Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Blue Apple Players is dedicated to producing musicals, plays, and multi-media presentations for young people and families. With an emphasis on original works, and reaching across social, economic, and geographical boundaries, Blue Apple productions strive to educate, inspire, and entertain, teaching life lessons such as acceptance, patience, honesty, and perseverance. Each year, Blue Apple Players mounts up to four stage productions which tour throughout Kentucky, Indiana, Tennessee, Georgia, Illinois, Virginia and West Virginia. Each production is built on school curriculum. Blue Apple Players also has videos available to the public such as No More Secrets that addresses child sexual abuse, and Stop the Violence.

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Family planning, Health education, Public awareness, Public education, Public health

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF) was founded in 1987 to promote women's equity, reproductive health, and nonviolence. Research and action programs focus on advancing the legal, social, and political equity of women with men. FMF engages in research, public policy development, public education programs, grassroots organizing, and leadership training and development. Publications include electronic news alerts and the feminist magazine, Ms.

Keywords: Women, Reproductive health, Adolescent females, Advocacy, Equal opportunities, Family planning, Feminism, Leadership training, Policy development, Public education, Research, Women', s rights

Annotation: The Institute for Reproductive Health, formerly the Institute for International Studies in Natural Family Planning, located at Georgetown University, conducts research and provides technical assistance on improving access to natural methods and expanding family planning options for women and couples worldwide. The Institute's work focuses on developing simple new natural methods, providing technical assistance to strengthen service provision, developing appropriate training programs and teaching aids, conducting clinical and operations research, and collaborating with international organizations. The Institute has developed the "Standard Days Method" (SDM) - a natural method of family planning developed for women with menstrual cycles between 26 and 32 days (described in the results of a clinical trial published in the May 2003 issue of the journal Contraception). The Institute provides referrals and maintains an online resource library. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Family planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Information services, Medical research, Natural family planning, Resource centers

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH), formerly the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Reproductive Health, works to ensure the provision of quality primary and specialty healthcare to women of all ages by women's health and women's health focused nurse practitioners. It's mission includes protecting and promoting a woman's right to make her own choices regarding her health within the context of her personal, religious, cultural, and family beliefs. NPWH offers continuing education courses, publications, a mobile well-visit app, and additional resources for providers and consumers.

Keywords: Associations, Family planning, Gynecology, Infertility, Nurse practitioners, Obstetrics, Professional education, Reproductive health, Training, Women', s health

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The website provides an A-to-Z guide to health information and services, which can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Center for Sex Education is the national education division of Planned Parenthood of Central and Greater Northern New Jersey. The center provides three core services in sexuality education: publishing sexuality education manuals, hosting the National Sex Ed Conference, and providing membership services through the Sex Ed Network, an online resource that allows access to downloadable lesson plans and the American Journal of Sexuality Education. The center also has a store and a blog, Sexually Smarter.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Population Resource Center (PRC) is a nonprofit organization, founded in 1975, which serves as a resource for policymakers in government, business and the not-for-profit sector on the relationship of demographic trends to socio-economic, political, and environmental issues. The center provides briefings, discussions, presentations, and publications offered by experts in the fields of demographic research, population, international affairs, economic development, reproductive health, family planning, and the environment. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter, PRC Focus, and an annual report.

Keywords: Demography, Economics, Educational programs, Environment, Family planning, Reproductive health

Annotation: The Office of Social Work Research and Public Service (SWORPS) works to improve the quality of social work practice in Tennessee, the southeast region, and the nation. Services include continuing education, multistate survey research capabilities, technical assistance, and training resources for the social work community. Training and materials are available in the areas of foster care, adoption, child protective services, adult protective services, permanency planning, independent living, and family (economic) assistance. Publications include training manuals, books, grant and contract proposals, newsletters, and conference, workshop, and symposium materials. A publications list is available.

Keywords: Social work, Adoption, Child welfare, Continuing education, Family planning, Foster care, Medical research