Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (30 total).

Academy of Women's Health

Annotation: The Academy of Women’s Health is an interdisciplinary, international association of physicians, nurses, and other health professionals who work across the broad field of women’s health, providing up-to-date advances and options in clinical care that will enable the best outcomes for women patients. The academy’s focus includes the dissemination of translational research and evidence-based practices for disease prevention, diagnosis, and treatment for women across the lifespan. Resources include an annual conference, the Journal of Women's Health, a blog, and discussion groups on social media.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Information dissemination, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional associations, Women's health

American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (AAOMP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (AAOMP) represents the specialty of dentistry and pathology that deals with the nature, identification, and management of diseases affecting the oral and maxillofacial regions. AAOMP addresses the causes, processes, and effects of these diseases, as well as research and diagnosis and management of disease. The website provides information for members, fellows, council, health professionals, residents, students, and the general public. Topics include the academy's annual meeting, news, continuing education, and position papers. A search tool for finding a pathologist or laboratory is also available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Oral health, Professional associations

American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

American Indian Library Association (AILA)

Annotation: The American Indian Library Association (AILA) is a membership group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaskan Natives. AILA was founded in 1979 in conjunction with the White House pre-conference on Indian library and information services on or near reservations. In 1985, AILA became an affiliate of the American Library Association. The assoiation publishes a newsletter, hosts a listservice, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Associations, American Indians, Information services, Libraries, Library services

American Library Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Library Association (ALA) promotes public access to information and provides leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship as a whole. ALA provides a variety of resources, educational opportunities, and awards for distinguished service in the field, and advocates for the development of library programs and services that support continuous learning. ALA sponsors online discussion lists, maintains an online store, and publishes a variety of newsletters, journals, and magazines (most of which are available electronically). Membership is open to any person, library, or other organization interested in library service and librarianship.

Keywords: Libraries, Advocacy, Associations, Information services, Librarians, Library services, Professional education

Asian / Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)

Annotation: The Asian / Pacific Librarians Association (APALA) was incorporated in Illinois in 1981 and formally affiliated with the American Library Association (ALA) in 1982. APALA works to address the needs of Asian / Pacific American librarians and those who serve Asian / Pacific American communities. The association provides a forum for discussing problems and exchanging idea among APA and other librarians; supports and encourages library services to APA communities; recruits and mentors APA librarians in the library/information science professions; and fosters cooperation between APA librarians and other organizations having similar or allied interests. APALA also seeks funding for scholarships in library/information science masters programs.

Keywords: Librarians, Asian Americans, Associations, Library services, Mentors, Pacific Americans, Professional societies, Recuitment

Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR)

Annotation: The Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR), formerly known as the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine (ATPM), advances population-based and public health education, research, and service by linking and supporting members of the academic prevention community. APTR develops curriculum, professional development, and communication tools for educators, researchers, residents, and students. APTR is the convener of the Healthy People Curriculum Task Force to increase the teaching of health promotion and disease prevention in health professional education. In October 2006, the APTR launched the Prevention Education Resource Center (PERC) at http://teachprevention.org -- a web-based repository of educational materials that can be used to teach prevention and population health-related topics. The PERC Web site promotes collaboration across health care disciplines, professions, and institutions by facilitating the exchange of teaching resources and connecting educators. The association publishes the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Keywords: Associations, Preventive health services, Professional education

Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)

Canadian Health Libraries Association

Annotation: The Canadian Health Libraries Association / Association des bibliothèques de la santé du Canada (CHLA/ABSC) is a professional organization of approximately 400 individuals in the health sciences library field in Canada. Through its programs and publications CHLA/ABSC encourages the professional development of its members whose foremost concern is the dissemination of health sciences information to those in research, education and patient care. Information is available in English and French.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Associations, Canada, Professional development

Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA)

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)

Annotation: The Chinese Amerian Librarians Assoiation (CALA) is an active affiliate of the American Library Association (ALA) since 1976 and a member of the Council of National Library and Information Associations (CNLIA). CALA started out in 1973 as the Mid-West Chinese American Librarians Association (a regional organization in Illinois); a year later, the Chinese Librarians Association was formed in California. With the establishment of the Florida Chapter in 1998, CALA now has six chapters and members throughout the United States, as well as in Canada, China, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan. The assiation publishes a newsletter, an electronic journal, and occasional paper series; hosts a listservice; provides scholarships and awards; and sponsors workshops and annual programs. Through its mentorship Program, CALA helps prepare information science students for successful library careers; assists new and junior librarians; and allows seasoned CALA members to exercise their leadership skills, pass on their excellent experience, and invigorate the profession by making others successful.

Keywords: Mentors, Librarians, Asian Americans, Associations, Careers

Delta Dental Plans Association (DDPA)

Annotation: Delta Dental Plans Association (DDPA) is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates as member companies. Through 39 independent member companies, DDPA offers national dental coverage—administering programs and reporting systems that provide groups and individuals with dental benefits and customer service.

Keywords: Associations, Dental insurance, Health insurance

Foundation for the Advancement of Health Education (FAHE)

Annotation: The Foundation for the Advancement of Health Education was founded to support the mission and programs of the American Association for Health Education (AAHE). It publishes the Global Journal of Health Education and Promotion and provides scholarships and awards.

Keywords: Associations, Health education

Girl Scouts of the USA

Annotation: Girl Scouts of the USA provides recreational and developmental activities for girls ages 5-17. The Girl Scout program focuses on encouraging girls to develop to their full potential; relate to others with increasing understanding, skill, and respect; develop a meaningful set of values to guide their actions and to provide for sound decision-making; and contribute to the improvement of society. Through the Girl Scout Research Institute, the organization conducts studies, releases information, and provides resources for the well-being and safety of girls. Information is provided in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent females, Associations, Child development, Female children, Recreation, Spanish language materials

Human Milk Banking Association of North America (HMBANA)

Annotation: The Human Milk Banking Association of North America has members in the United States and Canada. The association's milk banks not only provide milk to client hospitals but also serve many infants in the home who need milk because of medical conditions such as formula intolerance or feeding issues related to prematurity. Links to related resources are provided on the website and publications on establishing and operating donor human milk banks, as well as information on pumping, storing, and handling human milk can be purchased for a fee.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Milk banks

International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN)

Annotation: The International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN) consists of public interest groups working around the world to reduce infant and young child morbidity and mortality. IBFAN aims to improve the health and well being of babies and young children, their mothers and their families through the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding and optimal infant feeding practices. Information and publications are available online through IBFAN's Resource Center. Materials are available in English, French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Associations, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Health promotion, Infant feeding. Infant health, International health

Medical Library Association (MLA)

Annotation: The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a nonprofit, educational organization of institutions and individual members in the health sciences information field, committed to educating health information professionals, supporting health information research, promoting access to the world's health sciences information, and working to ensure that the best health information is available to all.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Associations, Education, Information services, Professional development, Research

Modern Language Association (MLA)

Annotation: This membership association promotes the study, criticism, and research in the more and less commonly taught modern languages and their literatures and works to further the common interests of teachers of these subjects.

Keywords: Associations, Language, Professional societies

National Alliance of Multi-Ethnic Behavioral Health Associations (NAMBHA)

Annotation: National Alliance of Multi-Ethnic Behavioral Health Associations (NAMBHA) is a non-profit organization representing the following racial or ethnic behavioral health associations: 1) The First Nations Behavioral Health Association; (2) The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association; (3) The National Latino Behavioral Health Association; and (4) The National Leadership Council on African American Behavioral Health. Its purpose is to bring organizations representing diverse people of color together as a single voice to increase the effectiveness of advocacy, ensure a positive impact on the use of resources, and to collectively share expertise on behavioral health issues that significantly affect people of color.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental health, Advocacy, Associations, Collaboration, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Racial factors

National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA)

Annotation: The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA) advocates on behalf of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) mental health issues and collaborates with others in efforts to develop comprehensive, culturally comptenent services to meet the needs of the AAPI population. Formed in the year 2000, the association aims to enhance the collection of appropriate and accurate data; identify current best practices and service models; increase capacity building (which includes providing technical assistance and training of service providers); conduct research and evaluation; and work to engage consumers and families. The association serves as a forum for effective collaboration, and networks among stake holders of community based organizations, consumers, family members, service providers, program developers, researchers, evaluators, and policy makers. NAAPIMHA provides electronic access to a national directory of AAPI services providers which can be searched via the website.

Keywords: Associations, Mental health, Asian American, Collaboration, Culturally competenent services, Data collection, Model programs, Research

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.