Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth and Families

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center (AETC National Resource Center)

Annotation: The AIDS Education and Training Centers (AECT) National Resource Center provides education and training resources for the regional AETCs to support their mission to offer timely, high quality, state-of-the-art information to healthcare professionals working with existing and emerging populations affected by HIV. The center offers a virtual library of online training resources for adaptation to meet local training needs; clinical information; journal scan and training materials on new and emerging issues important to HIV care providers; and listservs providing information about updates in clinical treatment guidelines, availability of new training resources, and newly available government documents.

Keywords: HIV, AIDS, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional education, Professional training

AIDSinfo

Annotation: AIDSinfo, formerly the AIDS Clinical Trials and Treatment Information Service, is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV. AIDSinfo is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. AIDS clinical trials evaluate experimental drugs and other therapies for adults and children at all stages of HIV infection -- from patients who are HIV positive with no symptoms to those with various symptoms of AIDS. As the main dissemination point for federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, AIDSinfo provides information about the current treatment regimens for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses, including the prevention of HIV transmission from occupational exposure and mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy. The website can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Spanish language materials

American Association of Blood Banks (AABB)

Annotation: The American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) promotes the highest standards of care and service to patients, donors, other health care professionals, and the public by providing leadership in blood procurement, distribution, and other activities related to blood banking and transfusion medicine. More than 2,000 institutional members (community and hospital blood banks and hospital transfusion services) collect the nation's blood supply and transfuse more than 80 percent of the supply. Individual members include 8,000 physicians, scientists, medical technologists, administrators, blood donor recruiters, nurses, and public-spirited citizens. AABB sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and journal. Some materials are available in Spanish and French and one publication in available in Japanese.

Keywords: AIDS, Blood banks, Cardiovascular diseases, HIV, Hematologic diseases, Hepatitis

American Foundation for AIDS Research (AmfAR)

Annotation: The American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR), founded in 1985, is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting AIDS research, AIDS prevention and treatment education initiatives, and advocacy for sound AIDS-related public policy. The public policy program is currently engaged in efforts to secure necessary increases in funding for HIV/AIDS research, including vaccine and microbicide research; implement a comprehensive national prevention strategy, including repeal of the current ban on federal funding for syringe exchange programs; expand access to care and treatment; and protect the civil rights of all people affected by HIV/AIDS. amfAR has awarded grants to research teams worldwide. It is funded by voluntary contributions from individuals, foundation, and corporations. The foundation publishes the twice-yearly amfAR Global Link, a comprehensive source of information on HIV/AIDS treatments and clinical trials, available in paperback and in an online interactive database format at amfAR's Web site. amfAR also sponsors conferences, seminars, and "think tanks." Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , Foundations, HIV

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Child Welfare League of America (CWLA)

Annotation: The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) brings together public and private nonprofit voluntary child welfare agencies in efforts to advance policies, best practices, and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for vulnerable children, youth, and families. The league sets internationally recognized standards for child welfare practice; proposes public policy initiatives; offers consultation, training, and technical assistance for member agencies; and provides reference information, publications, and referrals for consumers. Areas of concern include adolescent pregnancy and parenting, adoption, AIDS, chemical dependency, child abuse and neglect, child care, child poverty, cultural competence, developmental disabilities, foster care, family preservation, homelessness, juvenile justice, kinship care, and residential group care. Publications include the Children's Voice magazine, Child Welfare Journal, Child Welfare Standards of Excellence, and the PRIDE training curriculum, along with hundreds of books.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Child abuse, Child care, Child health, Child neglect, Child welfare, Foster care, Nonprofit organizations, AIDS,

Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Center for Strengthening Youth Prevention Paradigms

Annotation: The Center for Strengthening Youth Prevention Paradigms provides capacity building assistance (CBA) services to mobilize communities in the western region of the United States around HIV prevention for youth and helps community-based organizations and coalitions to increase community access to and utilization of HIV prevention services young gay men and transgender youth, with an emphasis on youth of color. Services include individualized consultation, in-person and web-based training, community mobilization toolkits, community mapping, as well as newsletters and resource lists. The Center is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and housed in the Division of Adolescent Medicine at Children's Hospital Los Angeles.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescents, HIV, Homosexuality, Prevention services, Young men

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE)

Annotation: The Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE) builds on principles and practices of health promotion and education to strengthen public health capacity in policy and systems change to improve the health of all and achieve health equity. Resources include news, a calendar of events, community market analyses, online groups, and links to information on careers, health equity, health policy and advocacy, health policy and environmental change, health-related organizations, school employee wellness, school health, state worksite wellness programs, and training and professional development. DHPE is an affiliate of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Professional societies, Public health programs, Public health services

Haemophilia Society

Annotation: Established in 1950, the Haemophilia Society is an international organization that provides information and support for people with hemophilia (or AIDS/HIV-related hemophilia and HEPC-related hemophilia) and their families and friends. The society advocates high treatment standards and campaigns for individuals with hemophilia. It holds an annual residential seminar for members, families, and professionals. Publications include a quarterly newsletter,The Bulletin, and other periodicals. Some materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, HIV, Hematologic diseases, Hemophilia, Overseas organization, Support groups

Health Initiatives for Youth (HIFY)

Annotation: Health Initiatives for Youth (HIFY) provides training, technical assistance, and informational resources to health and social service providers who work with youth. It publishes Bridges, a quarterly newsletter for organizations and individuals who work with HIV-affected youth; the Adolescent Providers Guide, a directory of youth services in San Francisco; Reality, a quarterly magazine by and for HIV-positive youth; and a health guide for young women. It also sponsors comprehensive network of services for HIV-affected youth in San Francisco. Publications and referrals are also available to consumers.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, HIV

Hemophilia and AIDS/HIV Network for the Dissemination of Information (HANDI)

Annotation: The Hemophilia and AIDS/HIV Network for the Dissemination of Information (HANDI) is a resource center of the National Hemophilia Foundation. Handi maintains a comprehensive resource collection of educational materials on hemophilia and AIDS/HIV. Areas of emphasis are HIV risk reduction (including outreach and strategies for promoting and maintaining behavioral change in people at risk), living with hemophilia and AIDS/HIV, treatments for HIV infection, and finance and reimbursement issues. Publications include HANDI Resource Update, HIV Treatment Information Exchange, and various bibliographies, resource packets, and fact sheets. Publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Hemophilia, AIDS, Educational materials, HIV, HIV infected patients, Information dessimination, Outreach

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

HIV Law Project

Annotation: The HIV Law Project provides legal and advocacy services to low-income HIV-positive residents of Manhattan and the Bronx, particularly women and people of color. The project provides advice and representation to clients in their day-to-day legal problems, including discriminatory treatment, HIV-related confidentiality issues, housing and eviction prevention, denial of financial and medical benefits, immigration law, public and private health insurance issues, consumer and creditor/debtor law, employment law and benefit issues, last wills and testaments and advanced planning, and permanency planning and other family law matters.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, HIV, Local organizations, New York, Patient rights

HIV.gov

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Annotation: The Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University conducts international research, programs in education, and public policy initiatives in an ongoing effort to keep global populations safe from injury and illness. The school's Hopkins Population Center conducts interdisciplinary research on populations within the U.S. and abroad; brings together biodefense and public health preparedness research and training initiaitves; and monitors and predicts illness, including the progression of HIV to AIDS. The school's Institute for Vaccine Safety provides an independent assessment of vaccines and vaccine safety to help guide decision makers and educate physicians, the public, and the media about key issues surrounding the safety of vaccines. Demographic data as well as news items concerning the health and safety of America's populations (e.g., safety-seat legislation, weather emergency preparedness, and data-monitoring developments ) are posted on the Web site.

Keywords: , Immunization, AIDS, Health promotion, Injury prevention, International health, Preventive health services, Research

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Violence and Injury Prevention

Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program

Annotation: The UCSD Mother-Child-Adolescent HIV Program provides a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to HIV disease in women, pregnant women, children, and adolescents. The program provides perinatal HIV consultation, comprehensive obstetric care, infant screening, comprehensive HIV care for women, children and adolescents, counseling and education. The program offers perinatal transmission studies and therapeutic clinical trials. As a Title IV Ryan White program, the UCSD Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program is an active participant in a community-wide partnership that advocates services for children, adolescents, and families. Resources are available in Spanish. The program sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV

National AIDS Fund

Annotation: AIDS United (formed when the National AIDS Fund, a grantmaking public charity, and AIDS Action, a nonprofit advocacy organization, merged) is a national organization that works to connect funding, advocacy, and capacity-building programs in the fight against HIV/AIDS in the United States. AIDS United advocates for people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS and the organizations that serve them. It supports more than 400 grassroots organizations that provide HIV prevention, care and support services to underserved individuals, and populations most impacted by the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Education, HIV, Workplace

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.