Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on careers in dentistry. It discusses the following types of oral health professionals: allied dental educator, dental assistant, dental laboratory technician, dental hygienist, and dentist. For each, a description of what the oral health professional does and their average salary is presented.

Contact: Realityworks, 2709 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701, Telephone: (800) 830-1416 Secondary Telephone: (715) 830-2040 Web Site: https://www.realityworks.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentistry, Dentists, Dentists, Health educators, Laboratories, Medical technicians, Oral health, Salaries

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This best practice guide from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry contains recommendations for oral health care for children and youth by age group (six to twelve months, twelve to twenty-four months, two to six years, six to twelve years, and twelve years and older). Information was gathered via database and hand searches, as well as recommendations based upon expert and/or consensus opinion by experienced researchers and clinicians. [This document was developed by the Clinical Affairs Committee, adopted in 1991, and last revised by the Council on Clinical Affairs in 2018.]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This toolkit for pediatric dentists offers guidance on providing care to children enrolled in Medicaid within a practice setting. Topics include understanding Medicaid, Medicaid coverage for dental services, why dentists should consider participating in Medicaid, and how to become a Medicaid provider. Additional topics include how to prepare a pediatric dental team to work with the Medicaid system, how to schedule clients, how to find training opportunities for team members, how to administer Medicaid, and how to locate resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This resource comprises definitions, policies, and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. New, revised, and reaffirmed policies and guidelines address topics such as medically necessary care, work force issues and delivery of oral health services in a dental home, use of fluoride, use of dental bleaching, infection control, caries-risk assessment and management, restorative dentistry, oral surgery, and informed consent.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Guidelines, Health policy, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Perinatal health, Professional societies

Annotation: This reference manual provides information about operating a dental public health program in Virginia. Topics include patient care, community program operations, dental sealant program operations, professional development, and resources. Contents include agreements, guidelines, plans, procedures, protocols, standards, surveys, trainings, and videos. Some resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Public health dentistry, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Virginia

Annotation: This report presents findings from a systematic review and recommendations to address clinical questions related to the effect of pit-and-fissure sealants on preventing and arresting dental caries in children and adolescents. Additional topics include the efficacy of dental sealants compared with fluoride varnishes and the relative merit of head-to-head comparisons of the different types of sealant material used on pits and fissures of occlusal surfaces.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available in libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Research

Annotation: This manual provides background information on the Dental Quality Alliance and its members, discusses national interest in quality measures, and highlights challenges for measurement in dentistry. Topics include the science behind measurement, measurement levels, measure domains, hallmarks of a good measure, and measuring for improvement. The manual can serve as the basis for developing standardized messages on performance and on quality measures in dentistry.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dentistry, Measures, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Standards

Annotation: This map provides information on state legislation of interest to academic dentistry for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Users can view the status of bills, upcoming hearing dates, and bill text and author and sponsor information. Users can also view state legislation on topics such as health coverage and financing, fluoride, oral health programs, teledentistry, regulations, and work force.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Dentistry, Financing, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This paper for the oral health care performance measurement stakeholder community discusses considerations in the development of oral health care outcome measures. Topics include the rationale and purpose of risk adjustment, recommendations on how to identify and select potential risk adjusters, considerations in determining whether and how to risk adjust, current and future feasibility of implementing risk adjusters in dentistry, and next steps to advance implementation of risk adjustment in dentistry.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentistry, Measures, Methods, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Quality assurance, Risk assessment, Risk factors

Annotation: This report provides information about validation testing for pediatric oral health performance measures. Topics include tooth mortality and treatment following dental sealant placement. Contents include background, data sources, and key testing findings.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental sealants, Dentistry, Health services delivery, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Quality assurance, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: These resources summarize discussions about state oral health policy options from a session for state policymakers held on August 8, 2016, in Chicago, Illinois. Contents include the agenda and presentations about teledentistry, integrating primary care and oral health, public health and oral health policy, and direct access and work force models.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Dentistry, Models, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Service integration, State initiatives, Teledentistry, Work force

Annotation: This continuing education course for oral health professionals provides information about intimate partner violence (IPV) and elder maltreatment (EM) and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing IPV and EM. Topics include definitions and signs and symptoms of IPV and EM, patterns of IPV, ethical and legal responsibilities, and intervention techniques. A tool that educators can use for creating a student assignment is also available.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course
• Course In .pdf

Keywords: Assessment, Continuing education, Dental care, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Intervention, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This continuing education course reviews the scientific evidence on oral health and pregnancy and describes best practices for oral health care of women before, during, and after pregnancy. Topics include epidemiology and etiology of gingivitis and periodontitis in pregnant women, epidemiology and etiology of preterm birth and low birthweight infants, risk factors for preterm birth, potential mechanisms for interaction between oral inflammation and preterm birth, and standards of perinatal oral health care. Additional resources for health professionals, including fact sheets for prenatal health professionals and oral health professionals, are available.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link
• Fact Sheets And Other Resources

Keywords: Resources for professionals, Assessment, Consumer education materials, Continuing education, Dental care, Dentistry, Intervention, Oral health, Perinatal health, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Safety, Standards

Annotation: This guide provides information for primary care practices on implementing an oral-healthcare-delivery framework that presents a model for how primary care professionals can screen for oral health issues, offer brief interventions, and coordinate referrals to dentists. The guide is divided into nine sections: (1) introduction, (2) the case for change, (3) the oral-health-care-delivery framework, (4) how to prepare for successful implementation, (5) staffing options and workforce, (6) structuring referrals to dentists, (7) using data for quality improvement, (8)leveraging success, and (9) field-testing results and case examples. An annotated oral health integration tool set is also available.

Contact: Safety Net Medical Home Initiative, Qualis Health, P.O. Box 33400, Seattle, WA 98133-9700, Telephone: (800) 949-7536 Secondary Telephone: (800) 833-6384 Contact Phone: (206) 288-2462 Fax: (206) 368-2419 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safetynetmedicalhome.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Dentistry, Educational change, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Oral health, Organizational change, Primary care, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This paper provides guidance for health professionals and patients on ethical challenges that may be presented by short-term charitable events, such as Mission of Mercy and Give Kids a Smile, so that these challenges can be addressed and/or avoided. The paper includes questions that health professionals and patients can consider to minimize potential ethical risks of such events while maximizing the events’ benefits. The concluding checklists are intended to be a starting point that organizations hosting events can tailor to accommodate specific issues that may arise at their events.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Dentistry, Oral health, Philanthropy, Professional ethics

Annotation: This course for oral health professionals provides information about domestic violence. Topics include definition and prevalence; signs and symptoms; risk factors; health care implications; documentation; and community, state, and national resources. Tools used to identify domestic violence in dental practice settings, including assessment, charting, intervention programs, referrals, and hotlines, are discussed.

Contact: Academy of Dental Learning & OSHA Training, P.O. Box 14585, Albany, NY 12212, Telephone: (800) 522-1207 Fax: (800) 886-3009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dentallearning.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Continuing education, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Injuries, Intervention, Oral health, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Role

Annotation: This report outlines key initiatives aimed at preventing oral disease and reducing the proportion of children and adults with untreated oral disease. Contents include an overview of each initiative and related goals. Topics include preventing oral disease, providing oral health education and care, and strengthening and expanding the public/private oral health safety net.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community coordination, Dentistry, Financing, Goals, Health care utilization, Healthy People 2020, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Sustainability, Work force

Annotation: This document describes competencies for dental public health and the performance indicators by which they can be measured. Contents include background on the development of the competencies, definitions,and what a specialist in dental public health will do. Topics include planning oral health programs for populations; selecting interventions and strategies for the prevention and control of oral diseases and promotion of oral health; developing resources and implementing and managing oral health programs for populations; incorporating ethical standards in oral health programs and activities; evaluating and monitoring dental care delivery systems; designing and understanding the use of surveillance systems to monitor oral health; communicating and collaborating with groups and individuals on oral health issues; advocating for, implementing, and evaluating public health policy, legislation, and regulations to protect and promote the public's oral health; critiquing and synthesizing scientific literature; and designing and conducting population-based studies to answer oral and public health questions.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• Current Version
• Original Preamble Published In The Journal Of Public Health Dentistry 58(Suppl 1):119–122

Keywords: Administration, Advocacy, Collaboration, Communication skills, Competence, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Dental education, Dentistry, Ethics, Health promotion, Oral health, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health dentists, Research, Work force