Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in Montana. It provides information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This videorecording documents a multi-state roundtable discussion on telehealth applications for individuals with hearing impairments, drawing participation from 31 states and territories. The presenters—McVicar (Utah), Stone (Massachusetts), Kirschner (Montana), Culpepper (Georgia), and Messersmith (South Dakota)—share diverse perspectives on teleaudiology implementation within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, including universal newborn screening initiatives. Their presentations highlight both successes and persistent challenges: while telehealth expands access to specialized audiological services, barriers remain including geographic isolation, transportation costs, equipment accessibility, parental hesitation to engage with public health systems, and technical limitations for certain procedures like cochlear implant testing. The interactive format allowed participants to pose questions directly to presenters, and concluded with the sharing of a comprehensive resource website to support ongoing telehealth advancement for hearing-impaired populations across diverse regional contexts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Deafness, Developmental screening, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Utah, Massachusetts, Montana, Family support services, Georgia, South Dakota, Staff development

Annotation: This data brief provides information about health care for pregnant women and new mothers in Montana during the period 2017–2019. It explains what the Montana Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is, discusses the importance of oral health care for this population, and presents fast facts. In addition, it provides statistical information related to teeth cleanings during pregnancy and to PRAMS indicators.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, 1400 Broadway, Helena, MT 59620-0901, Telephone: (406) 444-4542 Fax: (406) 444-2606 Web Site: http://dphhs.mt.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Infant health, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report provides an overview of oral diseases and risk factors in Montana. It includes information about the prevalence of tooth decay, tooth loss, and oral cancer in the state. Also discussed are risk and protective factors related to oral disease, the oral health workforce, access to and use of oral health care, community-based dental clinics, and oral-health-related emergency department visits. Recommendations for improving oral health in Montana are included.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 111 North Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-5622 Web Site: https://dphhs.mt.gov/ecfsd/oralhealth/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Montana, Oral health, State materials

Annotation: This video recording aims to explore comprehensive telehealth applications in maternal and child healthcare, particularly focusing on four key telehealth modalities and their potential to enhance care delivery. The content examines how various states have implemented telehealth solutions for both provider training and improving behavioral health services for maternal and child populations. Through comparative analysis of traditional care versus telehealth approaches and discussion of adoption factors, the presentation demonstrates practical strategies for state and territorial health agencies to effectively leverage telehealth technology in improving behavioral health outcomes for mothers and children.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Substance abuse, Maternal health, Infant health, Mental health, Staff development, Case studies, Substance abusing mothers, Montana, Connecticut, New Hampshire, South Carolina,

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the successes, challenges, and lessons learned from the CDC's Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) state systems grant program spanning eight years (2011-2019). Administered by the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs in partnership with the Association of University Centers on Disabilities, the program funded 34 states to strengthen early identification and coordination of services for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The document outlines three key impact areas: formalizing developmental monitoring as a priority, activating stakeholders and strengthening partnerships, and increasing awareness among caregivers and providers. Through state-specific case studies and survey data from grantees, the brief demonstrates how even modest funding ($10,000-$20,000 per state) led to sustainable system improvements, innovative cross-sector collaborations, and enhanced capacity to monitor development and connect families to early intervention services. The brief also addresses implementation challenges and emphasizes the critical role of relationship-building and family engagement in sustaining these efforts beyond the grant period.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Grants, Case studies, Nebraska, Mississippi, Virginia, Montana, Oklahoma, California, New Mexico, Massachusetts

Annotation: This Affordable Care Act (ACA) toolkit provides resources related to outreach, eligibility, and enrollment; training tools for navigators, field offices, and other policy workers; and other documents regarding the implementation of the Affordable Care Act in Montana. It is intended primarily for internal use by the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Enrollment, Montana, Outreach, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State initiatives

Annotation: This document describes a statewide initiative to address the physical well-being and language development domains of school readiness by providing oral health education and outreach to young children and their families residing in Montana communities. Topics include results from a community-based survey to assess parents' perceptions, attitudes, and opinions about oral health. Additional topics include how the results are being used, what parents and caregivers can do to ensure good oral health for children, tips on toothbrushing, and a list of Montana resources.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 111 North Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-5622 Web Site: https://dphhs.mt.gov/ecfsd/oralhealth/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Families, Health education, Montana, Oral health, Outreach, School readiness, Statewide planning, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the Montana ACA [Affordable Care Act] Home Visiting Program. The report provides background on home visiting in the state and discusses the inventory of information and data available for a needs assessment, gaps in available data, state capacity to compile data and anticipated obstacles, barriers to and opportunities for coordination of home visiting needs assessments with other needs assessments, the state approach to conducting a needs assessment, and the anticipated need for technical assistance. A statement of intent is also included.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Home visiting, Montana, Needs assessment, Program coordination, State programs, Statistical data, Technical assistance

Annotation: This report provides information about the 2010 Montana maternal and child health (MCH) needs assessment. Topics include the process for conducting the needs assessment, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of the MCH population and desired outcomes, MCH program capacity by pyramid levels, selection of state priority needs, and federal and state outcome measures.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Family and Community Health Bureau, Cogswell Building, Room C-314, 1400 Broadway, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-0276 Fax: (406) 444-2606 Web Site: http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fch/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Montana, Needs assessment, Outcome evaluation, State surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This document is designed to help oral health professionals implement recommendations for treating tobacco use and dependence. Topics include perceived barriers to tobacco use treatment; a brief intervention; medications, coding, billing, and reimbursement; patient-education materials; and organizational resources.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, 1400 Broadway, Helena, MT 59620-0901, Telephone: (406) 444-4542 Fax: (406) 444-2606 Web Site: http://dphhs.mt.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Disease prevention, Intervention, Model programs, Montana, Oral health, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Follow the Child project, which integrates foster children in Missoula County, Montana, into existing public health systems for preventive health care, including home visits, and and sets up consultations with foster parents and social workers. Contents include a description of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Final reports, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Health care systems, Montana, Prevention, Service Integration

Annotation: These resources, which are designed for health professionals, oral health professionals, and families provide information and training related to oral health during the perinatal period and in early childhood. Topics include Montana's Access to Baby and Child Dentistry program, the goals of which are to establish a dental home and provide preventive services to children at highest risk for oral disease; caries risk assessment; fluoride (fluoridation map, prescription guidelines, water testing, fluoride-varnish application) and perinatal and infant oral health (PowerPoint presentation and clinical guidelines). Training slides and a calendar are included.

Contact: Bright Smiles Montana, P.O. Box 1154, Helena, MT 59264, Telephone: (406) 443-2061 Secondary Telephone: (800) 257-4988 Fax: (406) 443-1546 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.BrightSmilesMontana.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Fluorides, Montana, Oral health, Perinatal health, Program descriptions, State programs, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the efforts Montana has made to address the rate of children's utilization of oral health services in the state and makes recommendations on actions that the state can take to increase these rates. Contents include background on the evaluation process; the scope of the review; an introduction to the state's oral health services for children; and review descriptions, concerns, and recommendations and responses.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Montana, Oral health, State surveys

Annotation: This final report summarizes Montana's efforts to improve and stabilize the state oral health system, assess children's oral health needs, and ensure a comprehensive system of oral health care with funding from the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems grant program for the period September 1, 2003, to August 31, 2007. Project accomplishments and challenges pertaining to the Montana dental summits, Oral Health Alliance, and oral health plan are discussed. Additional topics include the Early Head Start and Head Start oral health forum, legislative activities, the School Oral Health Assessment Report of Findings, the Make Your Smile Count screening project, initiating and sustaining a medical and dental collaborative, an oral health media campaign, the Miles for Healthy Smiles program, a school-based fluoride mouthrinse program, Basic Screening Surveys, a survey of dental hygienists and dental assistants, and Give Kids a Smile Day. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Report (no Attachments)

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Final reports, Montana, Needs assessment, Oral health, Program descriptions, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This brief examines home visiting as a strategy employed by state health agencies to deliver public health interventions aimed at improving birth outcomes. It provides an overview of home visiting programs; a discussion of goals, target populations, common service components, outcomes, and financing of state level programs; and examples of programs from four states and one territory. Additional topics include benefits and costs and program challenges. Resources and references conclude the brief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Early intervention, Georgia, Home care services, Home visiting, MCH research, Maine, Montana, Oklahoma, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcomes, Prenatal care, Public health services, Puerto Rico, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report describes Montana's maternal and child health needs assessment for 2000-2005. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) needs assessment process, (2) demographics, (3) stakeholder survey, (4) maternal and infant health, (5) child and adolescent health, (6) children and youth with special health care needs, (7) programs and activities, (8) summary, and (9) maternal and child health data resources, Montana 2000-2005. The report includes eight appendices that provide annual estimates of the population by sex and age, Montana Primary Care Health Professional Shortage Areas and Dental Health Professional Shortage Areas, surveys, and Early Childhood Comprehensive System (ECCS) internal and external environmental scans.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Family and Community Health Bureau, Cogswell Building, Room C-314, 1400 Broadway, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-0276 Fax: (406) 444-2606 Web Site: http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/publichealth/fch/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Infant health, Montana, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper describes state experience with enrollment caps in State Children's Health Insurance Programs (SCHIPs). It includes an overview; a description of federal requirements; a description of state policies and procedures for the following states: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, and Utah; a discussion of challenges and considerations for states; and a conclusion.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Colorado, Enrollment, Florida, Montana, North Carolina, State children', Utah, s health insurance programs

Annotation: This action plan, created at the oral health forum held on January 23, 2004, in Helena, Montana, describes topical areas, recommendations, and resources needed to improve access to oral health services and enhance prevention and education for Montana's Head Start children. Report contents include an overview of previous oral health meetings and priorities, planning for the meeting, forum proceedings, workgroup discussion topics, and an outline of outcomes and priorities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, Early Head Start, Head Start, Montana, Oral health, Program descriptions, State programs, Strategic plans, Young children

Annotation: This publication provides guidelines for teachers, principals, and other educators and school trustees in developing policies and procedures in addressing AIDS and HIV issues among staff, students, parents, and the community in Montana. Section topics include education, rights and accommodations, and worksite safety. Discussion topics include the role of public health and medical communities in assessing the risk of transmission of various communicable diseases to determine how best to protect the health of both students and staff, privacy rights, the role of the school nurse, parental notification, physical or special examinations, rights and accommodations of staff, reporting suspected or confirmed cases of communicable disease, employment issues, and prevention of disease transmission. A brief list of resources is available.

Contact: Montana Office of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 202501, Helena, MT 59620-2501, Telephone: (406) 444-3095 Secondary Telephone: (888) 231-9393 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://opi.mt.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Confidentiality, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, HIV, Health policy, Montana, Occupational safety and health, Policy development, School age children, School health education, School nurses, School personnel, State initiatives