Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

Couple to Couple League, International (CCL)

Annotation: The Couple to Couple League, International (CCL) is an interfaith, nonprofit organization that helps couples develop the art of natural family planning. The League teaches the symptothermal method (STM), in which measurements of the cervix, cervical mucus, and basal body temperature are cross-checked to determine fertility or infertility. Publications include a bimonthly newsletter, CCL Family Foundations, and CCL Manual: The Art of Natural Family Planning. Printed and online catalogs are available, and materials are available in Spanish, Slovak, Polish, and Russian. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Natural family planning, Pregnancy, Contraception, Fertility, Infertility

EngenderHealth ( )

Annotation: EngenderHealth is an international reproductive health organization working to improve the quality of health care in the world's poorest communities. EngenderHealth empowers people to make informed choices about contraception, trains health professionals to make motherhood safer, promotes gender equity, enhances the quality of HIV and AIDS services, and advocates for policy change. Publications and resources include training curricula, clinical guidelines, instructional videos, brochures, working papers, articles, and online information. The Maternal Health Task Force contributes to shaping collective efforts to improve maternal health worldwide.

Keywords: Contraception, Reproductive health, Sterilization, Vasectomy

National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association (NFPRHA)

Annotation: The National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association (NFPRHA) is a coalition of more than 1,000 family planning providers, hospital-based and independent clinics, Planned Parenthood Federation of America affiliates, family planning councils, health care professionals, consumers, and state, county, and local health departments. The association works to improve and expand the delivery of family planning and reproductive health services and programs throughout the nation. Publications include NFPRHA News, NFPRHA Alert, and NFPRHA Report. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Family planning, Contraception, Health services, Reproductive health

National Women's Health Network (NWHN)

Annotation: The National Women's Health Network (NWHN) works to ensure that women's voices are heard and that their health priorities and concerns are taken seriously. NWHN educates people about health care; helps to create legislation to protect women's rights; and provides information on reproductive health and other topics of importance to women. The Network's advocacy campaigns focus on women’s access to affordable care; reliable information on the safety of drugs, devices, and services; and and women’s autonomy to make decisions about her sexual and reproductive health. Online resources include fact sheets, a bimonthly newsletter, a blog, and links to outside resources.

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Contraception, HIV, Infertility, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Reproductive technologies, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Women's health

Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse (formerly the Family Life Information Exchange) provides referrals and distributes various federal publications on family planning, contraception, adolescent pregnancy, and adoption. Available materials include a catalog, manuals, directories, fact sheets, pamphlets, and summaries of Adolescent Family Life (AFL) projects. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Contraception, Family planning

Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA)

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The website provides an A-to-Z guide to health information and services, which can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education

Annotation: The Center for Sex Education is the national education division of Planned Parenthood of Central and Greater Northern New Jersey. The center provides three core services in sexuality education: publishing sexuality education manuals, hosting the National Sex Ed Conference, and providing membership services through the Sex Ed Network, an online resource that allows access to downloadable lesson plans and the American Journal of Sexuality Education. The center also has a store and a blog, Sexually Smarter.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Power to Decide: The Campaign to Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy

Annotation: Power to Decide, previously the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unpllanned Pregnancy (NCPTUP), founded in 1996 as the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization which seeks to improve the well-being of children, youth, and families through reducing the rate of adolescent pregnancy by one third by the year 2005. In 2008, the mission was expanded to include unplanned pregnancies among 20-somethings. Resources for professionals include fact sheets, statistical compilations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and individual state data on adolescent pregnancy and adolescent pregnancy prevention. Services to consumers include publications addressed to parents, adolescents, and faith communities. Press releases are also provided to the media. The campaign has a resource bureau that fills requests for speakers, consultants, key contacts in each state, publications, and other resources; some materials are available in Spanish. The name was changed in December 2017.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Statistics, Young adults

Program for Appropriate Technology in Health (PATH)

Annotation: Program for Appropriate Technology in Health (PATH) is a nongovernmental international organization that works to improve the health of women and children in developing countries by focusing on the effectiveness, availability, safety, and appropriateness of technologies for health and family planning. Its programs bridge the gap between technologies and potential users through research and development, field assessment, technology transfer, communication, and other activities. Program areas include emerging and epidemic diseases, health technologies, maternal and child health, reproductive health, and vaccines and immunization.. PATH offers a reproductive health newsletter, Outlook, available from its office in Seattle. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Contraception, Counseling, Developing countries, Education, Immunization, Reproduction, Research, Training, Women's health

U.S. Office of Adolescent Health, Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP) grant program is an evidence-based initiative to reduce adolescent pregnancy, HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases, and risky sexual behavior among adolescents by working in concert with closely aligned programs supported by other federal agencies. OAH funds replications of program models from the U.S. Health and Human Services Teen Pregnancy Prevention Evidence Review. OAH also funds TPP research and demonstration programs and provides funds for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to implement and test community-wide approaches to TPP.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Dating, Delayed childbearing, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, Financial support, Health behavior, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Reproductive health, Research, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

University of California, San Francisco, Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health

Annotation: The UCSF Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health was formed in 1999 to address the health, social, and economic consequences of sex and reproduction through research and training in contraception, family planning, and STIs. The Bixby Center strives to develop preventive solutions to the most pressing domestic and international reproductive health problems. Activities include advancing new reproductive health technologies to provide additional choices in contraception, abortion, maternal health and sexually transmitted infection (STI) prevention for diverse populations; understanding factors contributing to adolescent pregnancy and STIs and develop innovative programs to improve adolescent reproductive health; developing and evaluating new technologies to decrease maternal mortality associated with pregnancy and childbirth in low-resource settings; conducting evaluations and policy analysis of innovative domestic and international programs to improve access to reproductive health care for both women and men; training practitioners, researchers and future leaders in the U.S. and internationally in provision of reproductive health care; and providing information, technical assistance and consultation to clinicians, researchers, policy makers and the public on reproductive health issues.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Contraception, Contraceptive use, Family planning, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcomes, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Research, Socioeconomic factors, Women

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.