Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This roadmap provides detailed information on policies and strategies that foster nurturing environments for infants and toddlers and reduce disparities in access and outcomes. Published annually, the roadmap is designed to help state leaders (1) Assess the wellbeing of its infants and toddlers and prioritize state policy goals; (2) Identify evidence-based policy solutions proven to impact policy goals; (3) Monitor states’ adoption and implementation of effective policies and strategies; and (4) Track the impact that policy changes have on improving the wellbeing of children and families and reducing disparities between racial and ethnic groups. A summary of each state’s progress is included.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• 2024
• 2023

Keywords: Child health, Data collection, Early childhood development, Family leave, Health care access, Health status disparities, Home visits, Infant health, MCH programs, Policy, Prenatal care, State initiatives, State policy

Annotation: This brief explains how state Medicaid programs can be used to address social determinants of health, including economic stability, education, neighborhood and physical environments, employment, social support networks, and access to health care. It describes how states have been given flexibility through managed care programs and Section 1115 demonstration waivers to address non-clinical aspects of care such as case management, housing supports, employment supports, and peer support services. Included is a summary of the new guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) in 2023 on the expansion of opportunities to address health related social needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Managed care, Medicaid, Social determinants of health, State programs

Annotation: This brief outlines approaches for Medicaid policymakers to implement or evolve nutrition benefit strategies for Medicaid members. It focuses on three key approaches: refining CMS-defined interventions to better meet member needs, ensuring interventions are culturally appropriate and member-centered, and defining standardized eligibility criteria to maximize impact and decrease administrative burden. The document provides examples from various states' Medicaid programs, including approved and proposed 1115 waivers and In Lieu of Services (ILOS) policies. It highlights the importance of addressing the full range of food needs, from food security to instrumental food, and discusses strategies for ensuring food quality, choice, and cultural appropriateness. The brief also includes a table comparing eligibility criteria across different states and population groups.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Medicaid, Nutrition and food, Policy development

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: info@ehidc.org Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors

Annotation: This 4-part resource provides background information and definitions of rapidly-changing food and nutrition security terms, offering insights into the origins of terms and underscoring the power and importance of terminology. Included is a table with terms and definitions used by national food, nutrition, and health programs and organizations.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Language, Nonprejudicial language, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

Annotation: This website provides an overview of food security issues and resources related to maternal and child health (MCH) programs. It defines food security and highlights racial disparities in food access, noting that Black children are almost three times more likely to live in food-insecure households compared to white children. The site emphasizes the role of Title V MCH programs in addressing social determinants of health and creating partnerships to improve food access. It includes sections on the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's (AMCHP) projects and partnerships related to food security, such as podcast episodes, conference presentations, and learning modules. It also features a searchable database of food security practices and programs, allowing users to filter by criteria like community engagement, equity focus, location, and ethnicity/race. Brief descriptions of 19 food security initiatives from various locations are provided, covering topics like indigenous food systems, nutrition interventions, and community gardening programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Food consumption, Food insecurity, Food supply, Initiatives, Title V programs

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This data brief presents key findings from the 2019-2020 National Health Interview Survey on the number of children ages 0-17, with and without special needs, in households experiencing food insecurity. The brief defines the term "food insecurity," summarizes survey results, and compares data according to age and gender, urbanicity, ethnic origin, and family characteristics.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs

• Link

Keywords: Children, Food Insecurity, Hunger, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: osaspeinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

Annotation: Using data from the Health Reform Monitoring Survey (HRMS), this brief examines how food insecurity among households with nonelderly adults changed between March/April 2020 and June 2022. Overall food insecurity trends, food insecurity among families with children, and insecurity rates among communities of color are among the statistics highlighted. The brief also explains how the HRMS data compares with other national survey data on food hardship.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Food, Hunger, National surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This article presents the principles and strategies behind the Blueprint for Change-- a national framework for a system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) where they can enjoy a full life and thrive in their community from childhood through adulthood. Included is a discussion of the comprehensives needs of CYSHCH, the changing health care system, and the disparities experienced by CYSHCN. The critical areas that drive the Blueprint for Change-- health equity, access to services, finanancing of services, and family and child well-being and quality of life-- are described as being inherently interconnected and intend to move the field forward at the community, state, and federal levels.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• U.S. Health Resources And Services Administration Website

Keywords: , Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Federal initiatives

Annotation: This report offers recommendations for policy makers to integrate individuals with lived expertise as partners in program and policy design, implementation, and evaluation to more effectively address food insecurity. Access to affordable, nutritious food is a significant challenge for many individuals enrolled in Medicaid. Experts with lived experience joined state policy makers and representatives from national health care and social services organizations to address hunger by increasing cross-agency partnerships and identifying solutions.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Evaluation, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Hunger, Medicaid, Policy development, Poverty, Social factors

Annotation: This brief highlights two promising examples of partnerships between child care providers and food access initiatives. Both partnerships received grant funding form Walmart Foundation's Healthier Food Access program, which provides support to innovative programs addressing food access. The brief focuses on three strategies: One that supports children and families directly; one that fosters the capacity of child care providers and their ability to support child nutrition in their own care settings; and one that organizes at a systems level to better coordinate efforts that target families with young children. Included are recommendations for building similar partnerships in local communities.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child nutrition, Community participation, Food, Model programs, Partnerships, Program development, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This brief presents key findings from an evaluation of the Healthy Food Alliance for Early Education (HFAEE), a program designed to improve nutrition and health practices in early childhood education centers and the homes of children facing food insecurity in St. Louis, MO. The brief provides a description of the program components and summarizes the evaluation findings.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Early Childhood Education, Evaluation, Food insecurity, Nutrition programs, Young children

Annotation: This publication examines the history of dietary guidelines for Americans and the cultural biases that may have influenced their development. It explores the evolution of the dietary guidelines; addresses claims of racism within the guidelines; and examines whether the current guidelines are culturally appropriate and free of racial bias.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Dietary guidelines, Health equity, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This tip sheet highlights various ways in which Title V programs can form partnerships with state agencies and work in tandem with pediatric health professionals to address social determinants of health and improve child health outcomes. Included are examples of innovative Title V programs in Iowa, Florida, New Mexico, Minnesota, and the District of Columbia. The recommendations are based on The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents, 4th Edition.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Health equity, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Social factors, Title V Programs

Annotation: This electronic resources describes school-based gardening interventions in combination with nutrition education to increase children's vegetable consumption. Gardening interventions provide children with hands-on experience planting, growing, and harvesting fruits and vegetables in an effort to increase their willingness to consume fruits and vegetables. Interventions include outside gardens, microfarms, container gardens, and other alternative gardening methods; interventions may also include nutrition education or a parental component. The website offers information gleaned from a systematic review of 14 studies published between January 2005 and October 2015 that examined gardening interventions conducted with children aged two to 18 years. There are links to Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 and the CDC's Comprehensive Framework for Addressing the School Nutrition Environment and Services.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: communityguide@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Community programs, Families, Fruit, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Local programs, Nutrition, School based programs, Vegetables

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation for multicomponent interventions to increase the availability of healthier foods and beverages in schools. This finding is based on evidence that these interventions can reduce or maintain the rate of obesity in children. These multicomponent interventions can combine healthy eating with physical activity, healthy eating alone, or physical activity alone. The CPSTF report is based on evidence from a systematic review published in 2013, along with more recent evidence published between August 2012 and January 2017. The website lists summary of results, summary of economic evidence, and provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: communityguide@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, School age children, School based programs, School lunch programs, Schools