Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy statement expresses the vision of the Medical Library Association (MLA) of research as a foundation for excellence in health information practice, for new and expanded roles for health sciences librarians, and for attracting excellent people to the profession. It also affirms the association's commitment to collaborate with other organizations to increase support for health sciences librarians' research activities. This policy does not include a laundry list of research topics, but seeks to provide an intellectual basis and rationale for the role of research in support of professional practice. The future role of health sciences librarians, the role that current health sciences librarians must play in achieving those, and the role of MLA in this are described. A proposed action plan outlines future directions for MLA under the headings education, research, support, funding, recognition, and measurement.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Medical Library Association, Research

Annotation: This report states the view of the MLA concerning the role of health science librarians in providing evidence based health care and in designing, developing, and managing information systems that support quality patient care. The report discusses partnership opportunities for librarians and the role of librarians in ensuring patient safety.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health science libraries, Librarians, Library services, Patient care, Quality assurance, Safety programs

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward medical librarians, provides background knowledge about health care technology to help clarify librarians' role as it relates to health informatics. The book's primary objective is to introduce health informatics and to describe the medical environment and culture in which health informatics professionals work. Topics include major areas of health informatics, the organization of medical knowledge, the electronic health record, healthcare information management systems, medical imaging, ethical and legal issues, and bioinformatics and genomic medicine.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55570-627-2.

Keywords: Health care, Information systems, Librarians, Library services

Annotation: This document presents the basic knowledge that all persons graduating from an ALA-accredited master's program in library and information studies need to possess. Topics include foundations of the profession, information resources, organization of recorded knowledge and information, technological knowledge and skills, reference and user services, research, continuing education and lifelong learning, and administration and management.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administration, Continuing education, Information services, Information sources, Librarians, Library services, Management, Professional education, Technology

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the issue of bibliographic control, is intended for use by the library community, policymakers, and decision-makers. The repot sets forth recommendations, including (1) increasing the efficiency of bibliographic production, (2) transferring effort into high-value activity, (3) positioning technology for the future by recognizing that the Internet is both a technology platform and the appropriate platform for delivering library standards, (4) positioning the library community for the future by facilitating the incorporation of evaluative and other user-supplied information into resource descriptions, and (5) strengthening the library profession through education and the development of measurements that will inform decision-making.

Contact: Library of Congress, Government Documents Section, 101 Independence Avenue at First Street, S.E., Washington, DC 20540, Telephone: (202) 707-5000 Fax: (202) 707-0380 E-mail: http://www.loc.gov/rr/aslalib/ Web Site: http://www.loc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Education, Information services, Librarians, Libraries, Public policy, Resource materials, Trends, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report focuses on a study that explored the social networking attitudes and habits of users and librarians. The reports explored the following main areas: (1) user practices and preferences on their favorite social spaces; (2) the origins of social networking; (3) user attitudes about privace and trust online; (4) librarian online habits and attitudes vs. the habits and attitudes of the general public; and (5) attitudes about combining the benefits of social spaces with the offerings of libraries. The report also discusses in-depth interviews with information services professionals to gain insight into social networking, trust, and privacy online. Report highlights and conclusions are offered. The report includes six appendices: (1) college students' use of Internet services; (2) glossary, (3) people consulted, (4) readings and other sources, (5) about OCLC, and (6) comparative timeline.

Contact: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, OH 43017-3395, Telephone: (614) 764-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 848-5878 Fax: (614) 764-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oclc.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-55653-370-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Consumers, Librarians, Libraries, Social behavior, Trust, World Wide Web

Annotation: This archived teleconference from March 2005 is for librarians and the public health workforce, to encourage participation in the provision of information about public health. The conference archive includes three parts. Part one provides background information on public health, discussing federal, state, and local agencies, and the multi- and interdisciplinary nature of their workings. Part two describes hot topics in public health services, including preparedness and bioterrorism, infectious disease, obesity, and issues with the public health workforce. Part three outlines collaboration between information professionals and public health professionals, highlighting successful strategies, funding for public health, and the librarian's role. A final section includes resources.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $156 (VHS), $224 (DVD-ROM), plus shipping and handling; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Conferences, Information dissemination, Information services, Librarians, Public health, Public health agencies

Annotation: This volume provides information on major professional and personal competencies of special librarians and provides examples of the many roles special librarians can perform in this era of print and electronic information resources. It includes definitions of special competencies, a list of competencies for special librarians of the 21st century, and a report on using competencies as a performance appraisal and compensation tool. Two sections end with a list of references.

Contact: Special Libraries Association, 331 South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3501, Telephone: (703) 647-4900 Contact Phone: (202) 234-4700 ext.643 Fax: (703) 647-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sla.org $17.00 for SLA members; $22.00 for non SLA members includes shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-87111-469-0.

Keywords: Information networks, Librarians, Library services, Professional education, Technology dependence