Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on careers in dentistry. It discusses the following types of oral health professionals: allied dental educator, dental assistant, dental laboratory technician, dental hygienist, and dentist. For each, a description of what the oral health professional does and their average salary is presented.

Contact: Realityworks, 2709 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701, Telephone: (800) 830-1416 Secondary Telephone: (715) 830-2040 Web Site: https://www.realityworks.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentistry, Dentists, Dentists, Health educators, Laboratories, Medical technicians, Oral health, Salaries

Annotation: This report provides an overview of how the collective work of six health work force research centers has contributed to a better understanding of critical health work force challenges. The report describes the establishment of the centers, the evolving health work force configuration, job growth and career paths in middle- and low-skill health occupations, and work force strategies to increase access to quality health care. Topics include the effect of system-level transformations on team roles and human resources, emerging occupations, expanded roles, supply and demand, training needs, career pathways, team models and staffing arrangements, the role of technology in improving access to health care, and the relationship between training location and other factors influencing supply and utilization.

Contact: George Washington University, Health Workforce Institute, 2176 K Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: http://www.gwhwi.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Pdf Version

Keywords: Access to health care, Careers, Educational change, Evolution, Health occupations, Models, Policy development, Professional education, Professional training, Quality assurance, Research, Role, Teamwork, Technology, Work force

Annotation: This paper provides information on how health centers can partner with academic institutions or dental residency programs to offer service learning programs at health centers and thereby foster interest in health center careers among future health professionals. The paper explores different collaboration models and provides suggestions about issues for health centers to consider when deciding whether to launch service learning programs. Topics include the benefits of partnership, educational models, planning considerations, successful partnerships, challenges, and recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Collaboration, Community health centers, Internship and residency, Model programs, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Public private partnerships, Work force

Annotation: This book is geared toward helping students, instructors, and professionals in rehabilitation programs define, plan, facilitate, and support transition for young people with disabilities into adulthood and independent living. The book is divided into three major sections: (1) defining and planning transition, (2) facilitating and supporting transition, and (3) designing and implementing individualized transition plans. Topics also include secondary school restructuring, college and other postsecondary alternatives, assistive technology to enhance transition and work, and recent legislative acts in the field. Each chapter contains a list of learning objectives, a conclusion, and study questions. Figures and tables throughout the book provide statistical data, sample forms and checklists, and additional information to illustrate needs and capabilities. Appendices are provided with selected chapters. References and an index conclude the book

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-476-5.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Assistive devices, Brain injuries, Careers, Children with special health care needs, Cognition disorders, College bound students, College students, Emotional instability, Families, High school students, Parent participation, Postsecondary education, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Vocational education

Annotation: This publication, which is geared toward adolescent girls, provides health information presented in a reader-friendly manner. Topics covered include (1) taking care of your reproductive health, (2) taking care of a beautiful you, inside and out, (3) feeling good about yourself, (4) taking charge of your world, and (5) planning your future. A glossary is included.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Bullying, Careers, Consumer education materials, Families, Menstruation, Nutrition, Peer pressure, Physical activity, Reproductive health, Safety, Self-esteem, Sexually transmitted infections, Stress, Substance abuse

Annotation: This paper assesses how access to oral contraception among young unmarried women affected the number of children born to these women as well as the women's maternal characteristics (educational attainment, marital status, and type of career). The authors then examine how children's differing circumstances that result from women's access to oral contraception relate to changes in the women's short- and long-term fertility behavior. Finally, the authors consider whether increased availablity of oral contraception led to fewer abortions among young women. The paper, which includes an abstract, introduces the issue, provides a brief history of oral contraceptives; discusses oral contraception and maternal characteristics, the effects of oral contraception on fertility and abortion; and offers conclusions. Endnotes and references are included. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Access to care, Careers, Contraception, Educational attainment, Marital status, Research, Single mothers, Statistical data, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This report provides information about a meeting convened in Bethesda, Maryland, on September 9-10, 2004, in recognition of the need to develop a cooperative plan to enhance human genetics education in classrooms, disseminate information, and generate interest among students in careers in human genetics and related fields. The report discusses differing perspectives on human genetics and genetics community resources. A brief summary of the meeting discussion is included, along with a table outlining what geneticists can do for students in different grades.

Contact: American Society of Human Genetics, 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-7300 Secondary Telephone: (866) HUM-GENE Fax: (301) 634-7079 Web Site: http://www.ashg.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Elementary school, Geneticists, Genetics education, High school students, Middle school, School-age children

Annotation: This report discusses the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development's (NICHD's) efforts to bridge the health disparities gap. The report discusses NICHD's health disparities plan as well as NICHD's unique perspectives in health disparities for the following areas: infant and maternal mortality and morbidity; reproductive health; HIV/AIDS -- targeting women and teens; early antecedents of disparities in disease and growth; early antecedents of child well-being and adverse behaviors; school readiness; cognitive and behavioral development; restoring function and preventing disability; training and career development; and outreach to communities and their institutions. For each area, the report presents facts, information on current outreach, and future goals/objectives. The report includes a roster of advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Careers, Child behavior, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Communities, Early childhood development, Early intervention, HIV infection, Infant health, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Minority groups, Outreach, Reproductive health, School readiness, Training

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Annotation: This report presents information on two inter-related topics: physician education in women's health and women in the physician work force. The first section surveys women's health needs, societal changes, current access, changes needed in medical education, and gender biases and inequalities in research. This section also considers changes that would improve the care of women in the future and examines factors affecting physicians' competencies in women's health. The second section of the report reviews women's current involvement in the medical profession and suggests ways to increase their participation. The report, submitted to the Secretary of the U.S. Department and Health and Human Services and to Congress, recommends changes in public policies affecting these topics.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Contact Phone: (301) 443-6190 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Careers, Gender bias, Health status, Medical education, Physicians, Policy development, Professional education, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper presents a record of states' uses of the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) for training and career development. It provides an overview of the projects funded, the states that have pushed CCDBG development and training projects forward, and some further recommendations to states and the federal government.

Contact: Wheelock College, Institute for Leadership and Career Initiatives, 200 The Riverway, Boston, MA 02215, Telephone: (617) 879-2299 Fax: (617) 879-2407 E-mail: ccd.wheelock.edu

Keywords: Block grants, Careers, Child care workers, Federal grants, Financing, Professional education, Professional training

Annotation: This teaching guide consists of a short course curriculum/group activity that is designed to teach adolescents to explore lifestyle goals, career choices, non-traditional career choices, and the financial impact of having a baby. All the basic information and materials required are provided, and the guide includes both pre and post discussion questions.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Adolescent health, Careers, Curricula, Lifestyle, Training materials, Work family issues

Annotation: This paper synthesizes currently available information about shortages among the professions working with young children with disabilities, birth through age five, and their families and explores various approaches and some of the challenges to quantifying shortages. It begins with a look at national data on personnel working in early intervention and preschool special education today. The paper then turns to current shortages in some key professions and what the future is likely to hold for them. The paper closes with a discussion of possible responses to the problem and data related to these responses.

Contact: Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, Campus Box 8040, UNC-CH, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8040, Telephone: (919) 962-2001 Secondary Telephone: (919) 843-3269 Fax: 919.966.7463 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ectacenter.org/ Available from the website. Document Number: HS-91-01-1001.

• PDF

Keywords: Careers, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention programs, Preschool children, Professional personnel, Professional training

Annotation: This report recommends legislative proposals to increase the number of physicians practicing general medicine in order to meet the public's health care needs in the 21st century. It identifies shortage areas and suggests reforms to modify the workforce including those that help finance graduate medical education, improve minority representation, and promote more general practitioners in the profession. It reviews current trends to determine deficiencies in the supply of doctors, considers the impact of adopting the Council's goals and recommendations, reviews options that are available to achieve the goals, and suggests legislative actions to achieve them.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Contact Phone: (301) 443-6326 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to care, Careers, Family physicians, Financing, Graduate education, Health services, Internship and residency, Medical education, Medical students, Minority groups, Physicians, Policy development, Public health, Work force

Annotation: This report details the findings of a study of the policies that determine the qualifications and training available to those who care for and teach young children not yet in school and school age children in programs before and after school. Topics covered include the timeliness of an interest in practitioner training, concepts and terms, methodology, licensing and certification, training delivery, financing, promising practices, and conclusions and recommendations. A 12-page executive summary presents the findings and recommendations of the study.

Contact: Wheelock College, Institute for Leadership and Career Initiatives, 200 The Riverway, Boston, MA 02215, Telephone: (617) 879-2299 Contact Phone: (617) 734-5200 ext. 211 Fax: (617) 879-2407 E-mail: ccd.wheelock.edu Available in libraries.

Keywords: Careers, Child care workers, Early childhood education, School age child care, State policy, Training

Annotation: This paper discusses why it is critical to have a career development system in early child care and education, what the key characteristics and components of a progressive system are, and what the steps to develop and implement such a system are.

Contact: Wheelock College, Institute for Leadership and Career Initiatives, 200 The Riverway, Boston, MA 02215, Telephone: (617) 879-2299 Fax: (617) 879-2407 E-mail: ccd.wheelock.edu $3.00 (includes handling); make check payable to Wheelock College.

Keywords: Careers, Child care, Early childhood education, Training

Annotation: This personalized workbook was developed for adolescent females ages 14–20 years and focuses on human development. It contains exercises to help adolescents determine both their goals and realistic plans for reaching them.

Contact: Girls Incorporated, 120 Wall Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10005-3902, Telephone: (212) 509-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-4475 Fax: (212) 509-8708-1253 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.girlsinc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Careers, Life skills, Self esteem, Social development

Annotation: This personalized workbook was developed for adolescent males ages 14–20 years old and focuses on human development. It contains exercises to help adolescents determine both their goals and realistic plans for reaching them.

Contact: Girls Incorporated, 120 Wall Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10005-3902, Telephone: (212) 509-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-4475 Fax: (212) 509-8708-1253 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.girlsinc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent males, Careers, Life skills, Self esteem, Social development

Annotation: This report describes a strategy designed to employee indigenous nonprofessionals to help meet the manpower and programmatic needs of community action and community mental health programs serving low income people. The report explains how these workers can help bridge the gap between professionals and the individuals they serve and discusses the types of jobs available, the training involved, and the dynamic between professional and nonprofessional workers.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Community health aides, Indigenous outreach workers, Paraprofessional personnel