Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (47 total).

Abstinence Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Abstinence Clearinghouse is a non-profit national educational organization that promotes the appreciation for and practice of sexual abstinence through distribution of age-appropriate, factual and medically-accurate materials. The clearinghouse was founded to provide a central location where character, relationship and abstinence programs, curricula, speakers, and materials could be accessed. The clearinghouse serves agencies on a national, state and local level, as well as international organizations. The clearinghouse hosts educational national and regional conferences, publishes and distributes publications and a newsletter, and provides technical assistance to schools and other societal institutions to assist in preventing behaviors that place young people at risk for HIV infection, other sexually transmitted diseases, and unintended pregnancy. Access to most materials is limited to members. The Abstinence Clearinghouse also consists of three advisory and support councils: the National Advisory Council, the Medical Abstinence Council, and the International Abstinence Council. The Clearinghouse's Washington D.C. office is located at 10 G Street NE Suite 502, Washington, DC 20002

Keywords: Abstinence, Clearinghouses, Sexuality education

Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC)

Annotation: The Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC) serves as a statewide clearinghouse and network for adolescent pregnancy prevention resources and helps local communities to develop prevention councils. The coalition maintains a library and resource center of more than 1,000 pamphlets, brochures, films, videotapes, curricula, national and state reports, and other materials on adolescent pregnancy issues. Services to consumers also include referrals. APPCNC sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a catalog and newsletter. It also provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Coalition, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Referals, Self help clearinghouses

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP)

Annotation: The Alaska Health Education Library Project (AHELP) is an electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources that are specific to and available in Alaska. It contains information on health promotion programs, projects and materials, key contact people in health promotion program areas, a calendar of health observances and health promotion training and events, and resource organizations at the state and national level. AHELP has an online discussion list (listserv) for professionals involved in health education and health promotion.

Keywords: Alaska, Clearinghouses, Health sciences libraries, Listservs, State agencies

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

Alliance for Information and Referral Systems

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

American Amputee Foundation (AAF)

Annotation: The American Amputee Foundation (AAF) is a national clearinghouse and referral center which researches and collects information, responds to inquiries, and distributes resource materials. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publishes a national resource directory.

Keywords: Amputation, Clearinghouses, Referrals

Baby's First Test: the Newborn Screening Clearinghouse (NBSC)

Annotation: Baby's First Test: the Newborn Screening Clearinghouse (NBSC) is funded to increase awareness of newborn screening, and to improve the understanding and informed decision-making capacity of expectant and new parents, health professionals, industry representatives, and the public. Information available in the NBSC includes: condition-specific information, contact information for the condition-specific advocacy organizations, information about what conditions each state screens for, data supplied by the public health laboratories, and general information about the process of newborn screening. It is funded through a cooperative agreement with the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Neonatal screening

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Diversity Rx

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Education Commission of the States (ECS)

Annotation: The Education Commission of the States (ECS) is a nonprofit, nationwide, interstate compact formed to help governors, state legislators, state education officials, and others develop policies to improve the quality of education from birth through post-graduate school. The commission conducts policy research and surveys, maintains an information clearinghouse, provides technical assistance to states and helps them to implement changes in education, fosters nationwide leadership and cooperation in education, and organizes state, regional, and national forums. The comission sponsors conferences and workshops, maintains online databases, and publishes periodicals, policy briefs, and dozens of topic-related products.

Keywords: Education, Policy development, Research, Self help clearinghouses, Surveys

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center (NICHD IRC)

Annotation: The National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Information Resource Center provides up-to-date, research-based information about heath issues for children, adults, families, and communities. The center offers a toll-free helpline staffed by trained information specialists. Information requests can also be submitted online via the center's website. The website also provides access to articles and publications and print materials.

Keywords: Child health, Clearinghouses, Research

Fight Crime: Invest in Kids

Annotation: Founded in 1996, Fight Crime: Invest in Kids is a bipartisan, nonprofit anti-crime organization led by police chiefs, sheriffs, prosecutors, victims of violence, and leaders of police officer associations. The organization's mission is to evaluate the effectiveness of crime-prevention strategies and to put that information into the hands of policy-makers and the public. Fight Crime develops policy recommendations; analyzes the impact of public policy proposals; educates opinion leaders, policy-makers, and the public; and serves as an information clearinghouse. Fight Crime has a national office in Washington, D.C. and other offices in California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, and Pennsylvania.

Keywords: Public policies, Crime prevention, Clearinghouses, Juvenile delinquency, Policy development, Violence prevention

Foundation for Nager and Miller Syndromes (FNMS)

Annotation: The Foundation for Nager and Miller Syndromes (FNMS) is an international support group dedicated to helping those affected by Nager and Miller Syndromes. The Foundation serves as a clearinghouse of information and links families seeking support, hope and advice. FNMS collects materials on the syndromes in a central library, publishes an annual newsletter, and sponsors conferences. The foundation offers assistance with referrals, reference information, and publications are available to consumers. FNMS is a volunteer organization with 501(c) (3) status.

Keywords: Acrofacial Dysostosis syndrome, Clearinghouses, Miller syndrome, Parent groups, Support groups

Gluten Intolerance Group® (GIG®)

Annotation: The Gluten Intolerance Group® (GIG®) offers assistance, counseling, and referrals to people with celiac sprue and/or dermatitis herpetiformis, their families, consumers, and health care professionals. Publications include diet instruction, gluten-free bread recipes, an introductory brochure, a resource guide, research reports, and the quarterly GIG® Newsletter. Materials are available in Braille and Spanish. A catalog of audiovisual materials is available. GIG® also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. GIG® was formerly called the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Dermatitis herpetiformis, Gluten intolerance, Self help clearinghouses

Health Education Resource Exchange (HERE)

Annotation: The Health Education Resource Exchange (HERE) is an online clearinghouse of public health education and health promotion materials, projects, people, events, and resources in Washington. HERE is designed for people who perform population-based health promotion activities in a variety of settings, primarily state and local health departments, community organizations, clinics, hospitals, and schools. Resources include free posters, brochures, and fact sheets, descriptions of local health promotion projects, strategies used in the field of health education and health promotion, a calendar of events and training opportunities of interest to health educators, a directory of professional colleagues in Washington, and periodic e-newsletters.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Health education, Health promotion, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Washington

Healthy Teen Network

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Illinois Early Childhood Intervention Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Illinois Early Childhood Intervention Clearinghouse provides resource materials on issues related to young children with special needs and their families. The clearinghouse provides referrals and reference information, operates a statewide lending library, maintains a bibliographic database of more than 33,000 citations, and publishes a catalog and a quarterly newsletter, Early Intervention. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Early intervention, Children, Developmental disabilities, Illinois, Self help clearinghouses

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.