Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (139 total).

Perrin J. n.d.. Home Care for Chronically Ill Children: Policy Analysis [Final report]. Boston, MA: Massachusetts General Hospital, Wang Ambulatory Care Center, 171 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2024. User's guide for the implementation of the oral health core clinical competencies. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 50 pp.

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Health Outreach Partners. 2024. Health equity starter kit . Oakland, CA: Health Outreach Partners,

Annotation: This starter kit contains resources to help health centers better understand health equity as a broad framework to explain and address structural factors, social determinants of health, and health disparities. The kit includes a collection of innovative strategies, as well as examples of data and measures to track and evaluate health equity efforts. A 13-minute video offers an overview of the starter kit as well as tips for easily navigating through the available tools and resources.

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community organizations, Health equity, Models, Outreach, Social determinants of health

Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health. 2024. Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health (RoMoNOH): Data dictionary. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 28 pp.

Annotation: This data dictionary specifies elements required for data collection, analysis and reporting by the community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health project (RoMoNOH). RoMoNOH focuses on primary prevention of dental caries in infants and children from birth to age 40 months and pregnant women who are receiving health care in participating community health centers (CHCs) throughout Arizona, Colorado, Montana, and Wyoming.

Excel Document

Keywords: Community health centers, Data analysis, Data collection, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Young children

Russinof H. 2023. Arizona: Environmental scan results 2023. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Arizona. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Russinof H. 2023. Colorado: Environmental scan results 2023. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Colorado. The chartbook presents information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Russinof H. 2023. Montana: Environmental scan results 2023. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in Montana. It provides information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Russinof H. 2023. Wyoming: Environmental scan results 2023. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Wyoming. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information, Wyoming

2023. User's guide for implementation of on-the-job dental assistant training programs in community health centers. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 18 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Link

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2023. Integration of oral health and primary care practice in community health centers: Readiness assessment. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 5 pp.

Annotation: This assessment provides information for community health centers (CHCs) to help them determine their readiness for integrating oral health care and primary care. The assessment poses questions for CHC staff to answer and score. Questions relate to leadership vision and support, an integrated executive team, team member buy-in, champions, co-location, quality improvement, and integrated electronic health records. A scoring guide is included.

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2022. Teledentistry in community health centers: Planning checklist and readiness assessment. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 9 pp.

Annotation: This checklist and readiness assessment provides information to help community health centers determine whether teledentistry is an appropriate strategy for their center to implement and to assist in planning its implementation. It discusses leadership vision and support, infrastructure, policies, and protocols to review in evaluating whether to add teledentistry as a service.

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health services, Oral health, Teledentistry

Kumar N, Muñiz MA. 2022. What we have learned from community health workers throughout the pandemic: Recommendations for policymakers. Washington, DC: Families USA, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Keywords: , COVID-19, Community health centers, Community health workers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration. 2022. Community health worker and care coordination: Best practices. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report presents best practices from community health centers that have implemented innovative care-coordination strategies for medical and dental integration. It provides an introduction to The Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, and discusses patient outreach, appointment making, data collection, and integration activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community health workers , Data collection, Oral health, Outreach, School age children, Service integration

Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration. 2022. Community health workers for integrated care coordination . Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 2 pp. (Health center oral health program promising practice)

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Crescent Community Health Center (CHC) in Iowa has implemented a care-coordination effort using community health workers as a part of the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, which supports the efforts of community health centers in Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Ohio to increase access to oral health care among children. The brief describes the CHC’s goals, activities, and accomplishments; offers background about the CHC; and discusses its plans for expansion. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Iowa, Oral health, Service integration, State programs

HealthEfficient, and Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2022. District of Columbia: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, District of Columbia, Fluoride, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

HealthEfficient, and Maryland Dental Action Coalition. 2022. Maryland: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Maryland participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Maryland, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

HealthEfficient, and Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2022. New York: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in New York participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care; oral health scope of practice, licensing, and medical setting rules; teledentistry; fluoride varnish; community water fluoridation; and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, New York, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

HealthEfficient, and Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2022. Virginia: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying opportunities to integrate oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Virginia participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include oral health care in Virginia, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry, Virginia

Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health . 2022. Brush, book, bed patient engagement activity assessments . Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 1 survey (10 pp.), 1 baseline and follow-up survey set (13 pp.).

Annotation: The Provider and Staff Survey (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-provider-and-staff-survey.pdf>) and the Tiny Teeth Baseline and Followup Surveys (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-tiny-teeth-baseline-and-follow-up-surveys.pdf >) are intended for use with medical providers and staff at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net, as well as for parents or caregivers of CHC participants. The survey for providers and staff is to be administered after they have participated in the Brush, Book, Bed patient-engagement activity, to assess their perspective on the activity. The Tiny Teeth baseline and follow-up surveys are to be completed by parents or caregivers as part of the activity. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Regional programs, Community health centers, Infant health, Learning activities, Oral health, Surveys, Young children

Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration. 2022. Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration (MNOHI): Instructions for accessing the MNOHI training modules. [Lansing, MI]: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, 1 p.

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training