Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined the iron status of infants and young children ages 6-24 months with a prevalence of anemia of at least 10 percent and who were participating in WIC in West Virginia counties. The report, which includes an abstract and an executive summary, introduces the issue, discusses the background and methods, and provides results, a discussion, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is provided in tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Iron deficiency anemia, Low income groups, Research, Rural populations, WIC, West Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This report discusses early childhood nutrition and complications of poor nutrition in infancy and childhood, and offers recommendations for increasing public understanding and policy changes for optimal nutritional health. The report describes optimal nutrition and feeding practices in infancy and childhood, the problem of childhood obesity, the role of iron in normal health and development and the prevention of iron deficiency anemia, and the implications of early feeding practices for the development of childhood dental problems. The report also offers specific recommendations based on knowledge in each of these areas. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: info@chdi.org Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Connecticut, Early childhood development, Feeding, Infant feeding, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Infants, Iron, Iron deficiency anemia, Obesity, Oral health, State initiatives, Young Children

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to serve as a bridge between primary care and genetics. The curriculum includes modules focusing on the following eight areas: (1) breast/ovarian cancer, (2) cardiovascular disease, (3) colorectal cancer, (4) congenital hearing loss, (5) dementia, (6) developmental delay, (7) iron overload, and (8) ethical, legal, and social issues. Each module includes teaching cases with questions and discussion to illustrate genetic themes and diagnoses. Each module also includes references to key documents and useful Web sites for additional background information. An overview of the Genetics in Primary Care (GPC) program and a list of its members from 1998-2001 are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 E-mail: therrell@uthscsa.edu Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cardiovascular disease, Colon cancer, Curricula, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Iron overload diseases, Legal issues, Mental disorders, Ovarian cancer, Primary care, Professional education materials

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Annotation: The research team studied absorption of iron from carefully selected iron-fortified foods that are now commercially available or are attractive candidates for future iron fortification. Because of possible adverse interactions with zinc and copper when intakes of iron are high, and because excessive intakes of iron may favor growth of pathogenic organisms in the gastrointestinal tract, the research team determined whether iron absorption (mg/day) is appreciably greater from a formula fortified at 12 mg Fe/liter than from a similar formula fortified at 8 mg Fe/liter. The bioavailability of cereal fortified with ferrous fumarate, a promising iron salt for cereal fortification was also determined. The research team studied absorption of iron from strained beef with vegetables fortified with ferrous sulfate. Absorption of heme iron from a heme iron-fortified strained beef with vegetables was also analyzed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-191135.

Keywords: Child Nutrition, Infant Nutrition, Iron Deficiency Anemia, Iron Supplements, MCH Research, Research

Annotation: This report summarizes information related to public health measures for the prevention, detection, and management of iron deficiency anemia. It presents recommended guidelines as they apply in primary health care and public health clinic settings, and makes recommendations for research. The report identifies and addresses aspects that differ between the two target populations (infants and children, and women of childbearing age), as well as those common to both groups, and briefly considers family-oriented approaches. This report is intended to provide a frame of reference for health professionals and to assist the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with preparing guidelines for prevention and control of iron deficiency anemia.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-04987-3.

Keywords: Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition disorders

Annotation: This book introduces ten indicators with which to monitor the health of America's children. They are the infant mortality rate, low birth weight infants, births to mothers under age 15, inadequate prenatal care, inadequate immunization status, population based growth stunting iron deficiency anemia, elevated blood lead levels, child abuse or neglect, and suicide.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Immunization, Infant mortality, Iron deficiency anemia, Lead poisoning, Low birthweight infants, Maternal age, Prenatal care, Suicide, United States

Annotation: This document presents papers and a summary of discussions of the 82nd Ross Conference on Pediatric Research. Session I covered diagnostic criteria for iron deficiency; iron status in South African mothers and infants; current definitions of deficiency anemia; and prevalence of iron deficiency. Session II covered nonhematologic manifestations, including enzymatic, tissue, and biochemical changes; iron and behavior; iron and infection; and the effects of milk and iron deficiency on the gastrointestinal tract. Session III covered iron deficiency in pregnant and lactating women and in infants; nutritional iron overload; and therapeutic response to iron.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Contact Phone: (614) 227-3333 Web Site: http://www.ross.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Infant nutrition, Iron, Nutrition disorders

Annotation: This conference report addresses the incidence of iron deficiency including its causes, clinical consequences, and definition of the most useful measures in assuring iron nutrition of the infant population. A historical perspective of the problems of iron deficiency is included.

Keywords: Conferences, Infant nutrition disorders, Iron, Iron deficiency anemia, Physiology

Annotation: This bibliography is intended for physicians, nutritionists, and others concerned with applying the research findings reported in the literature on maternal nutrition. Only materials published in English are included. Materials that appeared in popular magazines have not been included. The bibliography is divided into the following sections: (1) general references and (2) references on specific topics. The specific topics covered include (1) adolescence, (2) birthweight, (3) diabetes, (4) diet, (5) folic acid, (6) iron status, (7) nutritional deficiencies, (8) physiological adjustments, (9) the role of the placenta, (10) pregravid weight and weight gain, (11) social, economic, and other variables that affect pregnancy, and (12) the toxemias.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescence, Bibliographies, Diabetes, Diet, Economic factors, Folic acid, Iron, Maternal nutrition, Nutritional status, Nutritionists, Physicians, Placenta, Pregnancy, Pregnancy toxemias, Weight gain

Annotation: The booklet defines anemia, describes its incidence, and discusses possible reasons for widespread iron-deficiency anemia. Laboratory methods of diagnosis, approaches to the problem, approaches to the problem, and recommendations for addressing the problem and the of anemia and the application of these problems are also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Iron deficiency anemia, Preschool children, Young children