Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document presents things to think about as an organization considers how an advisory board might enhance the values it provides. Topics include goals, types of boards (families only, families and providers), size of the board, board terms, member recruitment, preparing and orienting board members, structuring meetings, and empowering family partners.

Contact: Center for Resilient Families, Institute for Translation Research, University of Minnesota, 1100 Washington Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55415, Web Site: https://itr.umn.edu/crf/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Community participation, Family relations

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the year 2018, conducted by the Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Statistics on the timing, causes, and contributing factors are presented for deaths that occurred during pregnancy, or within one year of the end of pregnancy. Pregnancy-associated deaths according to race/ethnicity, insurance type, and age are also delineated. Background information on the Review Committee's work, definitions of key terms, and recommendations to help lower the rate of maternal mortality in Arkansas are included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health , Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee, 4815 W. Markham, Little Rock , AR 72205-3867, Telephone: (800) 462-0599 E-mail: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/resources/about-adh/contact-us/adh-contact-form/ Web Site: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-maternal-mortality-review-committee

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides background information on the Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, introduces processes that have been created to operationalize the committee, and presents key findings from case reviews performed in 2020. Based on the data analysis and review, the report includes Committee recommendations on action steps to help eliminate preventable pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths in Oregon.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report includes the findings of the Minnesota Department of Health’s Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC) on birthing people who died during or within one year after the end of a pregnancy in 2017-2018. The review includes statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths based on race/ethnicity, cause of death, location of death, and pregnancy timing/status (death before, during, or after birth). Based on the data analysis and review, recommendations on action steps that can help prevent maternal mortality are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Women & Infant Health Unit, 625 Robert Street North, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: 651-201-3650 Fax: (651) 201-3590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This document describes the value of interviewing childbearing parents/families after the death of an infant, challenges, and steps in the process, including the parental interviewer; locating and contacting families; confidentiality, consent, and ethical considerations; conducting the interview; alternative methods; bereavement support and resources, and self-care. Appendices include sample position descriptions for interviewers, protocols, handouts and forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death review, Infant death review committees, Interviews, Manuals

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the years 2015-2017 conducted by the Connecticut Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Background information on the state's population, including income and racial disparities, are provided, together with statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths. The data is presented by race, insurance type, cause of death, and other variables. Sections on mental health, substance use, and intimate partner violence are included. The report concludes with the Review Committee's recommendations on action that can be taken to help prevent pregnancy-related deaths in Connecticut.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This annual report from Indiana Maternal Mortality Review Committee describes the state of maternal mortality in Indiana, including the social factors associated with poor maternal health outcomes. Based on a review of all pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths that occurred in the state in 2018, the report presents maternal mortality statistics based on the cause of death, race/ethnicity, insurance status, and other variables and contributing factors. Based on the data analysis and review, Committee recommendations on ways to help reduce the rate of preventable maternal deaths are included.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This guide contains sixteen icebreakers to help facilitators of Rhode Island Department of Health Advisory Meetings to create effective meetings and group bonding. Each activity has recommendations for the size of the group for which it will be most applicable, as well as a list of materials needed and the type of leadership opportunity each event will provide. The icebreakers listed here are based on ideas generated from trainings, camps, theater groups, and other events.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advisory committees, Rhode Island

Annotation: This assessment tool provides organizations with a framework for implementing the Youth Advisor Model, which involves hiring young people (ages 16-21) to contribute their expertise on youth culture to organizational programs. The document includes a detailed organizational readiness assessment with sections covering program growth, youth advisor roles, organizational culture, processes, and necessary resources. It offers essential definitions related to positive youth development, outlines discussion questions for team reflection, and provides a detailed checklist for evaluating readiness in areas such as staff training, workspace allocation, and policy development. The assessment emphasizes the importance of addressing all identified gaps before hiring youth advisors and includes a progress evaluation tool to monitor implementation success over time. The document concludes with guidance on next steps and contact information for additional support resources through the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Adolescent health, Advisory committees

Annotation: This document provides guidance to Child Death Review (CDR) and Fetal Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) teams on conducting effective reviews of the deaths of infants and children who had a disability or chronic illness. Contents include definitions of disability and special health care needs; preparing for the review meeting; background and questions for discussion at the review; medical death or natural causes; maltreatment as a factor; death in foster care, group home, institution, or jail/detention facility; mental health services for children in care; death at school or on a school bus; injury deaths; and risk factors. A structure for identifying and addressing gaps in services, policies, or protocols and model recommendations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Children with special health care needs, Infant death review committees, Infants with special health care needs, Models

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of state and local Fetal and Infant Mortality (FIMR) coordinators about their FIMR team structure, process, and activities. Contents include information about operations at the local level to examine medical, nonmedical, and systems-related factors and circumstances contributing to fetal and infant deaths. Information about FIMR and child death review collaboration is also included. Survey results are provided in a set of tables following the narrative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, County programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Injury prevention, Local initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program coordination, Systems development, Teamwork

Annotation: This document is intended to inform Child Death Review and Fetal and Infant Mortality Review teams' reviews of fetal, infant, and child deaths known to be related, or potentially related, to Zika virus infection. Contents include an overview of Zika, including transmission, prevalance, and risk factors for pregnant women; preparing for review of cases; questions for teams to consider; and recommendations to health professionals and systems for preventing or mitigating Zika virus infection. Information about the clinical management of a pregnant woman with suspected Zika virus infection is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Infant death review committees, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides information about the State Advisory Councils on Early Childhood Education and Care grant to states and territories to develop high-quality early childhood education systems. Contents include general themes across the states, each state's accomplishments in meeting grant requirements, and implications for future work.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advisory committees, Child care, Councils, Early childhood education, Federal grants, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, Systems development

Annotation: This notebook contains materials related to the second meeting of the Discretionalry Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, held September 21, 2013. It includes subcommittee agendas and draft reports; draft summary of the first meeting of the committee, held May 16-17, 2013; updated recommendations by the committee; information on whole genome sequencing in newborn screening and other newborn screening tests; committee legislation, by-laws, and charter; and a list of committee members.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Federal initiatives, Neonatal screening

Annotation: This guide was created as a resource for school wellness committees (SWCs) to convene, plan, and implement their action plans. Contents include information on how to use the toolkit, what a SWC is, frequently asked questions, roles and responsibilities, talking points for schools (why health?), and a framework of best practices criteria. Additional contents include guidance on who should join the SWC, considerations for SWC members, involving students and families, talking points about the Healthy Schools Program, a sample invitation letter, making decisions, how to keep SWCs active and effective, support and matrix for success, role of the facilitator, managing difficult behavior in groups, creating group norms, and communication strategies.

Contact: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, c/o The Clinton Foundation, 1271 Avenue of the Americas, 42nd Floor, New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (888) KID-HLTH E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.healthiergeneration.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Advisory committees, Decision making, Facilitated communication, Policy development, Program development, Program planning, Role, School health, School health programs, Schools

Annotation: This report presents an overview of preterm birth and its consequences in the state of Illinois and provides recommendations on proven strategies that could move Illinois towards the reduction of premature births. The report describes the extent and costs of preterm births; identifies the medical and social risk factors associated with preterm birth; and provides recommendations for evidence-based medical and public health strategies, as well as state system and policy changes. The report was prepared by the Perinatal Advisory Committee, Illinois Department of Public Health in response to Illinois General Assembly House Joint Resolution 111, which stipulated that the Committee submit findings and recommendations on reducing preterm births in the state.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advisory committees, Illinois, Perinatal care, Preterm birth, Risk reduction, State initiatives, State legislation

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist pediatric practices in building a system for listening to feedback by creating a Patient and Family Advisory Council (PFAC). It provides step-by-step guidance on how to effectively engage family perspectives in the design of pediatric services and to improve overall quality in the delivery of those services. Topics include assessing practice readiness for a PFAC; recruiting diverse patient and family representatives as council members; supporting the process of authentic family engagement and involvement; and sustaining and evaluating a PFAC. An index of resources and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Toolkit
• Additional Resources

Keywords: Advisory committees, Family centered care, Health services delivery, Multimedia, Patient care, Pediatric care, Quality improvement

Annotation: This website describes the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM) and its roles and actions in advising the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on HHS programs that are directed at reducing infant mortality and improving the health status of pregnant women and infants. The site also contains advice from the SACIM on how best to coordinate federal, state, local and private efforts that address the health and social problems that have an impact on infant mortality. Site contents include the latest (2009-2011) charter and a list of current members, information about the SACIM, and an archive of correspondence to the HHS Secretary. In addition an archive of Committee meetings (from 2004-2011) is provided with agenda, minutes, and presentations.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Child health, Infant death, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention