Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This guide describes, step-by-step, how to make funeral arrangements for an infant who has died. It explains where to begin; describes the choices of cremation or burial, and discusses the various ways that grieving parents can make arrangements that will have special meaning to the family while also allowing others the opportunity to say goodbye. The guide includes lined pages where families are invited to write down their plans for the funeral.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support services, Funerals, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death

Annotation: This brochure is designed for coroners or medical examiners to give to families of an infant or a young child who has died suddenly. It outlines the roles of the professionals that may be involved in investigating the death, gives time estimates for the investigation process, and lists national resources. It can be used for all manners of sudden pediatric deaths. A sample of this brochure is available online; agencies can order a customized version that includes their local information. It is available in three versions: coroner only, medical examiner only, and coroner/medical examiner combined.

Contact: Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood Foundation, 549 Pompton Avenue, Suite 197, Cedar Grove, NJ 07009, Telephone: (800) 620-SUDC Secondary Telephone: (973) 239-4849 Fax: (973) 559-6191 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sudc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coroners, Death scene investigation, Infants, Medical examiners, Role, Sudden death, Young children

Annotation: This web page presents a chart of "do and don't" tips for placing baby safely to sleep. Topics include placing baby on their back, alone in a crib with a firm mattress and a fitted sheet, room-sharing, breastfeeding, using a pacifier, and keeping immunizations up-to-date.

Contact: Charlie's Kids Foundation, c/o Pegasus Transportation, P.O. Box 1571, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1571, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://charlieskids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This report describes the landscape of infant mortality in Minnesota, addressing prematurity and birth defects, racial and ethnic disparities, racial justice, and statewide strategic planning to addresses health inequities and improve birth outcomes. A discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on infant mortality is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Prenatal influences, Racial factors, Risk factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the year 2018, conducted by the Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Statistics on the timing, causes, and contributing factors are presented for deaths that occurred during pregnancy, or within one year of the end of pregnancy. Pregnancy-associated deaths according to race/ethnicity, insurance type, and age are also delineated. Background information on the Review Committee's work, definitions of key terms, and recommendations to help lower the rate of maternal mortality in Arkansas are included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health , Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee, Little Rock , AR E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-maternal-mortality-review-committee

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides background information on the Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, introduces processes that have been created to operationalize the committee, and presents key findings from case reviews performed in 2020. Based on the data analysis and review, the report includes Committee recommendations on action steps to help eliminate preventable pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths in Oregon.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This data brief examines severe maternal morbidity in the United States, which affects approximately 50,000-60,000 women annually. It describes the scope and severity of maternal health complications before, during, and after childbirth, highlighting stark racial and socioeconomic disparities. The brief discusses different definitions and measurement approaches for severe maternal morbidity, common indicators and conditions, risk factors, and implications for health care costs and postpartum health. It also provides recommendations for improving maternal health outcomes and measurement, including expanding insurance coverage and adopting more comprehensive, culturally appropriate care models.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data , Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth

Annotation: This report includes the findings of the Minnesota Department of Health’s Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC) on birthing people who died during or within one year after the end of a pregnancy in 2017-2018. The review includes statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths based on race/ethnicity, cause of death, location of death, and pregnancy timing/status (death before, during, or after birth). Based on the data analysis and review, recommendations on action steps that can help prevent maternal mortality are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Women & Infant Health Unit, 625 Robert Street North, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: 651-201-3650 Fax: (651) 201-3590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This document describes the value of interviewing childbearing parents/families after the death of an infant, challenges, and steps in the process, including the parental interviewer; locating and contacting families; confidentiality, consent, and ethical considerations; conducting the interview; alternative methods; bereavement support and resources, and self-care. Appendices include sample position descriptions for interviewers, protocols, handouts and forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death review, Infant death review committees, Interviews, Manuals

Annotation: This resource contains a collection of social media posts and graphics that can be used to raise awareness about Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and safe-sleep related deaths so that more babies reach year one. They include brief messages that can be posted to Twitter and graphics that can be copied and posted on various social media channels.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, SIDS: Sleep position, Social media

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the years 2015-2017 conducted by the Connecticut Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Background information on the state's population, including income and racial disparities, are provided, together with statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths. The data is presented by race, insurance type, cause of death, and other variables. Sections on mental health, substance use, and intimate partner violence are included. The report concludes with the Review Committee's recommendations on action that can be taken to help prevent pregnancy-related deaths in Connecticut.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This annual report from Indiana Maternal Mortality Review Committee describes the state of maternal mortality in Indiana, including the social factors associated with poor maternal health outcomes. Based on a review of all pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths that occurred in the state in 2018, the report presents maternal mortality statistics based on the cause of death, race/ethnicity, insurance status, and other variables and contributing factors. Based on the data analysis and review, Committee recommendations on ways to help reduce the rate of preventable maternal deaths are included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This chapter examines Medicaid's role in providing maternity care and improving maternal health outcomes in the United States. It describes concerning trends in maternal mortality and morbidity, including racial and ethnic disparities. The chapter provides an overview of Medicaid eligibility and benefits for pregnant women, noting that Medicaid financed over 40% of U.S. births in 2018. It details state and federal efforts to improve maternal care and outcomes through Medicaid, including policies around eligibility, education and outreach, covered benefits, care delivery models, and payment initiatives. The chapter concludes by outlining areas for future Commission work on this topic, such as value-based purchasing and postpartum coverage.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

• Link

Keywords: Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth, Medicaid