Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 15 (15 total).

Catalyst Center. [2014]. Health care reform: What's in it for children who are deaf or hard of hearing?. Logan, UT: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, 4 pp. (Health care reform: ACA fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of some of the provisions of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) that help improve access to coverage and care for children who are deaf or hard of hearing (D/HH). Topics include how consumer protections in the ACA impact children who are D/HH, provisions that help children who are D/HH receive needed health benefits, how implementation of the ACA varies by state, how the ACA supports hearing screening of infants and young children, coverage for hearing screening, and how programs and families can help improve future policies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Consumer protection, Deafness, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hearing disorders, Infants, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Screening, Special health care needs

Stredler Brown A, Kahn G, Houston T, DeMoss W, Quigley S, Hamren K, Peters Lalios A, Kravit D, Olsen S, Blaiser K, Edwards M, Behl D, White K, Callow-Heusser C, Ladner D. 2012-. A practical guide to the use of tele-intervention in providing listening and spoken language services to infants and toddlers who are deaf or hard of hearing. Logan, UT: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to programs and individuals interested in using tele-intervention (TI) to provide family-centered early intervention to families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing who have chosen a spoken language outcome. Topics include benefits and challenges, implementation of TI sessions, technology to support TI, privacy and security considerations, licensing issues, evaluating TI outcomes, and reimbursement issues for TI. Video examples and a list of related publications and resources are included.

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Deafness, Early intervention, Hearing disorders, Infants, Language barriers, Language development, Language therapy, Service delivery, Telecommunication devices, Telemedicine

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2011. Deaf and hard of hearing children: Federal support for developing language and literacy. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the extent of hearing loss among children, settings in which deaf and hard-of-hearing children are educated, factors that help them acquire language and literacy skills, and challenges to providing appropriate interventions for them. Background on the issue is also provided.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Deafness, Early childhood education, Education, Hearing disorders, Language development, Literacy, Literacy education

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. [2008]. Decision guide to communication choices. [Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program], 2 p.

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents of a child who is deaf or hard of hearing helps guide parents through the steps of deciding which communication method(s) are best for their child. Steps include (1) finding a starting point, (2) identify and explore decision-making needs, and (3) plan next steps based on needs. Forms and tables to help with the process are included.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Deafness, Facilitated communication, Hearing disorders

Kaufman G. [2005]. Pediatric Deaf Access Program: [Final report and abstract]. Chicago, IL: Access Community Health Network, 33 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Pediatric Deaf Access Program during the project period March 1, 2000, through February 28, 2005. The purpose of this project was to help address barriers that deaf children and hearing children of deaf parents experience in accessing primary health care. Report sections include the following: (1) purpose of project and relationship to Social Security Administration Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publication and products, (7) dissemination and utlization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of resources needed to replicate. The report includes six appendices: (1) a patient satisfaction survey, (2) newspaper and newsletter articles, (3) a PowerPoint presentation, (4) policies and procedures, (5) a health care survey, and (6) a deaf access program brochure. This project was part of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Access Community Health Network, 1501 South California Avenue, Chicago, IL 60608, Telephone: (773) 257-6770 Fax: (773) 257-6403 Web Site: http://www.accesscommunityhealth.net

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Barriers, Child health, Communication, Deafness, Final reports, Parents, Primary care

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 2005. Just in time for families: Early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI). Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 25 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides an overview of the early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI)process, including screening before ages 1, 3 and 6 months; communication choices for families with infants who have hearing loss; and working with the infant's health care provider. A list of Web sites for more information is included. It is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Communication, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infants, Parent professional relations, Spanish language materials

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 2005. Just in time for pediatric primary care providers: Early hearlng detection and intervention (EHDI). Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 25 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides an overview of the EHDI process, the timing or care before1, 3, and 6 months of age, communication choices, the primary care provider's role as a medical home,and risk factors for hearing loss. A list of Web sites for further information is included.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infants, Parent professional relations

Minnesota Department of Health, Community and Family Health Division. 2005. Minnesota guidelines of care for families with children who have a hearing loss: A guide to information and resources. St. Paul, MN: Community and Family Health Division, Minnesota Department of Health, 91 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines, which are intended as a resource tool for Minnesota families with a child who is deaf or has hearing loss, contain information about hearing, hearing loss, and medical and educational interventions; child development; tips for parents; definitions; and resources. The guidelines provide information about connecting with other families of children with hearing loss, understanding clinical procedures and health professionals' roles, choosing communication methods, understanding and finding services, locating financial assistance and insurance coverage, accessing educational services, understanding parents' and children's rights, and finding support systems and programs. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Division of Community and Family Health, MN Telephone: (651) 201-3589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/cfh Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Children', Communication, Deafness, Educational programs, Families, Family support programs, Guidelines, Health care services, Health insurance, Hearing disorders, Intervention, Parent rights, s rights

Michigan Department of Community Health, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. 2004. Services for children who are deaf or hard of hearing: A guide to resources for families and providers. [Rev. ed.]. Lansing, MI: Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, Michigan Department of Community Health, 99 pp.

Annotation: This guide for parents of children with hearing loss provides information that can help parents connect with other families, explore communication choices for their children, find out about services, locate possible financial assistance, learn how to access educational services, learn about their rights as a parent of a child with hearing loss, and find community support systems and programs. Background information is provided, as is information on universal newborn hearing screening, early intervention, and state and national resources. Five appendices include a glossary, information about hearing aids, a list of resource materials, a list of audiological assessment sites, a list of local resources, and a directory of educational services. An index of organizations and agencies is also included. The guide is also available from the Web site in Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Deafness, Early intervention, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Infant health, Resource materials, Services, Spanish language materials

Gabor V, Jacquart K, Salit R, Hill I. 1996. Practice guidelines and standards of care for children with special health care needs: Report and compendium. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research, 17 pp.

Annotation: This report gives information on a technical assistance project for the North Carolina Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources Division of Maternal and Child Health. The project examined practice guidelines to promote health care quality for children with special health needs as their care was expected to migrate to a Medicaid managed care system. The report includes a summary of guidelines for children with the following conditions: asthma, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, cerebral palsy, congenital deafness, cystic fibrosis, diabetes, sickle cell disease, and spina bifida. The report also identifies the sources of these guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Attention deficit disorder, Cerebral palsy, Children with special health care needs, Cystic fibrosis, Deafness, Diabetes mellitus, Guidelines, Hyperactivity, North Carolina, Quality assurance, Sickle cell disease, Spina bifida, Standards, State health care reform, Technical assistance

Schlesinger H. 1976. Studies of Family Interaction, Language, and Deafness [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, 413 pp.

Annotation: This longitudinal study describes findings about the first decade in the lives of forty deaf children and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-105863.

Keywords: Deafness, Education, Intellectual development, Longitudinal studies, Pediatricians

Daniel WA. 1970. The adolescent patient. Saint Louis, MO: C.V. Mosby, 444 pp.

Annotation: This book offers guidelines for dealing with adolescent patients based on a philosophy of comprehensive care. The author surveys the adolescent's development, role in society, health needs and major medical problems, sex education, substance abuse, rock-related deafness, obesity, skin problems, sexually transmitted diseases, communication problems, and rehabilitation.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Communication disorders, Deafness, Obesity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Skin rashes, Substance abuse

Harrington DA. 1963. Services for the child who is hard of hearing: A guide for the development of programs. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Children's Bureau, 38 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 402-1963)

Annotation: This publication is a revised edition of a guide drafted for members of the Children's Bureau staff to be used in consulting with states that were developing programs in audiology. This publication contains suggested principles which have been selected from a number of sources and reviewed by specialists in the field of audiology as well as those in allied fields. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library

Keywords: Children, Deafness, Diagnosis, Hearing aids, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests

Lesser AJ. [1949?]. Services for the child who is hard of hearing: A guide for the development of programs. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Children's Bureau, 27 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 334)

Annotation: This publication is a revised edition of a guide drafted for members of the Children's Bureau staff to be used in consulting with states that were developing programs in audiology. This publication contains suggested principles which have been selected from a number of sources and reviewed by specialists in the field of audiology as well as those in allied fields. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Deafness, Diagnosis, Hearing aids, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, s Bureau

White House Conference on Child Health and Protection (1930, Section IV, The Handicapped, Committee on Physically and Mentally Handicapped). 1933. The handicapped child. New York, NY: Century, 452 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a summary of the work of the committee and discusses children with developmental disabilities under the topics of the deaf and hard of hearing, visually handicapped, children with developmental disabilities, tuberculosis, heart disease, intestinal parasites, mental health, mental retardation, and vocational adjustment.

Keywords: Blindness, Child welfare, Children with developmental disabilities, Conferences, Deafness, Heart diseases, Mental health, Mental retardation, Parasitic diseases, Tuberculosis, United States, Vocational education, Vocational rehabilitation
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.