Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This policy statement expresses the vision of the Medical Library Association (MLA) of research as a foundation for excellence in health information practice, for new and expanded roles for health sciences librarians, and for attracting excellent people to the profession. It also affirms the association's commitment to collaborate with other organizations to increase support for health sciences librarians' research activities. This policy does not include a laundry list of research topics, but seeks to provide an intellectual basis and rationale for the role of research in support of professional practice. The future role of health sciences librarians, the role that current health sciences librarians must play in achieving those, and the role of MLA in this are described. A proposed action plan outlines future directions for MLA under the headings education, research, support, funding, recognition, and measurement.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: info@mlahq.org Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Medical Library Association, Research

Annotation: This paper gives a perspective into what evaluation means, how and why it is done, and in what ways the vernacular use of the term in management relates to the discipline use in research. Four tenets of evaluation are highlighted.

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Evaluation, Management, Program evaluation, Research

Annotation: This paper is a proposal for a study to make recommendations for improvement of delivery of nutritional services in programs supported by the Maternal and Child Health Service, as well as in the development of future programs. The need for such studies, the relationship of the Children and Youth Project, the purpose and design of the proposed study, development of the observation instrument, a pilot study, and summary of study modifications are presented. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health programs, Child nutrition, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Research, Title V programs

Annotation: The primary purpose and goal of this project was the validation of scales for measuring cognitive and physical or general adaptive morbidity, the Pediatric Cerebral Performance Category Scale (PCPC) and Pediatric Overall provides the means of evaluation needed to reach the EMSC goal to evaluate emergency medical care of children as outlined in the EMSC 5 year plan. A secondary purpose of the study was to obtain supplemental data on the nature and severity of adverse outcomes of psychosocial adjustment for children and families with a broad range of cognitive and functional outcomes following childhood emergencies. This study and other work by the investigator will facilitate the identification of the population of children and families at high risk for emergencies in order to guide the development of a suitable intervention in a future phase of study. A cohort of 200 PICU discharges were accumulated consecutively over a 22 month enrollment period to a maximum of 25 patients in each of the eight cells of the study. The patients were then followed up with the Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scale and a battery of psychological tests. We find that the POPC and PCPC scales differentiate well between children of varying cognitive and general adaptive functional abilities as measured by the StanfordBinet, Bayley, and Vineland instruments. They should provide a useful tool for future studies which require outcome assessment. Maternal assessments may not be suitable substitutes for clinician assessments as mothers tend to rate children lower (less morbidity) than the nurse rater. Additional outcome analyses are still in progress. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-128317.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emotional Health, Mental Health, Morbidity, Research

Annotation: This book presents the Voices Reading program, which combines systematic, comprehensive literacy instruction with character development. The program uses multicultural trade books as its basis and leveled books to match individual needs. The program addresses six themes: identity awareness, perspective taking, conflict resolution, social awareness, love and friendship, and freedom and democracy. In addition to explaining these themes, the book presents program components and a literacy overview, addresses the achievement gap, and discusses research and methods and scope and sequence.

Contact: Zaner-Bloser, 1201 Dublin Road, Columbus, OH 43215-3018, Telephone: (800) 421-3018 Secondary Telephone: (614) 486-0221 Web Site: http://zaner-bloser.com

Keywords: Character, Child development, Cultural competence, Educational attainment, Literacy education, Programs, Reading, Research

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This glossary provides definitions for terms used in health research. The website also provides a registry of quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.

• Link

Keywords: Dictionaries, Evidence based practice, Public health, Research

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: doh-webmaster@state.nm.us Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides information about healthy beverage consumption among school-age children and adolescents, as well as recommendations from key national health and nutrition organizations. The report introduces the issue, presents background information, and describes the methodology. Expert recommendations related to beverages recommended as part of a healthy diet, beverages to limit as part of a healthy diet, and beverages not recommended as part of a healthy diet are presented. Other considerations, research recommendations, and policy and practice implications are discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: globalhealth@duke.edu Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Beverages, Calories, Milk, Nutrition, Research, School age children, Sugar, Water

Annotation: These proceedings present information from a workshop convened to explore innovative practices and models for advancing oral health across the lifespan. Topics include a global perspective on improving oral health, an overview of U.S. federal oral health policies and programs, an overview of U.S. state-level oral health policies, supporting all people to improve their oral health, increasing access to oral health care, the role of public and private payers in improving access to and affordability of oral health care, oral health care for varying populations, dentistry in 2035, enhancing oral health research and innovation, and the potential for systems transformation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dentistry, Health systems, Oral health, Policy, Research, World health

Annotation: This toolkit provides links and brief descriptions of resources related to community water fluoridation. The toolkit is divided into the following categories: toolkits and communication resources, scientific research and public health evidence, professional and advocacy resources, supportive media coverage, countering misinformation and opposition, and case studies and testimonials.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Case studies, Communication, Evidence, Misinformation, Oral health, Public health, Research, Resources

Annotation: This report summarizes discussions and takeaways from an expert panel conducted by NOHC of the University of Chicago to discuss challenges related to, opportunities for, and promising approaches to providing equitable oral health care for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Topics include accessibility and accommodations, health professional training and education, dental insurance coverage policies, supporting families with oral health care guidance at home, innovative models and approaches, and future research needs.

Contact: NORC at the University of Chicago, 1155 East 60th Street, 2nd Floor, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 256-6000 Web Site: http://www.norc.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Family support, Health education, Health insurance, Health services accessibility, Oral health, Research, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Annotation: The purpose of this needs assessment is to improve access to oral health care in New York state by identifying areas with the highest oral health needs and providing information on addressing barriers to access, particularly for populations that are underserved and vulnerable. The needs assessment presents information from a study conducted to assess oral health indicators and socioeconomic indicators by area in the state. It presents study findings and discusses study limitations.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: chws@health.ny.gov Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, New York, Oral health, Research, Socieconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This report discusses systemic barriers to oral health care and overall health care coordination and how these barriers can be mitigated. It provides an analysis of 715 pieces of literature and categorizes them into five primary segments: education exploratory, education implemented, health professional exploratory, health professional implemented, and informative. The report highlights ways that the literature reflects four main themes: awareness, workforce development and operations, information exchange, and payment. Recommendations for developing frameworks to address oral health care and overall health care coordination are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Oral health, Reimbursement, Research, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report examines disparities in tobacco use and tobacco-related health outcomes across population groups in the United States, finding persistent inequities by race and ethnicity, income level, education level, sexual orientation and gender identity, occupation, geography, and behavioral health status. Using a multidisciplinary perspective, it reviews scientific evidence about drivers of tobacco-related health disparities, including social and environmental influences, the tobacco industry's targeted marketing practices, and the physiological and genetic factors that may influence use of flavored tobacco products. The report outlines promising interventions to reduce disparities, such as comprehensive smokefree laws, restrictions on flavored tobacco products including menthol cigarettes, barrier-free cessation services, and reducing nicotine levels in tobacco products to minimally addictive levels, while emphasizing that achieving health equity requires both tobacco-specific interventions and broader efforts to address underlying social and structural inequities.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: surgeongeneral@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Health equity, Health status disparities, Passive smoking, Prevention, Research, Risk factors, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from seven virtual focus groups that NORC at the University of Chicago conducted with parents and caregivers of children with special health care needs. The purpose of the focus groups was to better understand parents’ experiences with caring for their child’s oral health at home and with accessing oral health care for their child. The report presents findings, describes methods, and offers recommendations for the direction for future research.

Contact: NORC, 1155 East 60th Street, 2nd Floor, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 256-6000 Web Site: https://norc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Focus groups, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Research

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen explores the intersection of substance use and maternal health with innovators Dr. Nichole Nidey and Michelle Kavouras, focusing on the power of lived expertise to shape equitable, evidence-based care. Dr. Nidey, a maternal and child health epidemiologist and founder of the Empower Project, discusses how her work collaborates with individuals who use substances during pregnancy to inform meaningful research and interventions. Kavouras, a peer doula and harm reduction advocate, shares her journey from lived experience to leadership in substance use advocacy, highlighting the importance of compassionate, non-stigmatizing care. This conversation challenges misconceptions, unpacks the complexity of language in healthcare, and emphasizes the need to meet pregnant people where they are. The episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: aim@acog.org Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Maternal health, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Pregnancy, Prevention, Research, Substance abuse, Substance dependence