Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: The main goal of this project was to improve services for infants and toddlers with disabilities (or at risk for disabililties) and for their families by developing an interstate network for early identification and intervention services for this population. Activities included a national network meeting, two regional conferences, an intensive course, small topical meetings, consultations, publications, and a newsletter. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103373.

Keywords: American Public Welfare Association, Children', Collaboration of Care, EPDST, Early Intervention, Environmental Risk, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Coalition, High risk infants, Networking, PL 99-457, WIC Program, s Defense Fund

Annotation: This project's goals were to provide comprehensive community-based nutrition consultation services to children with special health needs, nutrition-related intervention to children and adolescents identified as high risk for future coronary heart disease, and nutrition-related weight management services to children and adolescents identified as obese. The objectives were to: (1) Make available a comprehensive nutritional program for children with handicapping conditions or chronic diseases by means of screening and, if needed, through their involvement in a nutrition care plan; (2) identify at an early age and screen for hypercholesterolemia those children and adolescents who have a family history of coronary heart disease and to provide them and their families with subsequent dietary and other risk factory counseling; and (3) make available a comprehensive, individualized regional weight management program for obese children and adolescents and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152916.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Handicapped High risk children, Heart Disease, Nutrition, WIC Program

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the incidence of low birthweight by improving the preconceptional health of women who were at high risk for delivering a low birthweight infant. High-risk women were identified at delivery and were followed for 2 years. Client services were then provided by community health workers, who made home visits and developed a risk reduction plan for each client. Intervention protocols were developed for each risk factor and involved referral to the appropriate resource, followup to ensure client compliance, and reinforcement of professional counseling or supplemental teaching. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196848.

Keywords: Community-Based Health Services, Florida, High risk groups, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Indigent Patients, Infant Mortality, Intervention, Low Birthweight, WIC Program

Annotation: This project sought to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding in the state. The purpose of the project was to develop statewide strategies for breastfeeding promotion. Clients targeted were those least likely to breastfeed. Activities included developing and implementing industry policies that support working, breastfeeding women; conducting a public media campaign and establishing a toll-free hotline; counseling and educating low-income and minority women through WIC and MCH programs; and providing professional education. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196871.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infants, Low income groups, Minorities, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, WIC Program

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This website from the CDC has information on the developmental milestones that a child should reach between the ages of two months and five years of age and how parents can find help if they have concerns about their children. There are also materials for healthcare providers, educators, WIC program staff, and home visitors. Free downloadable materials are available in multiple languages, including Spanish, French, Arabic, and more. The website also includes a link to the Milestone Tracker app (Android and IOS versions).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development, Computer/phone applications, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Education materials, WIC program

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a toolkit developed by the Iowa WIC program to increase WIC staff knowledge of the cultural traditions of WIC clientele. The toolkit includes information to help WIC counselors recognize the food-related practices and beliefs of different cultures. It also provides suggestions for adapting counseling methods based on traditional communication styles and interpersonal behaviors, such as body language, vocal volume, distance, and touch. It provides contact information for obtaining a copy of the toolkit.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov/WIC Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Iowa, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition services, State programs, WIC program

Annotation: This report describes the process of screening children participating in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) for oral health problems, as well as the results. The report describes screening objectives, the targeted population of children, and the state I-Smile program. It also provides conclusions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health status, Iowa, Oral health, Screening, State surveys, WIC program, Young children

Annotation: This guide describes an approach to increasing pregnant women’s and infants’ utilization of oral health services by implementing two models for obtaining oral health care: (1) maintaining a closed referral system and (2) integrating preventive oral health services into Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) services. The guide also highlights education activities for health professionals and social services professionals who provide care to pregnant women and parents with infants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC program

Annotation: This study estimates the effects that increased breastfeeding rates in WIC would have on the number of WIC participants, costs to WIC and Medicaid, and health-related costs that accrue to WIC households or their health insurance providers. It was found that costs of WIC would go up (by over $100M) if rates improved as aimed at, but costs to insurance and health care providers could go down by more than $9B. Since breastfeeding rates among participants in USDA's Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) are lower than the U.S. average, this information could be economically beneficial.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion, Economics, Medicaid, WIC Program

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Annotation: This brief summarizes feeding guidelines for pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 2 that are relevant to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). Topics include WIC services and an overview of the feeding guidelines. The applications of the feeding guidelines in the WIC setting, including staff training on the guidelines, participant education, and breastfeeding support,are also discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Feeding, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Annotation: This handout provides information about services offered by Children’s Dental Services (CDS), a program that offers full-spectrum preventive and restorative oral health care to families at Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) centers and 500 other locations across Minnesota. The handout also discusses why oral health care during infancy, early childhood, and pregnancy is important and the safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Families, Health insurance, Infants, Low income groups, Minnesota, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, WIC program, Young children

Annotation: This brief describes a pilot project to integrate preventive oral health care for women with low incomes and children from families with low incomes through local sites of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) in New Hampshire. The brief also explores alternative channels for bringing oral health care and education to populations with low incomes. Topics include administrative procedures, technology, capacity, funding, lessons learned, and next steps.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer education, Dental care, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, New Hampshire, Oral health, Pilot projects, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program development, Service integration, State initiatives, WIC Program, Women

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This document outlines the need for focused research on women's health, the impact WIC has on obesity, and improving the quality and use of WIC data. Topics include nutrition education, breastfeeding support, referrals to health and social services, and the healthy food package. The appendices contain descriptions of currently funded research and evaluation projects and ongoing studies.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition education, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, WIC program