Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA )

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American Pediatric Society/Society for Pediatric Research (APS/SPRA )

Annotation: The American Pediatric Society/Society for Pediatric Research encourages young investigators engaged in research that is of benefit to children. The society provides a forum for the interchange of ideas and an opportunity for young investigators to present their work. APS/SPR. The society sponsors meetings, promotes research, presents awards, and publishes a journal.

Keywords: Research, Pediatrics, Professional education

Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs (AMSPDC)

Annotation: The Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs (AMSPDC) consists of the pediatric departments chairs of accredited medical schools in the United States and Canada. The association works to foster education and research in the field of child health and human development, and with other national pediatric groups addresses issues related to pediatric education, research, and care.

Keywords: Child health, Medical schools, Pediatrics, Professional societies

Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health

Annotation: The Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health works to provide care-based teaching materials written by faculty from Children's Hospital in Boston and Harvard Medical Center to pediatric training programs worldwide. The center provides on-line access to over 30 case-based educational modules which have been pilot-tested and evaluated in pediatric training programs within the United States. Each module contains case abstracts, goals and objectives, a facilitators guide, a case narrative, teaching handouts, bibliographies, and evaluation materials on topics pertaining to child growth, development, behavior, and adolescent health. Publications include journal articles and presentations produced by the project. The organization is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development.

Keywords: Training materials, Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Continuing education, Health supervision, Pediatrics

Hardin MD

Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC)

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

Pediatric Family Resource Library

Annotation: The Pediatric Family Resource Library provides publications, reference information, and searchable databases to consumers. Spanish language materials are available. Books and videos can be borrowed for three weeks. Postage-paid mailers are supplied to return the books. The library also sponsors training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education, Libraries, Pediatrics

Society for Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (SDBP)

Annotation: The Society for Development and Behavioral Pediatrics (SDBP), formed in 1982, is an international, interdisciplinary organization of professionals whose goal is to improve the health care of infants, children, and adolescents by promoting research and teaching in developmental and behavioral pediatrics. SDBP sponsors the Journal of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, conferences, research, and educational activities.

Keywords: Infant health, Adolescent health, Child health, Pediatricians, Pediatrics, Professional education

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.