Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist state and local efforts to support immigrant children from birth through the elementary grades and promote educational equity and opportunity for all children. Contents include a glossary and background; legal guidelines; tips for early learning programs, elementary schools, and educators; and information about education and supportive service programs and resources. The second section of the guide is a handbook for parents on topics such as why quality early learning matters, tips on immunizations, information about civil rights and program eligibility, tips for addressing barriers, and opportunities for parents and guardians.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, Washington, DC Telephone: (202) 401-0831 Secondary Telephone: (202) 401-7888 E-mail: opepd.ppss@ed.gov Web Site: https://ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• English

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Civil rights, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Elementary schools, Eligibility, Equal opportunities, Guardianship, Immigrants, Learning, Legal issues, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: rachels@wihtinreachwa.org Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents, teachers, and students deal with bullying directed toward children with special health care needs. The toolkit comprises a set of resources to help users confront bullying from many angles, including talking to children, being aware of one's rights, and teaching tolerance in schools. Resources are divided into separate sections for parents, students, and teachers.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: contactus@autismspeaks.org Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bullying, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Human rights, Parent child relations, Prevention, Resource materials, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This report analyzes how disability law and policy in the United States apply to parents with disabilities in the child welfare and family law systems. It provides a comprehensive review of the barriers and facilitators that people with intellectual, developmental, psychiatric, sensory, and/or physical disabilities experience when exercising their right to create and maintain families. It examines the pervasive and systemic discrimination against parents with disabilities and the disparate treatment that parents with disabilities and their children receive. Included are chapters that focus on parental disability and child welfare in the Native American community; custody and visitation in the family law system; and the lack of adequate adaptive services, equipment, and parental guidance in child welfare and family courts. The report also looks at support systems for parents with disabilities; promising practices to prevent the unnecessary removal and loss of children; and the need for legislation to ensure the rights of parents with disabilities and their families An examination of the impediments that prospective parents with disabilities encounter when adopting or accessing assisted reproductive technologies is also provided. The goal of this report is to advance understanding and promote the rights of parents with disabilities and their children.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: ncd@ncd.gov Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Analysis, Disabilities, Legislation, Parent rights, Parents with special health care needs, Policy analysis, Reports, Reproductive rights

Annotation: These guidelines, which are intended as a resource tool for Minnesota families with a child who is deaf or has hearing loss, contain information about hearing, hearing loss, and medical and educational interventions; child development; tips for parents; definitions; and resources. The guidelines provide information about connecting with other families of children with hearing loss, understanding clinical procedures and health professionals' roles, choosing communication methods, understanding and finding services, locating financial assistance and insurance coverage, accessing educational services, understanding parents' and children's rights, and finding support systems and programs. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Division of Community and Family Health, MN Telephone: (651) 201-3589 E-mail: health.cfhcommunications@state.mn.us Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/cfh Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Children, Children', Communication, Deafness, Educational programs, Families, Family support programs, Guidelines, Health care services, Health insurance, Hearing disorders, Intervention, Parent rights, s rights

Annotation: This book is a comprehensive history of child care policy and practices in the United States from the colonial period to the present. It shows how child care policy in the United States was shaped by changing theories of child development and early childhood education, attitudes toward maternal employment, and conceptions of the proper roles of low-income and minority women.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-300-05951-5.

Keywords: Child care, Child care policy, Child development, Early childhood education, History, Low income groups, Minority groups, Parent rights, Working mothers

Annotation: This book addresses child advocacy as a process that seeks to champion the right of all children and to make every child's needs known and met. The text is directed at analyzing the alienation of children from supportive environments that are vital to children's psychological and social development. Advocacy is viewed as a process that seeks to champion the rights of all children and to make every child's needs known and met. The contents include a discussion of the emergence of child advocacy at the national level, child advocacy as the National Institute of Mental Health's highest priority, the 1971 White House Conference on Children, advocacy models in North Carolina, a definition of child advocacy in the 1990s, the ecological theory of advocacy, the advocacy needs of children, the purpose of advocacy, proactive advocacy, a case study of advocacy, university and community collaboration, a parent training approach, a child advocacy commission model, developing local advocacy councils, advocacy in the treatment and education of adjudicated children, and delivery of services through boards for children in trouble.

Contact: Carolina Academic Press, 700 Kent Street, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: 919-489-7486 Fax: (919) 493-5668 E-mail: cap@cap-press.com Web Site: http://www.cap-press.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89089-959-2.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Children', Collaboration, Communities, Conferences, High risk children, History, Local MCH programs, National Institute of Mental Health, North Carolina, Parent education, Universities, s rights

Annotation: This report focuses on the issues of custody and visitation, which affect the children of divorced, separated, or unmarried parents. The report gives information on demographic, economic, judicial, and community factors on parental, and custody issues. Sections of the report give information on how the commission framed the issues, recommendations on reshaping the courts, and empowering the family through the community. Appendices include the voting record for the report, biographies of the commissioners, commission staff and acknowledgments, commissioners' statements, commission meetings, sample parenting plans, mandatory mediation programs, and community based organizations.

Keywords: Child custody, Child support, Divorce, Legal processes, Mediation, Parent rights

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Grandparents, Legislation, Low income groups, MCH services, Parent rights, Paternity, State plans

Annotation: This report of the U.S. Commission on Interstate Child Support presents recommendations to Congress on improvements to the interstate establishment and enforcement of child support awards and represents a comprehensive national blueprint for reform. Some of the topics covered in the report include: 1) the current plight of single-parent households, 2) the child support system's current response, 3) the main elements of the Commission's reform, 4) staffing and training, case tracking, enforcement, and collection and distribution, and 5) the role of the federal and state government in child support. Accompanying appendices provide letter and minority reports from Commission members, suggested legislative language, and the text of the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-038102-9.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child support, Government role, Legislation, Parent rights, Reform

Annotation: This manual, directed to an audience of people who provide care for parents with mental retardation, is designed to provide an overview of the way the Wisconsin juvenile court works, as controlled in part by the Children's Code of the Wisconsin statutes. The manual presents basic procedures, terminology, and principles involved in juvenile court actions to make it easier to work with court-related staff and to understand how court actions can affect a family. The manual discusses the temporary custody stage, the jurisdictional and dispositional stages, and post-dispositional procedures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities, 201 West Washington Avenue, Suite 110, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (888) 332-1677 Secondary Telephone: (608) 266-7826 Fax: (608) 267-3906 E-mail: help@wcdd.org Web Site: http://www.wcdd.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Court decisions, Courts, Developmental disabilities, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Wisconsin

Annotation: This book discusses maternity and the working woman, historical notes on maternity policies in the United States, employee and employer perspectives on maternity leave benefits, state and federal provisions for benefits, maternity policies in private industry, and trends and issues in maternity policies.

Contact: Columbia University Press, 61 West 62nd Street, New York, NY 10023, Telephone: (212) 459-0600 ext. 7129 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-8648 Fax: (212) 459-3678 Web Site: http://www.columbia.edu/cu/cup/

Keywords: Employee benefits, History, Parent rights, Personnel, Pregnancy, United States, Working women