Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This publication examines the history of dietary guidelines for Americans and the cultural biases that may have influenced their development. It explores the evolution of the dietary guidelines; addresses claims of racism within the guidelines; and examines whether the current guidelines are culturally appropriate and free of racial bias.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Dietary guidelines, Health equity, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This tool incorporates the President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition's Presidential Champions program and uses gamification, the application of points and achievements to non-game context, to inspire youth and adults to engage in physical activity and to monitor progress toward their own health goals. Users can determine what and how much to eat; track their food intake, physical activity, and weight; and personalize their experience by setting individual goals, journaling, and receiving virtual coaching.

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietary guidelines, Electronic journals, Food consumption, Food habits, Food preferences, Games, Goals, Health promotion, Life course, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about overweight and obesity in children and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Body weight, Child health, Children, Diet, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Health behavior, Nutrition, Obesity, Weight gain, Weight management

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist case managers in improving the nutrition, physical activity, and healthy eating practices of adolescent clients. Topics include adolescent nutrition, infant feeding, nutrition and physical activity screen, calcium, iron, folate and folic acid, fruits and vegetables, body image and disordered eating, weight management, physical activity, and vegetarianism. Contents include handouts for motivational counseling and education with adolescents.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Case management, Counseling, Dietary guidelines, Food consumption, Food habits, Health education, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Screening

Annotation: This paper focuses on the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages and the corresponding risk of poor diet quality, obesity, diet-related health problems, and poor oral health. The paper provides detailed lists of recommended beverages for the following ages ranges: ages 2–4, 5–10, 11–13, 14–18, and 19 and above. A rationale for the recommendations is provided, along with a discussion of key findings of a panel of experts.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Child health, Diet, Food consumption, Health, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Risk factors, Sugar

Annotation: This final rule updates the meal patterns and nutrition standards for the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Programs to align them with the Dietary Guidelines for Americans. This rule requires most schools to increase the availability of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and fat-free and low-fat fluid milk in school meals; reduce the levels of sodium, saturated fat and trans fat in meals; and meet the nutrition needs of school children within their calorie requirements. These improvements to the school meal programs are based on recommendations made by the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and are intended to enhance the diet and health of school children while helping to reduce the upward trend in childhood obesity.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• CFR Publication
• Regulation And Technical Assistance And Guidance Materials

Keywords: Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Obesity, Prevention services, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Standards

Annotation: This report provides data and analysis in an ongoing assessment of the U.S. population’s nutritional status by measuring blood or urine concentrations of 58 diet-and-nutrition biochemical indicators. The measurements of the 58 indicators give researchers and others information about population dietary intake or environmental exposure. Report contents include background on the study, addressing data needs, public health uses, data presented for each biochemical indicator, interpreting the data, useful sources of information about using nutrition, monitoring to interpret data, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), data analysis, and references. Biomedical indicators in this report include biochemical indicator sections, new biochemical indicators: water-soluble vitamins, vitamin B6, fat-soluble vitamins and nutrients, vitamin C, trace elements (iron indicators and iodine), fatty acids, isoflavones and lignans, iron status: transferrin receptor and body iron, acrylamide hemoglobin adducts, and acrylamide hemoglobin adducts.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dietary assessment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, National surveys, Nutrition, Population surveillance

Annotation: This book includes updated guidelines and tools for families and communities to improve the nutritional status of infants, children, and adolescents, and build a foundation for lifelong healthy eating behaviors. Contents include an introduction to promoting good nutrition and physical activity and understanding the role of culture in food choices and nutrition. Additional topics include nutrition supervision from infancy to adolescence and issues, concerns, and tools to use throughout childhood. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $54.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-554-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Cultural factors, Dietary guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This pocket guide includes updated guidelines and tools for families and communities to improve the nutritional status of infants, children, and adolescents, and build a foundation for lifelong healthy eating behaviors. Contents include an introduction to the concept of building nutrition into overall health promotion, visions and goals, and the developmental and contextual approach to Bright Futures. It also discusses nutrition supervision for infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence and provides tools on nutrition risk, strategies, positive body image tips, food safety, and an outline of federal nutrition assistance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $14.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-555-1.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dietary guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This book is a resource for those involved in the monitoring or delivery of nutrition care for children with special health care needs. It is intended to serve as a framework for developing and providing nutrition screening, assessment, and intervention as routine components of comprehensive health care for children with disabilities and chronic illnesses. The book is divided into three sections: (1) determination of nutrition status, (2) problem-based nutrition interventions, and (3) condition-specific nutrition interventions. The book includes numerous appendices, including sample screening forms, growth charts for children with a variety of different special health care needs, and other tools. New chapters included in the third edition include breastfeeding, physical acitivity, and autism spectrum disorders.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DOH Pub. No. 961-158.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dietary assessment, Forms, Growth charts, Intervention, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, Screening, Washington

Annotation: These guidelines, published every 5 years since 1980, provide authoritative advice for people ages 2 and older about how dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. The guidelines serve as the basis for federal food and nutrition education programs. The 7th edition includes recommendations for the general population and for specific population groups, such as women who are pregnant. A table with key consumer behaviors and potential strategies for professionals to use in implementing the guidelines is included in the appendix. Selected messages for consumers are also available.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• 2010 Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Dietary guidelines, Disease prevention, Federal programs, Food habits, Health promotion, Public health nutrition, Risk factors

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on revising its standards and requirements so that school meals are more healthful. The recommendations are based on a review and assessment of Dietary Reference Intakes (a system of nutrition recommendations from the Institute of Medicine) and the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans (jointly prepared by the USDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services). The eight recommendations in the report update the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) nutrition standards and meal requirements approved in 1995; shift the focus toward meeting recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines; emphasize the need for effective implementation; and identify key research topics. The recommendations encompass standards for menu planning and standards for meals as selected by the student (in contrast to those that are simply offered to students). Seventeen appendixes include sample menus, data tales, definitions, and comparisons between the existing guidelines and proposed revisions for school meal preparation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Podcast

Keywords: Child health promotion, Data, Dietary guidelines, Federal programs, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition programs, Program evaluation, School age children, School breakfast programs, School food services, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report describes a study that systematically reviewed evidence to determine lactose intolerance, bone health after dairy-exclusion diets, tolerable doses of lactose in subjects with diagnosed lactose intolerance, and management. The report discusses data sources, methods, results, and conclusions.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 10-E004.

• PDF

Keywords: Bone diseases, Dairy products, Diet, Disease management, Lactose intolerance

Annotation: This report examines the ways in which elementary school practices are not aligned with national recommendations concerning diet and physical activity. The findings are based on data obtained from administrators at nationally representative samples of public and private elementary schools that reflect policies and practices in schools during the 2006–07 and 2007–08 school years. Included are survey results related to the nutritional content of meals served through the National School Lunch Program; the availability of "competitive" foods — i.e., food or beverages sold through school stores, vending machines, and a la carte cafeteria lines — and to what extent public school students were offered daily and weekly physical education as recommended by the National Association of Sport and Physical Education.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dietary Guidelines, Evaluation, Guidelines, Physical activity, School age children, School food services, School lunch programs, School surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the science base for dietary guidance for children, including evidence supporting the 2000 and 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and other contemporary guidance statements. The report describes the literature review methodology and synthesizes the recent evidence for children by dietary guideline topic; provides an analysis of the science base for children; and describes data gaps and research needs and implications of these for revising dietary guidance for children.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Dietary guidelines, Literature reviews, Nutrition, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This report provides summaries of studies published since the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans that may be relevant to the 2010 dietary guidelines. Studies are grouped into the following categories: (1) adequate nutrients within calorie needs, (2) weight management, (3) fats, (4) fruits and vegetables, (5) whole grains, (6) dairy and calcium, (7) carbohydrates, (8) sodium and potassium, and (9) tracking.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Calories, Dietary guidelines, Nutrients, Nutrition, Obesity, Research, Weight management

Annotation: This fact sheet presents messages designed to help women maintain or improve their oral health before and during pregnancy. Oral health problems that women may experience during pregnancy are discussed, including problems that may result from hormonal changes, poor diet and nutrition, or lack of oral health care. Guidance on establishing and maintaining oral hygiene practices (toothbrushing and flossing) and oral health care (routine and emergency visits, oral x-rays, and prescriptions) is given.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Nutrition, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Diet, Disease prevention, Gingivitis, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: These position and practice papers are designed to assist in promoting the public's optimal nutrition, health, and well-being. Topics include food, nutrients, and ingredients; management of food and nutrition systems; health promotion and disease prevention (for example, the impact of fluoride on health and oral health and nutrition); medical nutrition therapy; nutrition and physical activity; nutrition through the lifecycle; and management of sustainable, resilient, and healthy food and water systems.

Contact: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Secondary Telephone: (312) 899-0400 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dieticians, Disease prevention, Food, Health promotion, Management, Management information systems, Nutrition policy, Nutritionists, Oral health, Physical activity, Professional societies