Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop a regionalized system of care for chronically ill children and their families. To achieve this goal, the project identified the needs of children with chronic illnesses and their families, developed a network of existing resources for this population, and established new resources. Activities included developing a network of parents, community providers, and health professionals; conducting education/training sessions for school and Title V personnel, parents, and health professionals; producing educational packets and training materials; and developing a computerized information and referral system for state MCH and school system staff. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147080.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Families, Networking, Play Therapy, Referrals

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health and health care professionals at all stages of professional development explore the determinants underlying health problems faced by patients and communities. It simulates a 6-step process for leading change to improve the community's health. The tool incorporates a big-picture visual with supporting materials including data cards, group dialogue exercises, and facilitator tips to identify and engage collaborators in addressing asthma, obesity, and gang violence. It also includes tips on using the materials, resources for hosting an event, a fact sheet for sharing information about the tool, and a webinar describing it's use.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (888) 880-4CDC Fax: (404) 653-0330 Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior change, Collaboration, Facilitated communication, Interpersonal violence, Learning, Obesity, Problem solving, Program improvement, Role playing, Social change, Training

Annotation: This document for schools and out-of-school-time sites describes resources and tools to help get kids moving for 10 more minutes every day. Contents include information about quality physical education in schools, active spaces, active learning, recess and play, and employee wellness. Concepts and tips for instruction and for modifying activities are included. The document is part of a public awareness campaign to create sustainable changes and increase physical activity in year-round.

Contact: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, c/o The Clinton Foundation, 1271 Avenue of the Americas, 42nd Floor, New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (888) KID-HLTH E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.healthiergeneration.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Learning, Motivation, Physical activity, Physical education, Play, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, School health

Annotation: This video series for parents and students of child development uses everyday interactions and routines to demonstrate how parents can nurture the key skills and attributes that children need as they grow. The content is presented by infant and child developmental stage (from birth to age 12 months, 12 to 24 months, and 24 to 36 months). Topics include nurturing healthy brain development from birth; temperament; forming a trusting bond; building strong, positive connections and interactions; developing skills through play, routines, and relationships; and foundations in language, literacy, thinking, and social-emotional skills.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bonding, Development stages, Early child development, Infants, Learning, Multimedia, Parenting, Parents, Play, Relationships, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This mobile application for parents provides activities to support infants' and toddlers' early learning. The activities are organized by routine (commuting, chores, bedtime and bathtime, mealtime, and shopping). Parents can search activities by age (from birth to age 18 months, 18 to 36 months, and 3 to 5 years).

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• IOS
• Android

Keywords: Infants, Learning, Mobile applications, Play, Young children

Annotation: This research brief examines the relationship between physical exercise and neighborhood characteristics among children and adolescents, using data from the 2011-2012 National Survey of Children's Health. The authors examine, in each state, the average number of days children ages 6 to 17 exercised in the past week. They also look at the frequency within each state of selected neighborhood characteristics: whether the child's neighborhood included a playground or recreation center, whether it had dilapidated housing, and whether parents felt their child was "usually" or "always" safe there. The brief also examines which of these characteristics were associated with a higher average number of days of exercise, when other factors affecting exercise frequency are taken into account.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Household safety, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Playground safety, Recreational safety

Annotation: This resource is a community-edited guide to accessible playgrounds. Contents include a searchable database containing 2,505 playgrounds in 48 states and the District of Columbia and 996 cities.

Contact: National Public Radio, 1111 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Web Site: http://www.npr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accessible facilities, Mobile applications, Physical activity, Playgrounds

Annotation: The curriculum is intended for home-visiting programs for parents of young children, community organizations, and businesses offering parenting classes, faith-based organizations, health organizations, and child care providers. The curriculum supports the development of nurturing and empathetic parent-child relationships for infants and children from birth through age 3. It focuses on child development and health, provision of care, parenting concerns, and dynamics of parent-child and family relationships. Modules address basic care, social and emotional development, cues and communication, physical and brain development, and play and stimulation. The curriculum includes handouts for parents (available in English and Spanish), unit certificates of completion for parents, and documentation records specific to each module. Curriculum training is also provided.

Contact: Great Kids Inc., 100 North 72 Avenue, Suite 200 , Wausau, WI 54401 , Telephone: 800-906-5581 Secondary Telephone: 626-345-0684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.greatkidsinc.org Contact for cost information.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Cognitive development, Communication, Curricula, Early childhood development, Families, Home visiting, Infant development, Infant health, Infant stimulation, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Physical development, Play

Annotation: This report offers guidelines for pediatricians in advocating for changes specific to the needs of each child's social and environmental context that would enhance opportunities for play. The report is based on the premise that play is essential to a child's cognitive, physical, social, and emotional well-being and that children may fail to acquire the full range of developmental assets associated with play. Topics covered include benefits of play, potential repercussions of reduced child-driven play, factors that have led to decreased free play, family considerations, and solutions. Specific advice for pediatricians, conclusions, and references are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Families, Play

Annotation: This final report describes the Community Action for Playground Safety (CAPS) Program of Children's Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, during the period August 1, 1999, through July 31, 2004. The purpose of the project was to decrease playground injuries and pedestrian-related injuries among children in the target communities. The final report, which includes an abstract, is divided into the following sections: (1) narrative final project report, (2) plans for the future, and (3) publications and products produced. The report also contains 19 appendices, including letters, lists, responses to recommendations, tables, logs, photographs, maps, and other relevant information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Columbus Children's Hospital, Center for Injury Research and Policy, 700 Children's Drive, Columbus, OH 43205-2696, Telephone: (614) 722-2000 Fax: (614) 722-2448 Web Site: http://www.injurycenter.org

Keywords: Child safety, Community programs, Final reports, MCH research, Ohio, Pedestrians, Playground safety

Annotation: This paper addresses two main questions: (1) Is there a relationship between family structure and mothering within race and ethnic groups? And (2) Does this relationship vary across groups? In particular, the paper investigates a mother's playful interaction and spanking with her 1-year-old child across five different family structures for white, black, and Hispanic mothers of Mexican descent. The paper provides background, discusses the data and methodology, and offers results and a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper. The paper also includes references.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Hispanic Americans, Infants, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parents, Play, Racial factors, Research, Whites

Annotation: This book discusses how children and youth may react to traumatic experiences, how to recognize when children are affected by traumatic experiences such as divorce, death, and crisis and how to help children heal after such experiences. The author recounts many related stories and recommends games, play-based exercises, rituals, and other activities to help children express and resolve their emotions. The book explores the roles of the family, school, and community in healing children that suffer emotional injury.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communication skills, Emotional trauma, Grief, Mental health, Parent child relations, Play therapy, Resource materials, Youth

Annotation: The purpose of this research update is to provide guidance for state child care agencies as they think about revising their state child care regulations. The document provides information on 13 indicators of quality child care: (1) child abuse, (2) immunization, (3) staff child ratio and group size, (4) staff qualifications (2 indicators), (5) staff training, (6) supervision and discipline, (7) fire drills, (8) medication, (9) emergency plan and contact, (10) outdoor playground, (11) toxic substances, and (12) handwashing and diapering. The document also offers a conclusion and contains a list of references. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Contact Fax: xxx Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child care centers, Diapering, Discipline, Emergencies, Fire prevention, Handwashing, Immunization, Medicine, Playgrounds, Regulations, State agencies, Supervision, Training

Annotation: This information package includes an essay on school safety, a fact sheet on injuries occurring at school, vignettes of circumstances surrounding such injuries, examples of state agencies addressing school injuries, and an annotated bibliography on the topic. The essay, School Safety: Getting All the Facts, was previously issued in "CSNotes" in September 1994. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Contact Phone: (617) 969-7100, ext. 2207 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL047 .

Keywords: Child safety, Injuries, Injury prevention, Playground injuries, School safety, Schools

Annotation: The purpose of this manual and videotape is to improve the quality of behavioral observations in the primary care office for examination of specific social, communicative, and play behaviors to assist in the identification of children through 3 years of age with suspect autism or other pervasive developmental disorders. The manual and accompanying videotape contain a methodology and scoring form, completed scoring forms for two patients, and blank scoring forms. The recommended procedure is to first review the methodology and scoring form and then watch the videotape. Further information on the diagnosis, evaluation, and management of children with autism from this project can be found in Chapter 8 of "Community Consultants in the Care of Children with Special Health Care Needs" (Nickel, 1997). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Play

Annotation: This packet of information is intended to assist the home visitor and the parent through the first 12 months of life. A set of fact sheets for the parent and a guideline sheet for the worker are organized by each month of development. Fact sheets include the following: activities sheets; parenting tips; and what to look for and what to expect developmentally. The curriculum guidelines for each month include information about what to do on each visit for all clients and for priority one clients; handouts to give to parents; and screening or checks on the baby for that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Contact Phone: (214) 654-4502 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Contact E-mail: [email protected]

Keywords: Child development, Child health services, Developmental screening, Growth monitoring, Health screening, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Physical development, Play

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in September 1996 which focused on injury prevention in the District of Columbia's public schools and was aimed at providing research information to help communities, schools, and families decrease the frequency of childhood injury on school property. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin) provides an introduction and background on some of the key components of childhood injury prevention, discusses four major injury areas in DC schools (lead poisoning, transportation/pedestrian, fire, and playground), presents policy options, and lists local and national organizations working in the injury prevention field. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Background Briefing Report

Keywords: District of Columbia, Fire prevention, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning, Playground injuries, Prevention programs, Risk prevention, School safety

Annotation: This book suggests learning activities parents and child care providers can use with children; it is organized to supplement activities seen on the daily episodes of the television program, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, " hosted by Fred Rogers. The introduction suggests several ways to effectively use the book, describes the importance of creative learning in children's growth and development, and discusses adapting the activities for children with special health needs. Each activity summarizes the plot of the daily episode, lists the objectives, lists materials needed, and provides instructions for the activity. Other materials available from the publisher include a catalog; a program description of the Mister Rogers' Neighborhood Child Care Partnership; and a sample issue of the newsletter, "Around the Neighborhood." Other products include pamphlets and books from the "Let's Talk About It series;" these include a book on adoption, and pamphlets on topics such as talking with families about discipline, divorce, creativity, pets, child care, moving, dental visits, starting school, children's trips to the hospital, and about talking with young children about death. Another series of books for children is called "First Experiences;" topics include going to day care, the doctor, the dentist, and toilet training.

Contact: Family Communications, 4802 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, Telephone: (412) 687-2990 Fax: (412) 687-1226 Web Site: http://www.fci.org/ $17.95 plus $5.00 shipping and handling for book; prepayment required for orders under $50.00; make checks payable to Family Communications. Prices and shipping costs for other items vary, contact publisher. Document Number: ISBN 1-885950-004.

Keywords: Catalogs, Child care workers, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Learning activities, Materials for children, Materials for parents, Newsletters, Parents, Play, Program descriptions, Resource materials

Annotation: These hearings contain testimony given before the committee by Margaret Dunkle, the Director of the Policy Exchange, Institute for Educational Leadership. In her testimony, she had the committee members engage in role playing; they were asked to imagine that they were members of a low income family applying for support from federal, state, and local programs. The process highlighted areas where the eligibility criteria for the programs can be complementary or contradictory to one another and pointed out situations where program revisions could be made to improve the delivery of services.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-047125-7.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Congressional hearings, Federal programs, Financial support, Low income groups, Program improvement, Role playing, State programs