Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Annotation: Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline offers crisis intervention, information, and referrals to emergency, social service, and support resources. Dedicated to the prevention of child abuse, the hotline is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with professional crisis counselors who, through interpreters, can provide assistance in 170 languages, including Spanish. All calls are anonymous and confidential. The hotline number is (800) 4-A-CHILD (800) 422-4453.

Keywords: Child abuse, Crisis intervention, Hotlines, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service operates a telephone service that provides current information on the possible risk to a fetus exposed to a particular medication, chemical, infection, or substance abuse during pregnancy. The service is offered to women who are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and concerned partners who want information, education, or counseling about exposure risks. Callers at risk or with complicated exposures are encouraged to seek personal genetic counseling, which can be provided by this service or by a genetic counselor in the caller's region. Telephone callers receive written follow-ups. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include fact sheets and a newsletter.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Connecticut, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetus, Hotlines, Information services, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline or its website. Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The website also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System( a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the website is designed for children.

Keywords: Safety, Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: Health Hotlines is a compilation of organizations with toll-free telephone numbers. It is derived from DIRLINE, the National Library of Medicine's Directory of Information Resources Online. This database contains descriptions of over 14,000 biomedical information resources, including organizations, databases, research resources, etc. Health Hotlines also lists a variety of groups disseminating information on a number of specific diseases and disorders. Organizations fall into many categories including Federal, State, and local government agencies, information and referral centers, professional societies, support groups and voluntary associations, and providers of information in Spanish.

Keywords: Hotlines, Emergencies, Information sources, National Library of Medicine

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Annotation: The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC) is an ovarian cancer public information and education organization. NOCC provides toll-free information, online discussion forums, print and electronic materials, including news updates and research findings, and other ovarian cancer support resources and services.

Keywords: Gynecology, Cancer, Consumer education, Hotlines, Information sources, Ovarian cancer, Resource centers, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides information on a variety of pesticide-related topics, including toxicology, health and environmental effects, pesticide product information, information on the recognition and management of pesticide poisonings, treferrals for laboratroy analyses, investigation of pesticide incidents, emergency treatment information, safety information, and clean-up and disposal procedures. NPIC provides a toll-free telephone service available to anyone in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands including the general public, the hearing impaired, Spanish speakers and medical, veterinary, and other health care professionals.

Keywords: Insecticides, Environmental exposures, Hotlines, Information services, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) is a comprehensive collection and distribution center for information, research, and emerging policy on sexual violence intervention and prevention. It provides online library and technical assistance and also coordinates National Sexual Assault Awareness Month initiatives. NSVRC is a project of the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape (PCAR) , which advocates for services for all sexual assault victims and works to increase public understanding of sexual violence. Through the coalition, the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare funds 52 centers that provide services for adult and child victim/survivors and their families in all Pennsylvania counties. These services include 24-hour hotlines, crisis counseling, education programs for schools and communities, systems advocacy, information and referral, and hospital, police, and court accompaniment. PCAR publishes a catalog and a newsletter and sponsors training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Rape, Advocacy, Counseling, Education programs, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Pennsylvania, Sexual assault, Spanish language materials, Victims, Violence prevention

Annotation: The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is part of the National Suicide Prevention Initiative (NSPI), a collaborative effort led by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) that incorporates best practices and research findings in suicide prevention and intervention with the goal of reducing the incidence of suicide nationwide. The Lifeline is a network of more than 100 local crisis centers located in communities across the country that are committed to suicide prevention. Callers to the hotline will receive suicide prevention counseling from trained staff at the closest certified crisis center in the network.

Keywords: Hotlines, Counseling , Injury prevention, Intervention, Suicide

Annotation: The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN) carries out programs to prevent sexual assault, help victims, and ensure that rapists are brought to justice. RAINN sponsors public awareness events and special projects, and provides statistics, counseling resources, prevention tips, public awareness materials, and legislative news updates. The Network operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE.

Keywords: , Sexual abuse, Counseling, Criminal justice system, Hotlines, Incest, Legislation, Prevention programs, Public awareness materials, Rape, Sexual assault, Social support, Victims

Annotation: The National Mental Health Information Center (formerly known as the National Mental Health Services Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN) provides easy access to information about mental health. Information on topics including addiction, anxiety, depression, and eating disorders is available from the innformation center. The Web site provides publications and other information, a state services locator, and a list of toll-free hotlines. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Mental health

Annotation: The Self Reliance Foundation / Acceso Hispano (SRF), a non profit organization, serves disadvantaged populations through disseminating educational information and facilitating access to community-based services. SRF specifically focuses on informing Hispanic people about opportunities for personal and community empowerment in the areas of health, women's issues, education, economic opportunities, science, environmental protection, and access to new technologies. SRF's national efforts include sponsoring the National Hispanic Resource Helpline which provides referrals to affordable bilingual information and services throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. SRF supports the National Hispanic Family Planning and Reproductive Health Awareness Campaign which raises awareness of reproductive health issues and increases access to reproductive health facilities by under-served Hispanic populations. The foundation also partners with the National Latino Children's Institute to develop educational programming for parents and caretakers. Local efforts in the Washington DC area include partnering with reproductive health clinics which target the needs of the Hispanic community, coordinating with local health fairs which provide information and services to the uninsured, and conducting reproductive health workshops in local community health centers. The organization offers internships and student fellowships.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Information dissemination, Media campaigns, Public awareness campaigns, Referrals

Annotation: Baby Your Baby (BYB) is a public service campaign initiated in 1987 by the Utah Department of Health in partnership with the public and private sector to reduce Utah's infant mortality rate by expanding prenatal health care services and outreach. The campaign established a 1-800 statewide hotline to provide information on referral sources, give financial information, and answer questions relating to different aspects of prenatal and well-child care. BYB messages are also spread through television, radio, print, and outdoor advertising in both English and Spanish. The program has received numerous local, state, and national awards, including the National Achievement award from the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition for Sustained Public Information Program in America.

Keywords: Hotlines, Infant mortality, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Utah

Annotation: The Washington Poison Center is a statewide provider of immediate, free and expert treatment advice and assistance on the telephone in the case of exposure to poisonous, hazardous or toxic substances. The WPC is accessible toll-free, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Topics include general safety, medicine, food, plants, pets, adolescents,seniors, hazards, first aid, and fun and games. The center provides Mr. Yuk stickers, prevention and treatment guides in various languages, fact sheets, coloring and activity books, a teacher's guide with lesson plans and activity ideas, mini-posters, videos, and other materials. Callers not residing in Washington state are referred automatically by the national poison help line to poison control centers in their state. Languages include Chinese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Teratogens, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Reproductive hazards, Risk assessment, Teratology, Washington