Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (26 total).

Glassman P, Sanchez AM. 2023. Teledentistry regulation and policy guidance: A toolkit for dental boards, policymakers, providers, and oral health care advocates for promoting access and quality care through teledentistry. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 10 pp. (Advocacy toolkit)

Annotation: This toolkit focuses on how teledentistry can be used to maintain oral health and improve access to oral health care. It is intended for for dental boards, policymakers, health professionals, and advocates. The toolkit provides background information and discusses technology and practice and payment as they relate to teledentistry. A note for policymakers is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Public policy, Reimbursement, Teledentistry

Glassman P, Kattlove J. 2023. Improving oral health in Idaho: Using teledentistry and virtual dental homes. Boise, ID: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, 13 pp. (White paper)

Annotation: This white paper discusses access to oral health care in Idaho, explains what teledentistry is and its benefits, summarizes how it has been used in Idaho through the Project to Address Oral Health Access and Workforce, and describes conditions needed for successful adoption of teledentistry. Also discussed are consequences of poor access to oral health care and advancing teledentistry in the state.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Health care access, Idaho, Oral health, State information, Teledentistry

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2022. Teledentistry in community health centers: Planning checklist and readiness assessment. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 9 pp.

Annotation: This checklist and readiness assessment provides information to help community health centers determine whether teledentistry is an appropriate strategy for their center to implement and to assist in planning its implementation. It discusses leadership vision and support, infrastructure, policies, and protocols to review in evaluating whether to add teledentistry as a service.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health services, Oral health, Teledentistry

Phipps KR. 2022. Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Oral Health Safety Network: Environmental scan 2021-2022 chartbook. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 45 pp.

Annotation: This set of chartbooks contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The chartbooks present data related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement,dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. They also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data-collection tool. The set includes one chartbook for the 11 states and Washington, DC, and chartbooks for the three NOHI projects: Midwest Network for Oral Health Intregration (MNOHI): Environmental Scan 2021–2022 Chartbook, Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health Intregration (ROMONOH): Environmental Scan 2021–2022 Chartbook, and Transforming Oral Health for Famlies (TOHF): Environmental Scan 2021–2022 Chartbook, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Phipps KR. 2022. Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration (MNOHI): Environmental scan 2021-2022 chartbook. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 45 pp.

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The chartbook presents data for one of the three NOHI projects, the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement,dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Phipps KR. 2022. Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health (RoMoNOH): Environmental scan 2021-2022 chartbook. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 26 pp.

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The chartbook presents data for one of the three NOHI projects, the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement,dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

Phipps KR. 2022. Transforming Oral Health for Families (TOHF): Environmental scan 2021-2022 chartbook. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 30 pp.

Annotation: The chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for pregnant women, infants, and children at high risk for oral disease in 11 states and Washington, DC, as part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net, an initiative funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau related to scope of practice for medical and dental providers, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. It also presents information about the NOHI projects and the environmental scan data collection tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Dental hygienists, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Teledentistry

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2022. Using teledentistry to improve prenatal care. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 2 pp. (Health center oral health program promising practice)

Annotation: This paper describes a teledentistry program at the University of California, Irvine, Family Health Center, to improve prenatal care. It discusses how the center is implementing the use of teledentistry, how the process works, and considerations for other centers interested in implementing a teledentistry program.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: California, Health programs, Oral health, State programs, Teledentistry

HealthEfficient, and Maryland Dental Action Coalition. 2022. Maryland: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Maryland participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Maryland, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

HealthEfficient, and Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2022. New York: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in New York participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care; oral health scope of practice, licensing, and medical setting rules; teledentistry; fluoride varnish; community water fluoridation; and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, New York, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

HealthEfficient, and Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2022. Virginia: Oral health environmental scan 2021. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, Transforming Oral Health for Families, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying opportunities to integrate oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Virginia participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include oral health care in Virginia, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry, Virginia

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2021. Teledentistry: What to know and how it works. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about teledentistry. It explains what telehealth and teledentistry are, and discusses the increasing use of teledentistry across the country since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Statistical information is provided on the percentage of dentists using telehealth and the percentage planning to use it in the near future, services provided via telehealth or another virtual platform, telehealth modalities, and patients’ attitudes toward teledentistry. Snapshots about how telehealth is being used in several states are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Kanan C, Boynes S, Ohrenberger K, Bayham M, Mathews R, Apostolon D, McLeod C, Tranby EP, Thakkar M, Raskin SE, Machado K. 2021. A learning community that aims to change oral health. Boston, MA: Carequest Institute for Oral Health, 12 pp. (Impact report)

Annotation: This report describes a learning community whose goal is to strategize about solutions to emerging COVID 19 pandemic–related problems. The report discusses implementing a three-domain framework designed to increase efficiency and boost patient outcomes, adapting to practice interruption with teledentistry, emphasizing minimally invasive care, coaching the change experience, and opportunities for oral health transformation. Guidelines for implementing a new level of infection control are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2021. Teledentistry user guide. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 32 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of teledentistry and how it is being used in community health center (CHCs) oral health programs. It discusses the increased use of teledentistry during the COVID-19 pandemic and provides tools for implementing teledentistry. Promising practices from the field are described, and a summary of federal and state policies related to teledentistry is included. The guide also presents an introduction to the National Network for Oral Health Access’s Teledentistry Learning Collaborative, which is composed of 11 CHC oral health programs across the United States.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Policy, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

CavityFree SF. 2021. Oral health education videos. San Francisco, CA: CavityFree SF, 1 website.

Annotation: This series of videos provides information on how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, what happens during a dental visit, and how to navigate teledentistry visits. Topics include how to take photos of a child’s teeth, how to apply fluoride varnish at home, how to brush teeth, what to do when a child has a loose tooth, fluoride varnish, tooth extraction, and fillings. The videos are available in Chinese, English, and Spanish.

Contact: CavityFree SF, 30 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 210, San Francisco, CA 94102, Telephone: (415) 575-5706 E-mail: hellop@cavityfreesf Web Site: http://www.cavityfreesf.org

Link

Keywords: Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Teledentistry, Videos

Roth E, Hanlon C. 2021. Nevada pilots innovative program to increase access to preventive oral care for children. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about a pilot program in Nevada in which parents apply fluoride varnish to their children’s teeth under virtual supervision from a licensed oral health professional using teledentistry. The purpose of the program is to prevent oral disease in children during the COVID-19 pandemic. The report presents an overview of the program, describes program services and the types of oral health professionals involved, and discusses early lessons and recent activity.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Fluoride, Infectious diseases, Nevada, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, State programs, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2021. Best practice approach: Teledentistry--Opportunities for expanding the capacity and reach of the oral healthcare system. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 16 pp. (Best practice approaches for state, community, and territorial oral health programs)

Annotation: This report discusses the role of teledentistry in reducing barriers that communities and populations face when seeking oral health care. It is intended to serve as a framework for states and territories to use in identifying opportunities and strategies for how to incorporate teledentistry into their oral-health-delivery systems. Topics include background and rationale, guidelines and recommendations, best practice criteria, and state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health care systems, Oral health, Service integration, Teledentistry

American Dental Education Association. 2021. Comparison of state statutes and regulations that address requirements and permissible practices for teledentistry conducted by oral health practitioners. Washington, DC: American Dental Education Association, 7 pp.

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement. 2020. Fast-track to teledentistry: Removing barriers to care while maximizing overall health. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 19 pp. (White paper)

Annotation: This paper provides information on the benefits of teledentistry and how to make it more accessible. It discusses the impact of not receiving oral health care, new uses of and approaches to teledentistry, potential savings for states from increasing the use of teledentistry, and the promise of teledentistry. What states can do to make it easier for health systems, hospitals, and safety net clinics to adopt teledentistry initiatives is also discussed, including expanding the workforce, updating reimbursement policies, enhancing legal clarity, and making it easier for health professionals to share patient information.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Initiatives, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Teledentistry

California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine. 2020. Using teledentistry to maintain services and contact with patients during the time of COVID-19 physical distancing. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 7 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about using teledentistry during the COVID‐19 pandemic. Topics include the impact of physical distancing, system considerations, components of a care system, workflow, and optimizing in-person visits. The guide also discusses the advantages of an “all-in one” teledentistry system containing multiple components that are linked and integrated (e.g., registration, consent, schedule, messaging, live video).

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID‐19, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, Teledentistry, Telemedicine