Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about healthy beverage consumption among school-age children and adolescents, as well as recommendations from key national health and nutrition organizations. The report introduces the issue, presents background information, and describes the methodology. Expert recommendations related to beverages recommended as part of a healthy diet, beverages to limit as part of a healthy diet, and beverages not recommended as part of a healthy diet are presented. Other considerations, research recommendations, and policy and practice implications are discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Beverages, Calories, Milk, Nutrition, Research, School age children, Sugar, Water

Annotation: This report provides summaries of studies published since the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans that may be relevant to the 2010 dietary guidelines. Studies are grouped into the following categories: (1) adequate nutrients within calorie needs, (2) weight management, (3) fats, (4) fruits and vegetables, (5) whole grains, (6) dairy and calcium, (7) carbohydrates, (8) sodium and potassium, and (9) tracking.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Calories, Dietary guidelines, Nutrients, Nutrition, Obesity, Research, Weight management

Annotation: This handbook for parents provides information about overweight in children and offers strategies for enhancing parents' and children's activity and nutrition. Topics covered include (1) why should we care about our weight, (2) what can my family and I do to encourage a healthy weight? (3) energy balance: the heart of the matter, (4) energy in: focusing on food choices and portion sizes, and (5) energy out: physical activity and screen time. Also included are estimated calorie requirements, a table of foods to encourage and foods to avoid, a table showing how portion sizes have grown over the past 20 years, and a guide to calories burned in common activities. The handbook concludes with a list of resources.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH pub. no. 05-5273.

• PDF

Keywords: Body weight, Calories, Children, Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Weight management

Annotation: This report discusses soft drink overconsumption in the United States, and the associated health consequences. The report, which contains an executive summary, discusses the nutritional impact of soft drink consumption, the health impact of soft drink consumption (including obesity, osteoporosis, tooth decay and erosion, heart disease, and kidney stones) the marketing of soft drinks, how citizens are combating the marketing and overconsumption of soft drinks, and recommendations for action. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Calories, Children, Dental caries, Health, Heart diseases, Kidney diseases, Marketing, Nutrition, Obesity, Osteoporosis, Parents

Annotation: This report presents a summary of the papers and discussions presented at the Economics of Obesity workshop held in April 2003. The workshop was jointly hosted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service and the University of Chicago's Irving B. Harris Graduate School of Public Policy Studies and the George J. Stigler Center for the Study of the Economy and the State. Topics included the role of technological change in explaining both the long- and the short-term trends in obesity, the role of maternal employment in child obesity, the impact of obesity on wages and health insurance, behavioral economics as applied to obesity, and the challenges in measuring energy intakes and physical activity. Policy implications and future directions for obesity research were also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: E-FAN-04-004.

• PDF

Keywords: Calories, Children, Economics, Employment, Health insurance, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Research, Salaries, Technology, Trends, Working mothers

Annotation: This workshop discussed three major programs (in Guatemala, Montreal, and Taiwan) for supplementing the diets of pregnant women with calories and protein. It also examined a metabolic balance study of pregnant adolescents with an emphasis on protein. Finally, studies using formula dietary supplements in New York, Omaha, San Francisco, and Washington, D.C. were considered. The goals of the workshop were to focus attention on problems, gaps, and omissions in nutrition services for pregnant women; to assemble and evaluate current data on the dietary needs of pregnant women; and to prepare an interim report on the value of nutritional supplementation during pregnancy, with emphasis on calories and protein. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Service]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, California, Calories, District of Columbia, Food supplements, Guatemala, Metabolism, Montreal, Nebraska, New York, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Protein, Taiwan

Annotation: This report presents the collective views of an international group of experts on food fortification programs within the context of overall national food and nutrition policies and protein-calorie malnutrition, one of the most serious public health problems confronting the developing countries.The report also includes a discussion of future research and action. Some information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Nutrition policy, Calories, Developing countries, Food, International health, Nutrition, Nutrition disorders, Protein

Annotation: In this report, the Joint Committee on Child Nutrition, created by the International Children' Emergency Fund of the United Nations, deals with the following issues: (1) the basic principles of nutrition in planning the purchase and distribution of foodstuffs in the development of feeding programs for pregnant women and nursing mothers, infants, preschool- and school-age children, and adolescents; (2) the use of dried whole milk, dried skim milk, and cheese in the fund's operations, and the relative cost of equivalent nutrients in those various forms of milk and milk products, (3) the value, in the fund's operations, of the provision of vitamin-containing foods compared with that of multi-vitamin and mineral preparations alone, (4) recommendations about meals for preschool- and school-age children, and (5) the relative value of a hot cooked meal vs. a cold meal. Th report includes the following main sections: (1) the general condition of children in war-stricken countries of Europe and China, (2) principles of child nutrition, (3) recommendations, and (4) concluding statement. One appendix contains recommendations on calories and specific nutrients. The report concludes with a list of committee members.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Breastfeeding, Calories, Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Costs, Infant nutrition, Infant nutrition programs, International health, Maternal nutrition, Menu planning, Nutrients, Nutrition, Nutritional requirements, Pregnancy, Vitamin deficiencies, Vitamin supplements, Vitamins, War

Annotation: This paper compares the caloric intake of high school students in one private school and one public school in New York City between March 1939 and April 1940. Included is an estimate of calorie requirements for high school boys and girls ranging in age from 11-12 through 18 and a comparison of the calorie intake between students attending the private Fieldson Ethical Culture School and those attending the public Seward Park High School. The data indicates caloric needs based on age, weight, and gender, and includes deviations from the daily recommendation based on study findings. Separate data is presented on Jewish, Italian, and other white cultural groups within the public school system, and the caloric intake of low-income groups is included in the discussion.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Calories, Diet, Food, High school students, New York , Recommended daily allowances

Annotation: This symposium reports on an examination of scientific evidence on six dietary issues (cholesterol, fats, carbohydrates, calories, alcohol and sodium) and clarifies the degree to which that evidence is cohesive and logical in explaining the relationship between diet and disease. The report includes consensus statements and background reviews.

Keywords: Alcohol use, Calories, Carbohydrates, Cholesterol, Fats, Nutrition research, Sodium