Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucchd@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: info@knowyourteeth.com Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help health professionals address the unique health care needs of adolescents and young adult males (AYAs) ages 10 to 26. Contents include a checklist covering nine health domains; client interview questions and supporting materials for each domain including background information, practice tools, and references; and a video library containing presentations for continuing medical education and client education. Topics include healthy eating and physical activity, sexual and reproductive health, trauma, mental health, developmental disorders, sexual biologic basics, normal pubertal concerns and genital abnormalities, and labs and immunizations. A tutorial is also available.

Contact: Partnership for Male Youth, 900 Second Street, N.E., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20002, E-mail: barbour@partnershipformaleyouth.org Web Site: http://www.partnershipformaleyouth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescent males, Comprehensive health care, Continuing medical education, Evidence based health care, Health examinations, Immunizations, Interviews, Medical history taking, Men', Screening, Young adults, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips to help parents of adolescents with special health care needs support their sons' and daughters' transition into adulthood.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents with special health care needs, Parenting, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of surveillance data on prevalence of tooth decay in primary and permanent teeth, tooth retention, and edentulism. An editorial comment is included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Public health, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Annotation: This Q&A-style fact sheet for parents and caregivers explains the importance of annual adolescent well visits for youth ages 11-21, distinguishing them from sports physicals. It describes what occurs during well visits, including physical examinations, behavioral health screenings, preventive health guidance, and immunizations, while emphasizing how these visits help young people develop healthcare management skills and improve family communication about health issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: nahic@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary care, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides information about Medicaid coverage for specific groups as of December 2023. It includes the 2023 Rubric for Assessing Extensiveness of State Medicaid Adult Dental Benefits, which assesses coverage within eight service categories, by state. Also included is a map showing states offering Medicaid dental coverage to certain groups of beneficiaries that differs from coverage offered to other adult beneficiaries ages 21–64, along with a breakdown of which states offer specific types of coverage.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Health insurance, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This website provides science-based guidance to help Americans ages 6 and older improve their health through appropriate physical activity. Includes are tips on how to stay active, community resources, dietary guidelines, campaign materials, news updates. and guidelines on the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to children, adolescents, and adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Contact E-mail: 2019 guidelines Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• 2019 Guidelines (2nd Edition)

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, National initiatives, Older adults, Physical activity, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This website includes information for families about changes that occur when a child with a disability or with special health care needs becomes a legal adult. Teaching your child how to navigate the health care system and encouraging them to become actively involved in their medical care are among the topics explored in video and e-publication formats.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Teen Health Site

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education, School to work transitions, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This paper provides recommendations for health professionals that represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics and Bright Futures about the periodicity of health services for infants, children, and adolescents. The recommendations emphasize the importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision, including oral health supervision, and the need to avoid fragmentation of care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comprehensive health care, Health supervision, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Young adults

Annotation: This report uses Youth Risk Behavior Survey data from 2009 to 2019 to focus on four priority areas associated with sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV, and unintended pregnancy: sexual behavior, high-risk substance use, experiencing violence, and mental health and suicide. It updates a previous report covering 2007-2017. The resource also includes trends fact sheets and infographics.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, National surveys, Risk taking, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel adolescents and young adults about human papillomavirus (HPV). It includes general information about HPV and approaches to use when talking with patients ages 11–13 and patients ages 14 and older. Suggested information to share with patients as well as followup activities are included.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Counseling, Oral health, Papillomavirus, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel children, adolescents, and young adults about tobacco use. It includes information about smoking and vaping. It also presents ideas for providing tobacco-use-related screening, guidance, and treatment appropriate for patients of different ages, beginning at age 5.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cigarettes, Counseling, Oral health, Screening, Smoking, Tobacco use, Treatment, Young adults

Annotation: This online resource for health professionals provides tools intended to promote the value of the well-visit to parents of adolescents and young adults. Downloadable materials include a fact sheet, infographics, and a cover letter that introduces the promotional materials and provides distribution strategies to engage parents via school-based health centers, state Medicaid agency, etc.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Families, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Provider participation, Young adults

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: mfoley@medicaiddental.org Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Annotation: This brief presents national findings on young adults' mental health status and utilization of mental health care; summarizes the developmental factors important for positive mental health; highlights strategies for evidence-based mental health promotion and treatment; and offers guidance on how to build public awareness and engagement around mental health detection and treatment.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Health promotion, Mental health, Statistical data, Young adults