Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This publication list highlights the free educational materials available from the Food and Drug Administration for use in the classroom. The materials cover related health and nutrition issues, such as acne, anabolic steroids, snacking, and weight loss. A teacher's kit on health fraud with five lesson plans also is listed.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Eating disorders, Health promotion, Reyes syndrome, Scoliosis, Septic shock, Skin diseases

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This project had two major goals. (1) The project was to consider the various models for identifying psychosocial and developmental problems and develop broad recommendations for future research directions. In addition to this critical review of the literature bearing on the new morbidity and its prevention, the project was charged with (2) considering some of the methodological issues that would need to be confronted in an evaluation of the Health Supervision Package designed by the American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP) Committee on the Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196814.

Keywords: Infant health, Morbidity, Pediatricians, Prevention, Psychosocial disorders

Annotation: The principle aim of this project was to demonstrate a coordinated, community-based program model for the screening, evaluation, and treatment of children from birth to five years of age with developmental disabilities, children at risk for them, and for their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152932.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Developmental disorders, Early intervention, Family centered care, Interagency cooperation, community based care

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Annotation: This project sought to demonstrate that a system of reimbursable, cost-effective, home-based support services can be implemented for families with chronically ill children. The project objectives were to facilitate the provision of home-based care for chronically ill children through the following activities: (1) Developing a regional network of medically skilled respite providers; (2) establishing self-help mutual support groups for chronically ill children and their parents and siblings; (3) training professionals, paraprofessionals, and volunteers; and (4) disseminating project findings and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158699.

Keywords: Arthritis, Asthma, Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Congenital Heart Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Families, Feeding Disorders, Hemophilia, Home-Based Health Care, Kidney Disease, Leukemia, Low income groups, Muscular Dystrophy, Nurses, Respiratory Technologies, Respite Care, Sick Kids (Need) Involved People (SKIP), Sickle Cell Disease, Support Groups, Tay-Sachs Disease, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This tool kit, geared toward program facilitators and volunteer educators, provides methods for bringing the Breaking the Silence program to communities. The purpose of the program is to break the silence about mental illness in schools. The toolkit provides a background on Breaking the Silence, the rationale for mental illness education, information about how to organize and fund a local program, how to enlist and train volunteers, and materials documenting the success of Breaking the Silence. The program is intended for use in upper elementary, middle, and high school classrooms.

Contact: National Alliance for the Mentally Ill Queens/Nassau, 1981 Marcus Avenue, C-117, Lake Success, NY 11042, Telephone: (516) 326-0797 Secondary Telephone: (718) 347-7284 Fax: (516) 437-5785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nami.org/MSTemplate.cfm?MicrositeID=241 Available from the website after registration.

• Description

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communities, Health education, Mental disorders, Mental health, Resource materials, Schools, Training

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support, International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provides information for parents of children with hearing loss. The brochure discusses genetics and hearing loss; insurance and paying for genetic testing; what parents should do once hearing loss has been diagnosed; why it is important for children with hearing loss to be seen by a geneticist; how to prepare for the genetics appointment; and what happens at the appointment.

Contact: American College of Medical Genetics, 7220 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 718-9603 Fax: (301) 718-9604 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acmg.net Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Genes, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infants

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Fragile X syndrome (FXS). It describes what Fragile X is; explains what causes it; and discusses the conditions that are common among children with Fragile X. It also lists some of the signs of FXS and explains what parents should do if they think their child has FXS. One side of the fact sheet is in English and the other is in Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disabilities, Fragile X syndrome, Genetic disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: The report outlines how overdose-related deaths in pregnant and postpartum women can be prevented with evidence-based treatment for opioid use disorder like buprenorphine and methadone. It also describes systemic and cultural barriers that make accessing care difficult and outlines key actions the Biden-Harris Administration will take to connect pregnant women with substance use disorder to care.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, Office of National Drug Control Policy , 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Foster care, Prevention, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: In this webinar, subject matter experts present on 1) the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health’s (AIM) patient safety bundle for perinatal people with substance use disorders, and 2) the role of public health agencies, perinatal quality collaboratives, and community organizations in supporting the implementation of the AIM bundle in their state. Speakers include representatives from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), the Louisiana Department of Health, and the Florida Department of Health.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal care, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Public health , Quality assurance, Safety, State initiatives, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This table provides examples of the relationship between oral health and mental health problems and substance use. It addresses the relationship between oral health and mental health problems (i.e., anxiety, bipolar and obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, eating disorders, issues related to trauma). It also addresses the relationship between oral health and use of substances such as cannabis, cocaine, methamphetamine, and opioids, as well as the relationship between oral health and substance-use-disorder treatment medications. The impact of oral health problems on mental health problems and substance use is also examined.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Compulsive behavior, Depression, Eating disorders, Emotional trauma, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of the telehealth landscape, describing the need, benefits, and challenges using this modality to address serious mental illness (SMI) and substance abuse disorders (SUD) among adults. It reviews the literature and research findings related to this issue, examines emerging and best practices, discusses gaps in knowledge, and identifies challenges and strategies for implementation. The guide is part of the Evidence-Based Resource Guide Series--a comprehensive set of modules with resources to improve health outcomes for people at risk for, experiencing, or recovering from SMI and/or SUD. It's designed for practitioners, administrators, community leaders, and others considering an intervention for their organization or community.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Document Number: PEP21-06-02-001.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Mental illness, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Telecommunication, Telemedicine