Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

Maven Clinic . 2025. Maven’s state of women’s & family health benefits: How rising costs and evolving needs are reshaping workplace benefits . New York, NY: Maven Clinic, 35 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings on the state of women's and family health benefits in the workplace based on two surveys conducted in October-November 2024. It addresses challenges facing employees and employers, including rising healthcare costs, burnout among working parents, and increased anxiety around reproductive health. The report highlights how companies are responding through expanded benefits, with 69% planning to increase family health benefits vendors in the coming years. It discusses the benefits of offering comprehensive women's and family health support, including improved employee retention and reduced healthcare costs. The report includes specific statistics on employer and employee priorities, testimonials from benefits leaders, and guidance for designing effective family benefits programs. Sections cover topics such as fertility support, parenting challenges, men's reproductive health, and the role of digital health solutions in improving outcomes.

Contact: Maven Clinic , , New York, NY 10013, E-mail: https://www.mavenclinic.com/contact Web Site: https://www.mavenclinic.com/

Link

Keywords: Employer health costs, Family support services, Health Benefits Plans, Employee, Insurance benefits, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Reproductive health services, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center . 2025. Funding mechanisms for state paid family and medical leave programs. Nashville, TN: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center ,

Annotation: This research brief provides an overview of funding mechanisms for state paid family and medical leave (PFML) programs in the United States. The brief explains that PFML programs are self-sustaining, funded through payroll contributions (premiums) from workers, employers, or both, with no ongoing state funding required. The document features diagrams showing funding flows, premium rates across states, and historical premium trends, highlighting that PFML premiums remain affordable, typically below 1% of wages. The brief details key policy decisions states must make regarding start-up funding, premium responsibility, contribution wage bases, small business exemptions, and premium caps. It includes several state policy spotlights, such as California's elimination of wage thresholds for premium collection and Minnesota's scaled premium reductions for small businesses. The document includes additional resources for policymakers considering PFML programs.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

Link

Keywords: California, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Family leave, Funding, Initiatives, Minnesota, Parental leave, Policy development, State programs

Carlson J, Falletta K, Steber K, Novak K. 2023. Recommendations for creating equitable and inclusive paid family leave policies . Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 16 pp.

Annotation: This research brief outlines the impacts of paid parental leave for families and communities and describes the current policy landscape for paid parental leave in the United States. It provides six recommendations for policymakers to consider as they work to develop equitable and inclusive paid parental leave policies. The recommendations are designed to guide state-level efforts but may also be applicable to leaders at the local and federal levels.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

Link

Keywords: Economic factors, Employee benefits, Family leave, Financing, Legislation, Policy development, Working parents

Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center. 2023. Increase awareness of workplace benefits and protections for pregnant and postpartum women. Chapel Hill, NC: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center, 10 pp. (White House blueprint evidence to action briefs)

Annotation: This issue brief outlines Action 5.3 from Goal 5 of the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focusing on increasing awareness of workplace benefits and protections for pregnant and postpartum women, particularly around breastfeeding support. It discusses the importance of workplace accommodations like private lactation spaces and break times, examines disparities in breastfeeding rates across demographic groups, and presents evidence-based strategies for improving workplace support through legislation, employer policies, and educational initiatives. The document includes data on breastfeeding rates, state policies, and successful intervention programs, while highlighting persistent challenges in workplace support for lactating employees.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Workplace health promotion

Findlay S. 2016. Paid family and medical leave. Bethesda, MD: Health Affairs, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines issues related to paid family or medical leave including laws governing employee benefits. Contents include characteristics of paid family and medical leave laws in California, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island. Topics include maximum and minimum length of paid leave, employee eligibility, benefit amount, waiting period, and funding mechanism. Opportunities to finance paid family and medical leave for all working people in the United States are also discussed. Links to related resources are provided.

Contact: Health Affairs, Project HOPE: The People-to-People Foundation, 7500 Old Georgetown Road, Suite 600, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-7401 Fax: (301) 654-2854 Web Site: http://www.healthaffairs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Employee benefits, Family leave, Financing, Legislation, Work family issues

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2014-. Supporting nursing moms at work: Employer solutions. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health,

Annotation: This resource provides businesses with cost-effective tips and solutions for any industry setting to support women who are breastfeeding. Users can search by industry or by solutions to find creative options for space and time, as well as options for supporting women in large companies and small businesses. Topics include room amenities, breast pumps, options for handling expressed milk, education and professional support, promoting services to employees, and privacy. Videos are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Multimedia, Parent support programs, Policy development, Working mothers

Tebb KP, Sedlander E, Pica G, Diaz A, Peake K, Brindis CD. 2014. Protecting adolescent confidentiality under health care reform: The special case of explanation of benefits (EOBs). San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 38 pp. (EOB policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief examines the extent to which explanations of benefits (EOBs) have the potential to threaten confidentiality for adolescents and young adults, the benefits and limitations of various strategies, as well as other potential policy or programmatic solutions. Topics include tension between billing transparency and client confidentiality; EOB suppression (opting in versus opting out); enforcement, operations, and evaluation of policy changes; and engaging multiple stakeholders, especially the insurance industry.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Confidentiality, Employee benefits, Health care reform, Health insuring organizations, Policy development

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2014. VA spina bifida program: Outreach to key stakeholders and written guidance for claims audit follow-up activities needed. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presenting findings from an evaluation of the administration of spina bifida health care benefits for children of servicemembers and veterans by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' Veterans Health Administration (VHA). Topics include the extent to which VHA conducts outreach about available benefits, what is known about available processed health care claims, and what oversight VHA conducts of the claims process. Recommendations for executive action are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-564.

Keywords: Access to health care, Administration, Children with special health care needs, Employee benefits, Federal programs, Health care utilization, Military, Outreach, Spina bifida, Utilization review

National Partnership for Women and Families. 2014. Guide to the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA): Questions and answers (7th ed.). Washington, DC: National Partnership for Women and Families, 36 pp.

Annotation: This guide explains the provisions of the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and how the FMLA protects jobs and health insurance. Requirements, remediation, and other leave laws and protections are discussed. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1725 Eye St. NW, Suite 950, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: info@nationalpartnership.org Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Employee benefits, Family leave, Legislation, Paternal leave, Public policy, Spanish language materials, Work family issues

Abt Associates and the National Academy for State Health Policy. 2014. Peer-to-peer technical assistance for state Title V maternal and child health programs on implementation of the Affordable Care Act: Toolkit. Bethesda, MD: Abt Associates; Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 35 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist state maternal and child health and children with special health care needs program staff in implementing the Affordable Care Act. Topics include eligibility, enrollment, and retention; design of benefits and coverage; and design and support for development of systems of care. Contents include information about potential roles for Title V program staff, questions to consider, action steps, state examples, and resource descriptions.

Contact: Abt Associates Inc., 4800 Montgomery Lane, Suite 600, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 913-0500 Fax: (301) 652-3618 Web Site: http://www.abtassociates.com/index.cfm

Keywords: Eligibility, Employee benefits, Enrollment, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Retention, State MCH programs, Systems development

Smith K, Schaefer A. 2012. Who cares for the sick kids?: Parents' access to paid time to care for a sick child. Durham, NC: Carsey Institute, 5 pp. (Issue brief no. 51)

Annotation: This brief analyzes employed parents’ access to five or more paid sick days annually to care for a sick child. Using data from the 2008 National Study of the Changing Workforce collected by the Families and Work Institute, the authors analyze differences in access between employed mothers and fathers by demographic and work-related characteristics. They report on the percentage of employed parents lacking access to paid sick days for care of children; the differences in reported work satisfaction based on the availability of leave; and the differences in the amount of work mothers and fathers report missing to care for a sick child. Figures and tables show who is responsible for the sick child among married employees the percentage of employed parents who lack access to different kinds of care; and the percentage of workers lacking access to leave based on select characteristics such as education, income level.

Contact: Carsey Institute, University of New Hampshire, 73 Main Street, Huddleston Hall G05B, Durham, NH 03824, Telephone: (603) 862-2821 Fax: (603) 862-3878 Web Site: http://www.carseyinstitute.unh.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Employee benefits, Family leave, National surveys, Statistics, Work family issues

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Policy Center. 2011. Exchanges and dental coverage: Building on an employer base. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Policy Center, 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of private dental insurance coverage, who has coverage and how they obtain it, and the possible impact of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act on employer-sponsored dental benefits. Topics addressed include employer insurance purchasing patterns, state exchanges, and coverage for children and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Children, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Federal legislation, Financing, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State initiatives

Campbell KP, ed. 2010–. Investing in maternal and child health: An employer's toolkit (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 304 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit outlines opportunities that employers have to improve the health of children and adolescents (from birth to age 21) and women (preconception, pregnant, and postpartum periods). Topics include health benefit design, beneficiary education and engagement, and health promotion programs. Recommendations related to minimum dental benefits, cost-sharing arrangements; and other information pertinent to plan design and administration are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children, Cost effectiveness, Employee benefits, Infant, Multimedia, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Sothermel S, Reagin Ford A. 2010. Investing in maternal and child health: An employer cost-savings calculator. Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 19 pp.

Annotation: This technical implementation brief describes a tool that calculates the financial value of preventive health benefits for women of child-bearing age and children. In this brief, a simulated business case study is used to describe how an employer might use the calculator to analyze the cost-savings impact that implementing preventive benefits may have on direct health care costs as well as on indirect health and productivity costs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org

Keywords: Business, Case studies, Child health, Costs, Employee benefits, Health care reform, Health care systems, Models, Preventive health services, Women', s health

Kraczkowsky K, Reagin A, Sherrets D. 2009. An employer's guide to child and adolescent mental health: Recommendations for the workplace, health plans, and employee assistance programs. Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 39 pp.

Annotation: This monograph examines the impact of child and adolescent behavioral health disorders on the workplace by direct and indirect costs, its epidemiology in the U.S., and treatment and cost trends. It also describes the state of child and adolescent behavioral health treatment and makes recommendations to employers on how to better address this challenge with adjustments to their health plan and to their workplace culture.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior disorders, Children, Employee benefits, Health insurance, Mental health, Workplace health promotion, Youth

Massachusetts General Hospital Center for Child and Adolescent Health Policy. 2007. Employee benefits study for CSHCN: [Final report]. [Boston, MA]: Massachusetts General Hospital Center for Child and Adolescent Health Policy, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a 2001-2006 study to examine employer-sponsored benefits systems and workplace supports as they relate to employees who have children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Topics include how such benefits were structured, how employers ad purchasers understand the employees' needs for their CSHCN, opportunities for improvements in workplace supports, and how Title V programs can engage employers to improve services to CSHCN. The report contains an executive summary, a description of project goals and objectives, key findings, project implementation, and sustainability and replication. Additional information is provided on products developed during the project and a summary of recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Final reports, Health care financing, Parent support services, Work family issues, Working parents

Finch RA, Phillips K. 2005. An employer's guide to behavioral health services: A roadmap and recommendations for evaluating, designing, and implementing behavioral health services. Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 95 pp.

Annotation: This guide examines the employer's role in behavioral health care, a continuum of health services for individuals at risk or, or having, mental, behavioral, or addictive disorders. It examines major trends in the epidemiology, treatment, and cost of behavioral healthcare in the United State, discusses the state of employer-sponsored behavioral health services, and makes recommendations to improve the design, delivery, and purchase of employer-sponsored behavioral healthcare services. It also provides an overview of the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health care programs, Health insurance programs, Mental disorders, Mental health, Strategic plans, Substance abuse

Rees C, Finch R. 2004. Health improvement: A comprehensive guide to designing, implementing, and evaluating worksite programs. Washington, DC: Center for Prevention and Health Services, National Business Group on Health, 15 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This guide is for employers interested in health improvement, regardless of whether the company is looking to design a new program altogether or thinking about options to improve or expand existing programs. It provides the following: (1) information on the structure of health improvement programs, (2) the business case for health improvement, (3) examples of best practices, and (4) the means for evaluation. A summary is provided as well as tips and resources for employers. References are also included.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Business, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Fiscal management, Models, Program development, Program evaluation, Workplace health promotion

Martin KE. 2002. Shifting responsibilities: Models of defined contribution. Washington, DC: Academy for Health Services Research and Health Policy, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report begins with a brief review of the existing literature on defined contribution (i.e., a set amount of money that employers provide toward an employee's health coverage). It then presents a typology of various defined contribution models, focusing on the commonalities and differences among them and how they affect the decisions that employees, consumers, and health plans must make. It also considers the implications of defined contribution models on tax policy, risk segmentation, and risk adjustment. The report is divided into the following sections: foreword; introduction; barriers to widespread adoption of defined contribution; actors in health coverage and the roles they play; defined contribution typology; implications of each model; and references. The report was produced for the Robert Woods Johnson Foundation's Changes in Health Care Financing and Organization (HCFO) program.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: info@academyhealth.org Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Health care financing, Health insurance, Models

Robinson G, Chimento L, Bush S, Papay J. 2001. Comprehensive mental health insurance benefits: Case studies. Rockville, MD: U.S. Center for Mental Health Services , 80 pp. (Special report)

Annotation: This report focuses on in-depth case studies of six employers, two health maintenance organizations (HMOs), and one managed behavioral healthcare organization (MBHO) in an effort to provide examples for other companies and managed care organizations to consider when developing their own programs. The report includes an overview and background information, a description of the methodology used in selected the case study sites, and sections on findings from employers and HMOs and the MBHO. Key findings include characteristics of the study participants, the mental health benefits provided, benefit management approaches, employee satisfaction and performance data, examples of best practices, and challenges remaining. Appendices include the advisory panel roster, list of study participants, employer case studies, and managed care organization case studies. References conclude the report.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA 01-3481.

Keywords: Case studies, Comprehensive health care, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Health maintenance organizations, Managed care, Mental health, Program descriptions