and rashes, taking baby's temperature, safety issues such as SIDS and car seats, bathing the infant, and infant crying. The final section recaps warning signs for both mother care and baby care. It is available in both English and Spanish as well as DVD and videotape formats.

Contact: InJoy Birth and Parenting Education, 7107 La Vista Place, Longmont, CO 80503, Telephone: (800) 326-2082 Secondary Telephone: (303) 447-2082 Fax: (303) 449-8788 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.injoyvideos.com/ $250, plus shipping and handling. Available in DVD and VHS..

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Crying, DVDs, Infant care, Infant feeding, Infant health, Jaundice, Diaper rash, Maternal health, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, SIDS, Car seats, Spanish language materials, Videotapes