Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (38 total).

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Title V information system glossary. Germantown, MD: HRSA Call Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This glossary explains terms used in the Title V Information System, an online service that electronically captures and makes available applications and reports submitted by U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions on state programs funded under Title V of the Social Security Act.

Contact: Title V Information System, HRSA Call Center, 12530 Parklawn Drive, Suite 350, Germantown, MD 20850, Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 998-7377 E-mail: CallCenter@HRSA.GOV Web Site: https://mchb.tvisdata.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

McMaster University and National Collaboration Centre for Methods and Tools. n.d.. Health evidence. Hamilton, ON: McMaster University and National Collaboration Centre for Methods and Tools,

Child Trends. 2020. Programs for youth and young adults: Science-informed definitions. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This website offers definitions for terms that may be encountered by practitioners who serve youth and young adults. Terms are defined according to the conceptual model: contexts creating a need for interventions which can in turn improve outcomes for youth and young adults. Examples are provided to help practitioners think about how different interventions help young people respond to the contexts in which they live to improve both their short- and long-term outcomes. Evaluation terms are included.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Dictionaries, Evaluation, Glossaries, Health programs, Young adults

University of Kentucky Human Development Institute. 2019. Glossary of disability terms and acronyms. [Lexington, KY?]: University of Kentucky Human Development Institute, 10 pp.

UnitedHealth Group. 2015-. Just plain clear. [No place]: UnitedHealthcare,

Annotation: This glossary gives definitions of health care and health insurance terms in English and Spanish. It includes all the words in the Uniform Glossary (Glossary of Health Coverage and Medical Terms) developed by the Department of Labor and the Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Health insurance, Health services, Spanlsh language materials

Family Voices. [2013]. Alphabet soup: A glossary of health care terms for families of children/youth with special health care needs/disabilities. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, 15 pp.

Annotation: This glossary presents commonly used terms and definitions used in discussions about children with special health care needs with health care providers, services agencies, and healthcare insurance providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships, Family Voices, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.W., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-ncfpp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Dictionaries, Resources for professionals

W. B. Saunders Company. 2012. Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. (32nd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders Company, 2147 pp., 1 CD-ROM.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7216-0146-4.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Dictionaries, Medicine

Child Welfare Information Gateway. 2011. Child welfare terms: English to Spanish. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 18 pp.

Annotation: This glossary lists child welfare terms in English and corresponding Spanish terms. The glossary offers a primary term along with options to provide flexibility and allow for regional and personal preferences.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child welfare, Communication, Culturally competent services, Dictionaries, Service delivery, Spanish language materials

Oregon Public Health Division. 2008. English-Spanish glossary of commonly used terms: Vol. 1, ed. 8. Portland, WA: Oregon Public Health Division, 28 pp.

Annotation: This English-Spanish glossary includes commonly used words and expressions, medical terms, and technical government terms. It is intended to promote uniformity in language use and to avoid misinterpretations in Spanish-language materials used by the Oregon Public Health Division.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Public Health Division, 800 North East Oregon Street, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-1222 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-1299 Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Reference materials, Spanish language materials

Zero to Three. 2008. Glossary of policy and advocacy terms: A guide to the ABCs and acronyms of the infant-toddler policy process. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, ca. 90 pp.

Annotation: This A-to Z-glossary of policy and advocacy terminology is designed to help child advocates better understand infant-toddler programs and policies, federal and state legislative terms, and advocacy terms and techniques. The glossary provides links to information and tools such as a database of elected officials and guidelines for use in writing letters to the editor to help advocates communicate more effectively on behalf of infants, toddlers, and their families.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Communication, Dictionaries, Infant health, Infants, Policy, Toddlers

Catalyst Center. 2007. Medicaid as a second language: A slightly irreverent guide to common Medicaid terms, acronyms and abbreviations. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is designed for those interested in financing care for children and youth with special health care needs at the state level -- particularly through the Medicaid program -- provides definitions of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms that are relevant to Medicaid. The guide begins with an overview of some of the basic structural features of Medicaid and follows with a glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: mcomeau@bu.edu Web Site: http://cahpp.org/project/the-catalyst-center Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Dictionaries, Federal programs, Language, Medicaid, Reference materials

Coleman JG. 2006. The early intervention dictionary: A multidisciplinary guide to terminology. (3rd ed.). Rockville, MD: Woodbine House, 457 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary identifies and defines early intervention terminology. It uses a multidisciplinary approach, covering the fields of pediatric medicine, child development, early childhood education, early childhood special education, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech and language therapy, audiology, counseling, social work, child life, education of the hearing impaired and the visually impaired, and special education.

Contact: Woodbine House, 6510 Bells Mill Road, Bethesda, MD 20817, Telephone: (800) 843-7323 E-mail: info@woodbinehouse.com Web Site: http://www.woodbinehouse.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Early intervention, Infant health

Jablonski S, ed. 2005. Dictionary of medical acronyms and abbreviations. (5th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, 523 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary lists the most frequently used acronyms and abbreviations in medicine and the health care professions.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (215) 546-7293 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-264-5.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Medicine

Osorio L, ed. 2005. English-Spanish dictionary of health related terms. (3rd ed.). Berkeley, CA: University of California, California Policy Research Center, 71 pp.

Annotation: This English-Spanish dictionary of health-related terms was developed as an instrument for health professionals and other professionals working with the Latino population in the United States. The main purpose of the dictionary is to strengthen communication between Spanish-speaking populations and the health professionals that serve them and to facilitate dialogue by reducing cultural and linguistic barriers. This third edition builds on the first two editions, and approximatly 4,000 new terms have been added since the second edition. The majority of the new terms are related to emergency and disaster preparedness. In addition to the A-Z list of words, the dictionary includes bilingual lists of general instructions that may be useful in health care settings, instructions on taking medicines, and terms related to personal data, medical history, and human anatomy. Terms are listed alphabetically by the English words.

Contact: California Policy Research Center, 1950 Addison Street #203, Berkeley, CA 94720-7410, Telephone: (510) 642-5514 Fax: (510) 642-8793 E-mail: cprc@ucop.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Cultural barriers, Dictionaries, Health, Hispanic Americans, Language barriers, Spanish language materials, Translations

2002. Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary = HarperCollins Spanish college dictionary. (4th ed.). New York, NY: HarperCollins, 1,289 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary offers coverage of business, political, and technical terms in both Spanish and English, complete treatment of Latin American usage, and indications of usage level. An additional section includes useful sentences; tips for correspondence, email and text messaging, online vocabulary, and the telephone. Additional tips are provided for translation, numbers. times, and dates, and verb tables are also included.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com $29.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-008241-0.

Keywords: Dictionaries, English language, Spanish language

Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute. 2002. Glossary of terms and acronyms. Birmingham, AL: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, 65 pp.

Annotation: This resource covers terminology related to maternal and child health in these categories: administration, finance, planning; agencies, organizations; health conditions, fields, providers, treatment; evaluation, measurement, research; legislation, regulations, publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Ryals Public Health Building, 1665 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294, Telephone: (205) 934-6426 Fax: (206) 934-8248 E-mail: alexandg@uab.edu Web Site: http://www.soph.uab.edu/mch-leadership/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Acronyms, Child health, Maternal health

Slee VN, Slee DA, Schmidt HJ. 2001. Health care terms. (4th ed.). St. Paul, MN: Tringa Press, 638 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary is intended for people within and outside of the health care industry in the United States. It includes a broad range of technical terms derived from a number of disciplines involved in health care currently. The definitions explain the meaning of the word and include an explanation of its context within the industry.

Contact: Tringa Press, 2074 Highland Parkway, St. Paul, MN 55116, Telephone: (651) 699-7184 Fax: (651) 699-0666 E-mail: dslee@tringa.com Web Site: http://www.tringa.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-889458-02-3.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Health services

2001. MediLexicon. East Sussex, United Kingdom: MediLexicon International,

Wellisch HH. 2000. Glossary of terminology in abstracting, classification, indexing, and thesaurus construction. (2nd ed.). Medford, NJ: Information Today, 70 pp.

Editors of EEI Press. 2000. E-what?: A guide to the quirks of new media style and usage. Alexandria, VA: EEI Press, 116 pp.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.