Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for children and adolescents with a confirmed diagnosis of a depressive disorder. It evaluates the efficacy, comparative effectiveness, and moderators of available treatments and analyzes data from 60 studies that met the review criteria. The report is based on research conducted by the RTI International–University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) under contract to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comparative analysis , Depression, Disorders, Literature reviews, Mental health, Pharmacology, Psychotherapy, Therapeutics

Annotation: This document defines maternal "mirroring" within the context of culture, explains how it can be used to help mothers work through traumatic experiences, and examines ways that therapists can use it to foster the mother-infant relationship during the perinatal period.

Contact: National Child Traumatic Stress Network, National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress, , 905 West Main Street, Suite 25B , Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 682-1552 Secondary Telephone: (310) 235-2633 Fax: (919) 667-9578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nctsnet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Acculturation, Cultural factors, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Immigration, Latin America, Mother child relations, Perinatal health, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Pregnant women, Psychotherapy, Trauma

Annotation: This book, aimed at clinical psychologists and psychiatrists, discusses the etiology, diagnosis, and treatment of depression in children and adolescents. Chapters mention etiology, such as the effects of emotional development in infancy, life events and genetics; physiology; diagnosis; treatment, including psychopharmacology and psychotherapy; and suicidal behavior and its prevention. The final chapter covers research into the affected child's subsequent development.

Contact: Cambridge University Press, 32 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10013-2473, Telephone: 212-924-3900 Secondary Telephone: (914) 937-9600 Fax: 212-691-3239 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cambridge.org/us/ Document Number: ISBN 0-521-43326-6.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Depression, Drug therapy, Etiology, Incidence, Psychiatry, Psychological characteristics, Psychological development, Psychotherapy, Suicide

Annotation: This book describes the transtheoretical model for psychotherapy, an integrated approach to helping people modify destructive behavior patterns. Each chapter describes a stage in the process of changing behavior, and provides examples of appropriate techniques used in therapy. An appendix gives examples of current government programs employing this approach.

Contact: William Morrow and Company, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com/imprints/index.aspx?imprintid=518003 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-688-11263-3.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Health promotion, Psychotherapy

Annotation: This book explores the link between a child's response to growing up in an atmosphere of violence and danger, and the social context established for that child by community and caregivers. The children need predictable, structured, safe environments and school-based programs, by providing continuity and regularity that is lacking, can enhance children's natural resiliency and help to ease some long-term developmental consequences of living in danger, or to mitigate some of the effects of witnessing violence.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Injury prevention, Intervention, Intervention, Psychotherapy, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, School based programs, Violence, Violence prevention, Witnesses

Annotation: This book provides a systematic framework for the clinical assessment, treatment, and prevention of emotional and developmental problems in infants and young children. The first chapter describes the six developmental levels that affect a child's maturation. Subsequent chapters focus on taking a developmental history, utilizing the Functional Emotional Assessment Scale, and selecting the appropriate therapeutic approach. Several chapters discuss floor time activities for parents, educators, and therapists. Interactive, regulatory, and multisystem developmental disorders are discussed. Appendices include discussions of speech pathology, occupational therapy, and ego development as well as a list of available assessment tools and a guide to establishing clinical infant and child development programs.

Contact: International Universities Press, Inc., 59 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443, Telephone: (203) 245-4000 Fax: (203) 245-0775 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iup.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8236-2633-4.

Keywords: Assessment, Assessment tools, Case studies, Child development, Child health, Child psychology, Children with special health care needs, Developmental psychology, Developmental stages, Early intervention, Ego development, Emotional development, Infant development, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Mental health, Occupational therapy, Personality development, Program development, Psychotherapy, Speech tests

Annotation: This collection of essays provides both a comprehensive overview and a detailed analysis of treatment options for children of substance abusers. The book addresses developmental issues for young children, adolescents, and adult children of alcoholics. Individual chapters focus on genetic factors, psychoeducational therapy, codependence and narcissism, resiliency, chronic trauma disorder of childhood, and the effect of 12-step programs on current medical practice. Concluding essays discuss the policy and legal implications of such issues as mandatory genetic screening for children of substance abusers.

Keywords: Alcoholic parents, Alcoholism, Children, Children of alcoholics, Counseling, Dysfunctional families, Evaluation, Family relations, Genetic predisposition, Group therapy, High risk populations, Legal issues, Professional ethics, Protective factors, Psychotherapy, Resilience, Screening, Substance abuse, Traumatic neurosis, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This report contains several different publications resulting from a project in preventing suicide among adolescents, particularly runaways. A training manual developed for staff at runaway shelters provides guidelines for assessing suicide risk among adolescent clients. A treatment manual for psychotherapists describes the technique of cognitive behavior therapy with adolescent suicide attempters. And, an article describes the prevalence of suicide behavior among runaways and gay and bisexual male adolescents.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Adolescents, Professional education, Psychotherapy, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This is a book of case studies illustrating diagnostic and therapeutic issues and methods for infant mental health. Cases presented range from early intervention services, infant-parent psychotherapy, family therapy in a mental health day care center, psychotherapy with toddlers, and infant/mother therapy.

Keywords: Family therapy, Infants, Mental health services, Parents, Psychotherapy

Annotation: This book describes analyzing and scoring children's human figure drawings as a developmental test of mental maturity and as a projective test of children's interpersonal attitudes and concerns. Chapter topics are: (1) the human figure drawing (HFD) test, (2) developmental items on HFDs, (3)emotional indicators on HFDs, (4) clinical interpretation of children's drawings, (5) children's attitudes toward their families as reflected in HFDs, (6) psychotherapy and children's drawings, (7) brain injury and HFDs, (8) using HFDs in combination with other psychological tests, and (9) case histories.

Keywords: Art, Case studies, Children, Emotional development, Neuropsychological tests, Psychological development, Psychotherapy

Annotation: This report is written chiefly for the use of administrators and other who are considering setting up evaluative research in their agencies in the area of psychotherapy. The purpose was to see how the questions common to evaluative research in psychotherapy were dealt with, and what special problems were encountered in evaluating efforts to induce social-psychological change in individuals, particularly efforts made through the medium of interpersonal relations. By surveying the field in which research efforts have been most numerous and most varied, the Bureau hopes to derive some working principles here that can be adapted to evaluation of the services and programs in which it has the most direct interest. The survey covers the range of methods and assumptions employed for evaluating the results of efforts to bring about change in individuals without aspiring to note every variation and angle or to review every relevant example. It is a publication of the U.S. Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Evaluation, Interpersonal relations, Psychotherapy, Research