Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (26 total).

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

Bethesda Communities

Annotation: Bethesda Lutheran Communities offers Christian education and residential rehabilitation services to people with mental retardation. It also offers short term and respite care, a fully accessible camp, day services, and case management. In addition to its main campus in Watertown, WI, Bethesda operates 37 community living facilities in ten states. Through its National Christian Resource Center, Bethesda offers free information and referral services nationwide, systems advocacy, resources for special religious education, staff training video modules, and workshops for religious and secular providers. Conferences and training seminars are sponsored as well. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Case management Religious organizations, Developmental disabilities, Family support, Mental retardation, Respite care

Case Management Institute of Connecticut Community Care (CMI)

Annotation: Since 1984, the Case Management Institute of Connecticut Community Care has been offering the tools necessary to bring together structured training and practical experience in long-term care management of the elderly and disabled, including a strong focus on case management. The institute offers seminars, training, evaluation, and consultation to individuals and organizations involved in all aspects of case management. The Institute also publishes a catalog.

Keywords: Case management, Long term care, Mental health, Special health care needs, Training

Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research

Annotation: The Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research (formerly the Duke University Center for Health Policy) stimulates and facilitates collaborative, interdisciplinary research focusing on population based health, health systems, intervention, and evaluation. The Center also offers an array of educational opportunities for students seeking careers in health policy making, research, and analysis.

Keywords: Public health, Educational programs, Health policy, Interdisciplinary approach, Legal processes, Management, Research, Social sciences, University affiliated centers

Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC)

Annotation: The Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC) works to improve the health, development, and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs in partnership with families, service providers, and communities. CHSC's team of professionals and experienced parents provide families one-on-one problem solving and emotional support as they care for their children with special health care needs. Since children and youth with complicated health problems often need assistance from many different agencies, CHSC works to provide access to quality community-based services. CHSC provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including a newsletter), and reference Information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Home care, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Information services, Management, Referrals, Resource materials, Service coordination, Technical assistance

Coordinating Center for Home and Community Care

Annotation: The Coordinating Center for Home and Community Care (CCHCC) is a nonprofit organization that provides care management services for people with complex medical needs, special health care needs, and disabilities who are living in their own homes and communities. The Coordinating Center also provides technical assistance, training, and consultation to professionals who work in the community with people who have such needs. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The center publishes a catalog and a variety of brochures. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Home care, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Home care services, Refferals, Technical assistance

Families of Children Under Stress (FOCUS)

Annotation: Families of Children Under Stress (FOCUS) offers emotional, informational, and physical support to families with children with disabilities or ongoing medical needs through a variety of programs. Programs include support groups, newsletters, community-based respite programs, summer day camps, and family activities.

Keywords: Family support services, Parent groups, Stress management

Family Support Network of North Carolina (FSN-NC)

Annotation: The mission of the Family Support Network of North Carolina (FSN-NC) is to enhance the lives of North Carolina's children who have special needs or are at risk by providing support and information to families, by promoting family support, and by encouraging collaboration among families and service providers in the design and delivery of services. The Central Directory of Resources (CDR) provides printed information about disabilities and disability-related issues, and referrals to service agencies, support groups and advocacy organizations at the local, state and national level. Printed information is available to callers in North Carolina, and some materials are available in Spanish. Local Family Support Network programs provide a variety of community-based services, including peer support, workshops, NICU programs, sibling activities, and outreach to foster families with children with special needs throughout North Carolina. Family Support Network of North Carolina publishes a summer camp directory for children with special health needs in North Carolina.

Keywords: Family resource centers, Family support services, Medically fragile children, North Carolina, Stress management

FHI 360 ( )

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

Harder+Company

Annotation: Harder+Company is a social research and consulting firm that provides research and analysis to regional and national clients in nonprofit organizations, government, and philanthropy. Services include evaluation, strategic planning, community planning, needs assessment and feasibility studies, policy analysis, and organizational development. The website features information about projects in California, methodology, and professional staff.

Keywords: Consultation, Evaluation, Feasibility studies, Management, Needs assessment, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Research, Strategic plans

Health Care Communities (HC)

Annotation: Healthcare Communities is a web-based knowledge management system and community portal that supports health care transformation. The site has features that facilitate the quality improvement efforts of organizations and individuals by enabling them to share their knowledge, resources, and experiences. These features include: document sharing, announcements, topic-specific listservs and forums, social media connections, a quality improvement resource library, a video library, a calendaring function, and where applicable, access to a secure data reporting site used to measure performance in both small and large improvement initiatives.

Keywords: Community coordination, Health care reform, Integrated information systems, Knowledge management, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

National Center on Program Management and Fiscal Operations

Annotation: The National Center on Program Management and Fiscal Operations contributes to positive outcomes for young children and their families by strengthening the management and practices of Head Start and Early Head Start programs. The Center focuses on the elements of managing successful agencies and will offer information, training, and resources. Center staff members are committed to identifying best practices, sharing current and emerging research, and serving as a vehicle for communication on management and finance topics for the Head Start community. It is one of six national centers funded by the U.S. Office of Head Start.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Program management, Resource centers, Young children

National Consumer Protection Week

National Health Council (NHC)

National Human Services Assembly

Annotation: The National Human Services Assembly is a coalition of national nonprofit agencies committed to helping individuals, families, and communities thrive. It provides issue coalitions, peer networking, leadership training, and policy collaboration. It participates in collaborative efforts on youth development, strengthening families and other topics.

Keywords: Management, Nonprofit organizations, Social service agencies

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation (NIHCM Foundation)

Annotation: The National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) Foundation is a non-profit nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the effectiveness, efficiency, and quality of America's health care system. The foundation conducts research, policy analysis and educational activities on health care issues. It fosters information exchange between the private health care industry and government to work toward solutions to health care problems. The foundation serves as a clearinghouse for information on health care issues and gives awards annually for excellence in health care research and journalism. The foundation receives funding from diverse sources including the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). Currently the foundation is working with MCHB to promote Bright Futures and Managed Care. In 2011 it initiated a Promising Practices in Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Program to recognize emerging or promising programs or policies in MCH.

Keywords: Policy analysis, Awards, Health care delivery, Managed care, Program management

National Quality Forum (NQF)

Annotation: The National Quality Forum (NQF) is a not-for-profit membership organization created to develop and implement a national strategy for health care quality measurement and reporting. A shared sense of urgency about the impact of health care quality on patient outcomes, workforce productivity, and health care costs prompted leaders in the public and private sectors to create the NQF as a mechanism to bring about national change.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Patient advocacy, Patient care management, Qualitative evauation

New York State Office of the State Comptroller

Annotation: The Comptroller's Office is responsible for managing the State’s pension fund, auditing the spending practices of all State agencies and local governments, overseeing the New York State and Local Retirement System, reviewing the New York State and City budgets, approving State contracts, and administering the State Oil Spill Fund.

Keywords: Fiscal management, New York, State agencies

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.