Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (40 total).

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health. 2023. Missouri oral health care: Report of COVID-19 impact on workforce. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a survey of federally qualified health care centers on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the oral health workforce in Missouri. The survey includes questions on staffing issues and appointment wait times. Information on dentists, dental assistants, and dental hygienists is presented, and action steps to address the problem of an insufficient oral health workforce in the state are offered.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, MIssouri, Oral health, Service delivery, State materials, Surveys, Virus diseases

Scott-Jeffries J, Ikhile O. 2023. The tragic truth: Children's oral health declines in NC post-COVID. Raleigh,NC: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the state of North Carolina kindergarteners’ oral health following the COVID-19 pandemic. The fact sheet includes background on the issue and presents statistical information in figures on the increased incidence of untreated tooth decay and less-treated tooth decay and on the decreased incidence of never experiencing tooth decay in this population. Also included is information on efforts the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Section, is making to reverse these trends.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Dental caries, Kindergarten, North Carolina, Oral health, State information, Trends

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. 2022. Science: Advancing oral health for all—NIDCR strategic plan 2021–2026. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, 43 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan presents the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research’s (NIDCR’s) plans to pursue its mission of seeking fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and applying that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability. Topics include COVID-19 and lessons learned; NIDCR’s statutory authority and brief history; office of the director; intramural research program; extramural research program; equity, diversity, and inclusion at NIDCR and the National Institutes of Health; strategic plan; strategic priorities; outcome assessment; and predictions.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Cultural diversity, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Research, Strategic plans, Virus diseases

Kumar N, Muñiz MA. 2022. What we have learned from community health workers throughout the pandemic: Recommendations for policymakers. Washington, DC: Families USA, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health centers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

Community Catalyst. 2022. Communities care about oral health. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief offers information about community members’ attitudes in several states about oral health. It discusses how important it is to community members to get a dental check-up, compared with a medical check-up; how important it is to parents that their child has good oral health; and how institutional and structural factors limit community members’ access to clear information about oral health. Also discussed are community members’ understanding of the importance of oral health to overall health and how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted their attitudes about getting oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Attitudes, COVID-19, Communities, Disease transmission, Health information, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Underserved communities, Virus diseases

Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council. 2022. 2023-2028 Texas state health plan. Austin, TX: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, 79 pp.

Annotation: This plan focuses on how different factors affect health equity in Texas. The plan contains four sections that examine which population groups are more likely to have poor access to health care, including oral health care. The sections look at the challenges faced by those living in rural areas of the state, mental and behavioral health and the ability of the state’s behavioral health care workforce to address these issues, and the role that telehealth can play in addressing health disparities. Additionally, each section considers how COVID-19 has impacted health care in Texas.

Contact: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Department of State Health Services, P.O Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Web Site: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/chs/shcc/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Mental health, Oral health, Oral health equity, Rural health, State information, Strategic plans, Texas, Virus diseases

National Network for Oral Health Access. [2021]. The role of dental providers in vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the role that oral health professionals can play in COVID-19 vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. It discusses the state policy landscape as it relates to oral health professionals administering COVID-19 vaccines, vaccine-delivery strategies developed by health center oral health programs, policy recommendations to increase the role of oral health professionals as vaccinators, and vaccine-specific policy recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention. 2021. Best practices for infection control in dental clinics during the COVID-19 pandemic. Annapolis, MD: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, 26 pp.

Annotation: These best practices are a compilation of regulations, guidance, and practice tips related to infection control in dental clinics during the COVID-19 pandemic. Part I discusses preparing the dental clinic before patient appointments. Part 2 discusses delivering safe patient care. Selected topics included policies and procedures, dental team preparation and screening, dental operatory procedures for patient care, personal protective equipment, and infection control. A checklist for preparing the dental clinic for patients and staff is included.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Guidelines, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Regulations, Virus diseases

Haber J, Hartnett E, Cipollina J. 2021. COVID-19: Oral health resource kit—Faculty resources for integrating oral-systemic health in curricula. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice Program, 25 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit includes COVID 19–related oral health teaching resources for health professions faculty to use in classroom, simulation, and clinical settings. Resources include a case study of individuals across the life span with oral health issues related to the COVID-19 pandemic, a fact sheet about caring for teeth during the pandemic, a fact sheet about addressing problems with braces during the pandemic, a reference list of peer-reviewed articles and open-source publications that highlight the links between oral health and COVID-19, and a slide deck for integrating a COVID-19 oral-systemic health perspective into presentations.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , COVID-19, Disease transmission, Educational materials, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Orthodontics, Virus diseases

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2021. The COVID-19 pandemic deepens oral health inequities. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, (Communication brief)

Annotation: This brief highlights way in which the COVID-19 pandemic has accentuated oral health inequities. It discusses racial disparities in COVID-19 infections, hospitalizations, and deaths; persisting oral health disparities; and factors that contribute to having unmet oral health care needs. Other topics include the impact of racism and discrimination on oral health care use, the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on oral health professionals of color and those serving underserved communities, and the importance of addressing inequities in oral health to achieve lasting change.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Racial factors, Virus diseases

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2021. Teledentistry: What to know and how it works. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about teledentistry. It explains what telehealth and teledentistry are, and discusses the increasing use of teledentistry across the country since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Statistical information is provided on the percentage of dentists using telehealth and the percentage planning to use it in the near future, services provided via telehealth or another virtual platform, telehealth modalities, and patients’ attitudes toward teledentistry. Snapshots about how telehealth is being used in several states are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

National Association of Community Health Centers. 2021. Community health centers' telehealth promising practices: Case studies from the COVID-19 pandemic. Bethesda, MD: National Association of Community Health Centers, 58 pp.

Annotation: This report describes case studies that highlight community health centers’ promising practices and lessons learned through the process of successfully adopting or expanding telehealth services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The case studies include both rural and urban community health centers, and they cover several different types of telehealth programs, including primary care, behavioral health, oral health, chronic disease management, home health, dietetics, paramedicine, and school-based clinics. The case studies illustrate how each community health center responded to a similar set of challenges.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Case studies, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Telemedicine, Virus diseases

MHP Salud, CSH, and the National Health Care for the Homeless Council. 2021. Community health worker/peer workforce: Recruiting and hiring for social determinants of health screening--Best practices guide and findings from COVID-19 pandemic. New York, NY: CSH, 29 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses best practices in (1) recruiting and hiring community health workers (CHWs) and peers for the communities they are serving and providing them with professional development opportunities, (2) integrating CHWs and peers into health centers, and (3) retaining CHWs and peers. The guide also discusses the value of CHWs and peers and screening for social determinants of health. Findings from health center workforce focus groups are presented, and practical considerations related to the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed. A case study is included.

Contact: CSH, 61 Broadway, Suite 2300, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 986-2966 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.csh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Health screening, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Virus diseases

Kanan C, Boynes S, Ohrenberger K, Bayham M, Mathews R, Apostolon D, McLeod C, Tranby EP, Thakkar M, Raskin SE, Machado K. 2021. A learning community that aims to change oral health. Boston, MA: Carequest Institute for Oral Health, 12 pp. (Impact report)

Annotation: This report describes a learning community whose goal is to strategize about solutions to emerging COVID 19 pandemic–related problems. The report discusses implementing a three-domain framework designed to increase efficiency and boost patient outcomes, adapting to practice interruption with teledentistry, emphasizing minimally invasive care, coaching the change experience, and opportunities for oral health transformation. Guidelines for implementing a new level of infection control are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety. 2021. Toothbrushing in Head Start programs during the COVID-19 pandemic. Washington, DC: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents best practices for toothbrushing in Head Start programs during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information on brushing specific to infants from age 6 months to 1 year, toddlers (ages 1–2), and young children (ages 3–5). Topics include vaccination requirements for staff, amount of toothpaste to use, toothbrush storage, and how to avoid disease transmission.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Head Start, Infant health, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Virus diseases, Young children

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2021. Teledentistry user guide. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 32 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of teledentistry and how it is being used in community health center (CHCs) oral health programs. It discusses the increased use of teledentistry during the COVID-19 pandemic and provides tools for implementing teledentistry. Promising practices from the field are described, and a summary of federal and state policies related to teledentistry is included. The guide also presents an introduction to the National Network for Oral Health Access’s Teledentistry Learning Collaborative, which is composed of 11 CHC oral health programs across the United States.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Policy, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Roth E, Hanlon C. 2021. Nevada pilots innovative program to increase access to preventive oral care for children. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about a pilot program in Nevada in which parents apply fluoride varnish to their children’s teeth under virtual supervision from a licensed oral health professional using teledentistry. The purpose of the program is to prevent oral disease in children during the COVID-19 pandemic. The report presents an overview of the program, describes program services and the types of oral health professionals involved, and discusses early lessons and recent activity.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Fluoride, Infectious diseases, Nevada, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, State programs, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Higgins E, Chhean E, Wilkness S, Tewarson H. 2021. Lessons for advancing and sustaining state community health worker partnerships. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 9 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

DeSalvo K, Hughes B, Bassett M, Benjamin G, Fraser M, Galea S, Garcia N, Howard J. 2021. Public health COVID-19 impact assessment: Lessons learned and compelling needs. Washington, DC: National Academy of Medicine, 29 pp. (Discussion paper)

Annotation: This discussion paper seeks to examine the public health sector's experience during COVID-19, exploring how legacy systems and policies shaped the sector's capacity to respond, highlighting health departments' key contributions and challenges during the pandemic, and identifying priority areas and policy considerations to enable the health care sector to be better prepared to meet population health needs in the 21st century.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Virus diseases

American Dental Association. 2020. Interim mask and face shield guidelines. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 1 p.

Annotation: These guidelines for oral health professionals provide information about using masks and face shields while treating patients during the COVID-19 pandemic. Information about risk of infection is provided, and the guidelines discuss three mask types—N95, N95 equivalent, and surgical.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Safety, Virus diseases
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.