Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Annotation: The Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS) offers Certificates of Life (for a fee) to parents who have experienced miscarriage, stillbirth, or early infant death. The certificate serves as a substitute for a legal birth certificate and attests to the fact that the baby was once alive.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: DES Action is a consumer advocacy group for people exposed to diethylstilbestrol (DES) in utero, for the mothers given this drug during pregnancy and also for the 3rd Generation exposed (grandchildren of women prescribed the drug). DES was prescribed to prevent miscarriage. DES Action provides inquiry responses, medical and legal referral lists and a quarterly newsletter, DES Action Voice.

Keywords: Adenosis, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Clear-cell adenocarcinoma, Diethylstilbestrol, Infertility, Pregnancy complications, Preterm birth, Spontaneous abortion, Tubal pregnancy, Vaginal cancer

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

Annotation: NARAL, Pro-Choice America (formerly the National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League) fights to secure and protect the freedom to choose. The organization works to effect policies that ensure all women the ability to make informed and deliberate decisions about their reproductive health, including preventing unintended pregnancy, bearing healthy children, and choosing legal abortion. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Abortion, Reproductive health, Women

Annotation: The National Abortion Federation (NAF) is a nonprofit organization of more than 350 institutions that provide abortion services. It serves as a clearinghouse of information on abortion facility services and provides standards, guidelines, education, and training for its members. The federation monitors and seeks to influence educational, legislative, and public policy developments in reproductive health care, and it operates a consumer education hotline that provides reference information and referrals on the medical, legal, and psychological aspects of abortion. NAF sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Abortion, Abortion clinics, Education, Reproductive health

Annotation: The National Women's Health Network (NWHN) works to ensure that women's voices are heard and that their health priorities and concerns are taken seriously. NWHN educates people about health care; helps to create legislation to protect women's rights; and provides information on reproductive health and other topics of importance to women. The Network's advocacy campaigns focus on women’s access to affordable care; reliable information on the safety of drugs, devices, and services; and and women’s autonomy to make decisions about her sexual and reproductive health. Online resources include fact sheets, a bimonthly newsletter, a blog, and links to outside resources.

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Contraception, HIV, Infertility, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Reproductive technologies, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The website provides an A-to-Z guide to health information and services, which can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support serves those whose lives are touched by the death of an infant through early pregnancy loss, stillbirth, or in the first few months of life. SHARE contributes information packets, correspondence, and support free of charge to bereaved parents. Additional services include training and conferences, support resources such as a bimonthly newsletter, a chat room, online catalog, and message boards. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Ectopic pregnancy, Fetal death, Grief, Information services, Molar pregnancy, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups