Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (43 total).

ADA National Network

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP )

Annotation: The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is a national professional organization representing the interests of more than 125,000 nurse practitioners of all specialties. Founded in 1985, the organization provides NPs practicing in the U.S. with a unified way to network and continually advocates at the local, state, and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, and personalized healthcare. AANP conducts research, provides training tools, sponsors a national conference, and publishes position statements, a peer-reviewed journal, and patient education materials.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Legislation, Nursing societies

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is a national medical society representing physicians who are specialists in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The academy sponsors educational conferences and programs; publishes Archives (a scholarly journal) and Physiatrist (a newsletter); and promotes legislative advocacy. An online discussion forum is open to members.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Professional societies

American Bar Association, Center on Children and the Law (ABA)

Annotation: The Center on Children and the Law is a program of the American Bar Association's Young Lawyers Division. Founded in 1978, the center works to improve the quality of life for children through advancements in law, justice, and public policy. It conducts research and disseminates information; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and programs to improve the skills of legal professionals in proceedings affecting children; provides referrals; educates and assists non attorneys and organizations in child-related law; and stimulates public awareness of the law and systems of justice related to children. It also analyzes legal issues related to the promotion of child and adolescent health. In particular, with the support of a MCHB/OAH grant, the ABACCL is working in collaboration with the American Medical Association, the National Association of Social Workers, the American Psychological Association, the American Dietetic Association, the American Nurses Association, and the National Assembly of School Based Health Care to promote adolescent health initiatives. Publications include the monthly ABA Child Law Practice.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Courts, Legislation

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Keywords: Nurses, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women's health, Workplace

Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM)

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

Brookings Institution

Annotation: The Brookings Institution is an independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, and public education with an emphasis on economics, foreign policy, governance, and metropolitan policy. Resident and nonresident scholars research issues; write books, papers, articles, and opinion pieces; testify before congressional committees; and participate in public events. Numerous reports and policy briefs can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site, while other publications can be ordering through the online bookstore.

Keywords: Research, Public policy, Legislation, Policy analysis, Public education, Publications

Center for Advancing Health

Annotation: The Center for the Advancement of health translates to the public the latest evidence-based research on health, health care, prevention, and chronic disease management, with an emphasis on how social, behavioral, and economic factors affect illness and well-being. The center monitors legislation, commissions reports, communicates information relevant to the translation of research to policy and practice, establishes alliances between scientists and policy makers, and convenes conferences, symposia, and task forces. The center produces and disseminates evidence summaries through the Health Behavior News Service, conducting media training for scientists, scientific training for journalists, and reporting on translation-related events. The center's publications include monthly Facts of Life issue briefings, as well as a variety of reports and workshop proceedings available from the Web site in pdf format.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Electronic publications, Health policy, Legislation, Preventive health services, Public health, Research

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Council of State Governments (CSG)

Annotation: The Council of State Governments (CSG) is a nonpartisan, multibranch organization of the states and U.S. territories that champions excellence in state government. The Council works with state leaders across the nation and through its regions to put the best ideas and solutions into practice. CSG conducts research, maintains a national information data base, produces numerous leading publications, showcases innovative state programs, promotes federal-state partnerships and conducts leadership development programs.

Keywords: Housing, Human services, Legislation, State government

Early Care and Education Consortium (ECEC)

Annotation: The Early Care and Education Consortium (ECEC) is a non-profit alliance of national, regional, and independent providers of child care and early learning programs for young children. The consortium was formed in 1999 to create a provider voice to shape public policy in support of high-quality care and education for children and families. ECEC works to promote early care and education as a whole, and targets four specific state and federal policy areas: PreK and early learning initiatives, accessible child care subsidies, the early childhood educator work force, and quality rating and improvement systems. ECEC is engaged in the states and on the federal level in supporting strategies and advocating legislation that promotes the development and funding of high-quality early care and education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Consortia, Early childhood education, Legislation

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC)

Annotation: The Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, provides technical assistance to Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) projects. Areas of assistance include communication strategies, cooperation with advisory boards and task forces, conversion of grant proposal objectives into action plans, identification of potential collaborators among relevant national organizations, and networking to promote awareness and advocacy of EMSC issues, injury prevention strategies, programs for children with special health care needs, public awareness strategies, and issues associated with various health insurance models. The center monitors and researches relevant federal and state legislation and disseminates information on its status through EMS Systems, EMS provider education, media outreach, its website and quarterly newsletter, EMS News. The organization also sponsors conferences and offers some materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Data, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Legislation, National MCH resource center, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, Resources for professionals, Rural health, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Families USA

Annotation: Families USA works to ensure that all Americans are enrolled in quality health coverage and to foster a health care system that is affordable and sustainable. Current initiatives include protecting health coverage and care; expanding access to oral health coverage, increasing awareness about the need to improve access to oral health care, and expanding the use of mid-level dental providers; empowering consumer health advocates to achieve meaningful changes in public policies; and providing resources for enrollment navigators and assisters. The website contains information about key issues such as health equity, health system transformation, Medicaid, and Medicare; a blog; news; and a resource library, including a Story Bank toolkit to help organizations incorporate people's personal experiences and voices into their work.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Consumer education, Enrollment, Families, Health care costs, Health care financing, Health insurance, Legislation, Publications

Family Voices

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children's health insurance program, State programs

Individual States' Child Care Licensure Regulations

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.