Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book discusses child brain and behavior development during pregnancy and the first six years. It is divided into four parts covering life in the womb and birth; the first year; the second year; and years three to six. Topics include brain development in the womb; birth; exploring; comfort and communications; regions of the brain; motor, language, play, and daily life milestones; discovery; toddlers and temperament; gaining competence; living together; and paths to personality. The book also provides ten guideposts for parents, a glossary, references, and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07639-0.

Keywords: Behavior development, Brain, Child behavior, Child development, Infant development, Learning, Motor development, Personality development, Prenatal development, Speech development

Annotation: This book focuses on five personality traits that children frequently display and suggests parenting styles to deal with them. The book explains that parents may not be the causal factor of their child's behavior but that they can react to the child's behavior in a constructive way. It reviews recent theories about child development, and then it discusses the following behavior traits: the highly sensitive child, the self-absorbed child, the defiant child, the inattentive child, and the active/aggressive child. The book also considers environmental and dietary influences; indicates how to identify each personality trait; and describes how parents can meet the challenge of having a difficult child.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 822-6339 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-201-62647-0.

Keywords: Behavior problems, Children, Parent child relations, Parenting, Parenting skills, Personality traits

Annotation: This reprint contains papers and abstracts focusing on various issues in women's mental health. The papers were originally prepared for a symposium at the American Psychiatric Association's annual meeting in San Francisco, May 25, 1993. The papers focus on gender differences as a contributing factor to other conditions such as: the effect of gender differences on the incidence and prevalence of mental disorders, on the biological and psychosocial factors, on treatment, and on the cause of those differences; on the relations between gender and personality development and psychopathology; on women and depression; on panic disorders and women; and on eating disorders.

Keywords: Conferences, Depression, Eating disorders, Gender bias, Mental disorders, Mental health, Panic disorder, Personality development, Sex role, Treatment, Women

Annotation: This book describes the phases of emotional development which children experience from age 5 through 12 as they move away from emotional dependence on families. The author describes three phases. The first phase is when children's lives are centered on themselves and their families; the second phase is characterized as playground politics where other children play a role; and the third phase focuses on the development of an internal identity separate from family and friends.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 822-6339 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Behavior, Child health, Child psychology, Emotional development, Personality development, Psychosocial development

Annotation: This reading list enumerates the readings for a course on personality and cognitive development.

Contact: Harvard University School of Public Health, Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Web Site: http://www.macfound.org/site/c.lkLXJ8MQKrH/b.951671/k.D283/Research_Networks__Human_Development_in_Chicago_Neighborhoods.htm Price unknown.

Keywords: Cognitive development, Curricula, Personality, Professional education

Annotation: This report describes how the Alaskan Youth Initiative works with troubled children in a community setting, using a case manager, psychotherapists, psychiatrists, foster homes, and other residential settings, and involving the parents and school personnel so that the young person has individualized, continuing acceptance and attention to his needs. Several case studies illustrate the problems the child had, often being in and out of mental hospitals, and continued to have as the AYI workers struggled to set up a system to meet his needs, then the gradual progress, including what worked and what didn't.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: childrensmh@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html $7.00 includes shipping and handling.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Alaska, Case management, Case studies, Child mental health, Child welfare, Community based services, Foster care, Interagency cooperation, Personality disorders, Psychoses, Service coordination, Service delivery

Annotation: This book provides a systematic framework for the clinical assessment, treatment, and prevention of emotional and developmental problems in infants and young children. The first chapter describes the six developmental levels that affect a child's maturation. Subsequent chapters focus on taking a developmental history, utilizing the Functional Emotional Assessment Scale, and selecting the appropriate therapeutic approach. Several chapters discuss floor time activities for parents, educators, and therapists. Interactive, regulatory, and multisystem developmental disorders are discussed. Appendices include discussions of speech pathology, occupational therapy, and ego development as well as a list of available assessment tools and a guide to establishing clinical infant and child development programs.

Contact: International Universities Press, Inc., 59 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443, Telephone: (203) 245-4000 Fax: (203) 245-0775 E-mail: info@iup.com Web Site: http://www.iup.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8236-2633-4.

Keywords: Assessment, Assessment tools, Case studies, Child development, Child health, Child psychology, Children with special health care needs, Developmental psychology, Developmental stages, Early intervention, Ego development, Emotional development, Infant development, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Mental health, Occupational therapy, Personality development, Program development, Psychotherapy, Speech tests

Annotation: This research monograph, written for teachers, administrators, parents and policy makers, provides a broad framework for understanding self-esteem and its role in self-development of children. The authors discuss how young children, from infancy through the primary years, develop a sense of self-value and how parents and educators, can help promote young children's self-esteem development in the home and classroom. The monograph includes a summary and implications for policy and research.

Contact: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health, Cognitive development, Development, Infant health, Infants, Kindergarten, Personality, Preschool children, Self esteem, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This book offers an approach to professional, business, and personal relationships based on the character building effects of seven principles and habits of behavior and thought. The underlying principles address theses topics: personal vision, personal leadership, personal management, interpersonal leadership, empathic communication, creative cooperation, of balanced self renewal. The habits are: be proactive, begin with the end in mind, put first things first, think win/win, seek first to understand, then to be understood, synergize, and sharpen the saw. Two appendices offer information on perception of others, and time management for a business day.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 223-2336 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ $24.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-671-66398-4.

Keywords: Character, Personality development, Problem solving, Social values, Teamwork, Time management

Annotation: This document discusses the classification of chronically emotionally disturbed children who need innovative, flexible child-centered and family-centered long-term community care. It estimates the size of this population. It discusses the services available, and the need for a continuum of care and interagency cooperation to maintain the child in the least restrictive environment, with support and therapeutic services overseen by a case manager. The aim is for the child to function in the home, community and school. Finally the paper discusses how these goals fit into the Child and Adolescent System Services Program of the National Institute of Mental Health as administered by the states.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: childrensmh@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html $4.00 includes shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: Affective disorders, Case management, Community care, Family centered care, Interagency cooperation, Personality disorders, Residential programs, State mental health agencies, State programs

Annotation: This is the first book of a three part series which focuses on studying and understanding the process of human development across the lifespan through a psychoanalytic developmental psychology perspective. According to the editors, each infant, child, adolescent, adult, and aged person is characterized by distinct biological capacities, psychological tendencies, and social interests that are interactive and cumulative, forming a complex matrix that constitutes a unique personality. This volume covers the period from infancy to early childhood.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child psychology, Infant health, Mental health, Personality development

Annotation: This is the third book of a three part series which focuses on studying and understanding the process of human development across the lifespan through a psychoanalytic developmental psychology perspective. According to the editors, each infant, child, adolescent, adult, and aged person is characterized by distinct biological capacities, psychological tendencies, and social interests that are interactive and cumulative, forming a complex matrix that constitutes a unique personality. This volume covers adulthood.

Keywords: Mental health, Personality development, Psychology, Women', s health

Annotation: This study is a broad-based assessment of psychosocial deprivation undertaken to ascertain extent of the problem, to identity gaps in knowledge and understanding, and to determine the implications of the findings for research policy and social action programs. The topics studied were psychosocial deprivation and personality development; influences of biological, psychological and social deprivations upon learning and performance; socialization and social structure; biological substrates of development and behavior; and research policy for psychosocial deprivation.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Learning, Personality development, Psychology, Psychosocial development, Research, Social change, Socialization

Annotation: This book is a study of child training and personality intended to serve as a detailed case study of collective education in an Israeli kibbutz to provide an understanding of the socialization system that characterizes the kibbutz movement. The second aim of this study is to test the predictive value of ontogenetic culture and personality theory by attempting to related selected personality characteristics of the sabras of the kibbutz to selected aspects of its socialization system. The study has both descriptive and theoretical aims.

Keywords: Child development, Israel, Personality development, Socialization

Annotation: This book describes personality and social development during the first five years of life and describes and discusses some of the typical problems that emerge with each developmental stage. Topics include mental health, infant development, child rearing practices, helping children build a conscience and overcome fears, and sex education.

Keywords: Child development, Personality development, Psychosocial development, Young children

Annotation: These two volumes report two institutes; one held in 1958, and one held in 1959. The first volume discusses concepts of pediatric nursing care; growth and development of the fetus in utero; prenatal influences; nutrition of the mother in pregnancy and before pregnancy; emotional factors in pregnancy; characteristics of the newborn infant, full-term and premature; nutrition of the newborn and premature infant; early mother-child relationships; implications for pediatric nursing; physical growth and development of the preschool age child; personality development of the infant and young child; and developmental care and guidance of infants and young children. The second volume, for the 1959 meeting, discusses highlights of the 1958 Institute; a pediatrician's view of growth and development of infants and children; nutritional aspects of growth and development; helping parents with feeding problems of young children; emotional growth and development of the preschool child; congenital and rheumatic heart disease; mental retardation; handicapping conditions; emotional factors associated with physical disability; speech therapy; and handicapping conditions.

• V. 1 And V. 2

Keywords: Child development, Child nutrition, Children with developmental disabilities, Conferences, Congenital heart defects, Emotional development, Fetal development, Mental retardation, Mother child relations, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Pediatric nursing, Personality development, Pregnancy, Prenatal influences, Rheumatic fever, Speech therapy

Annotation: This report of the proceedings of an institute on the mental health aspects of social work discuss ingredients of personality and personality development, epidemiological ideas regarding mental health and mental ill-health, emotional implications of pregnancy, origin and development of mother-child relationships, mother-child relationships during the first year of life, consultation, the family health clinic, the role of the social worker in preventive psychiatry for mothers and children, mental health consultation in schools, the disturbance of the mother-child relationship by unsuccessful attempts at abortion, the mental hygiene role of the nurse in maternal and child care. The membership of the institute is also listed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Conferences, Epidemiology, MCH nurses, Mental health, Mother child relations, Personality, Personality development, Pregnancy, Schools, Social work, State MCH programs

Annotation: This pamphlet is a popular version of part of the Fact Finding Digest prepared for the Mid-century White House Conference on Children and Youth, Washington, D.C., 1950. That publication pulls together what is known about the way personality grows and what shapes it this way and that. This pamphlet talks about the part parents can have in helping their children achieve emotional and social health. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Conferences, Pamphlets, Personality development

Annotation: This pamphlet has been prepared for use by parent study groups with the Children's Bureau bulletin A Healthy Personality for Your Child which was a product of the Midcentury White House Conference on Children and Youth, Washington, D.C., 1950. The booklet is concerned with the point of view through which adults see the child and how parents feel about themselves. It is within this framework that the booklet presents its specific facts about child growth and suggestions for living with children. It provides suggestions for discussions for children in infancy through adolescence, suggestions for how to conduct groups, and a list of useful materials. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Pamphlets, Child development, Personality development

Annotation: This report of a fact finding group preparing for the Midcentury White House Conference discusses the making of a healthy personality in children and the implications for the conduct of social institutions including the family, church, school, health services, social services, and courts.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Conferences, Personality development, United States, Youth