Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health

Annotation: The Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health works to provide care-based teaching materials written by faculty from Children's Hospital in Boston and Harvard Medical Center to pediatric training programs worldwide. The center provides on-line access to over 30 case-based educational modules which have been pilot-tested and evaluated in pediatric training programs within the United States. Each module contains case abstracts, goals and objectives, a facilitators guide, a case narrative, teaching handouts, bibliographies, and evaluation materials on topics pertaining to child growth, development, behavior, and adolescent health. Publications include journal articles and presentations produced by the project. The organization is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development.

Keywords: Training materials, Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Continuing education, Health supervision, Pediatrics

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

Harder+Company

Annotation: Harder+Company is a social research and consulting firm that provides research and analysis to regional and national clients in nonprofit organizations, government, and philanthropy. Services include evaluation, strategic planning, community planning, needs assessment and feasibility studies, policy analysis, and organizational development. The website features information about projects in California, methodology, and professional staff.

Keywords: Consultation, Evaluation, Feasibility studies, Management, Needs assessment, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Research, Strategic plans

National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC)

Annotation: The National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC) is a service of the Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NWHIC provides a gateway to a wide variety of federal and other women's health information resources. Through its toll-free call center and Web site, NWHIC helps individuals in ordering, linking to, and downloading women's health-related material developed by the Department of Health and Human Services, other federal agencies, and private sector sources; some materials are available in Spanish. To reach NWHIC's breastfeeding helpline, dial 800/994-9662. NWHIC also provides a Web site for girls at www.girlshealth.gov and Quick Health Data Online, formerly the National Women's Health Indicators Database (NWHID), a free online tool containing extensive national health data from the year 2000 to the present. The database provides access to a breakdown of statistics on a national, regional, state and county level for various topics. The tool can be accessed at http://www.healthstatus2010.com/owh/index.html.

Keywords: Women's health, Federal agencies, Health statistics, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Women's health services, Women's studies

Oral Health Workforce Research Center (OHWRC)

Annotation: The Oral Health Workforce Research Center (OHWRC) provides research on the oral health work force to assist in future health work force planning. Projects include professional practice index for dental hygienists, Medicaid dental claims data comparison, dental assistant work force, federally-qualified health center case studies, long-term care health service delivery, and model case studies. Resources include reports and oral health data sources.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Case studies, Community health centers, Comparative analysis, Data analysis, Dental care, Health care delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Research methodology, Work force

Union Institute and University (UI&U)

Annotation: Union Institute & University is an international university headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio. Its programs are geared entirely toward adult professinals. As part of the Healthy Children 2000 Project, and with the support of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau of the Health Resources and Services Administration, Union Institute & University offers a distance learning bachelor of arts degree program in Maternal-Child Health: Lactation Consulting, enrolling learners from across the United States.

Keywords: Continuing education, Women's studies, Public policies

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.