Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO)

Annotation: The mission of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is to promote excellence in women's health care education and provide an exchange of information on programs of study, teaching methods and research activities among gynecologic and obstetric programs. The APGO Women's Healthcare Education Office (WHEO) is invloved in activities to strengthen undergraduate women's health education for all medical students, including a women's health care competencies project. APGO provides reference information to consumers, publishes a catalog of available publications, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology (CUCOG)

Annotation: The Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology (CUCOG) promotes excellence in medical education in the fields of obstetrics and gynecology. The council, which represents chairpersons in departments of obstetrics and gynecology within schools of medicine, conducts an annual meeting, publishes a semiannual newsletter, and provides copies of special reports such as A Blueprint for the Future of Academic Obstetrics and Gynecology (the result of a two-day retreat conducted by CUCOG).

Keywords: , Obstetrics, Gynecology, Medical schools, Professional societies

Foundation for Women's Cancer

National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH)

Annotation: The National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH), formerly the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Reproductive Health, works to ensure the provision of quality primary and specialty healthcare to women of all ages by women's health and women's health focused nurse practitioners. It's mission includes protecting and promoting a woman's right to make her own choices regarding her health within the context of her personal, religious, cultural, and family beliefs. NPWH offers continuing education courses, publications, a mobile well-visit app, and additional resources for providers and consumers.

Keywords: Associations, Family planning, Gynecology, Infertility, Nurse practitioners, Obstetrics, Professional education, Reproductive health, Training, Women's health

National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC)

North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG)

Annotation: The North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG) was established in 1986 and is comprised of obstetricians, gynecologists, and pediatricians. The society develops curriculum for medical students, residents, and practicing physicians in the area of pediatric and adolescent gynecology. Publications include a bi-monthly journal entitled Journal of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology and a quarterly newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Gynecology, Professional education, Professional societies

North American Society for Psychosocial Obstetrics and Gynecology (NASPOG)

Annotation: The North American Society for Psychosocial Obstetrics and Gynecology (NASPOG) fosters the scholarly, scientific, and clinical study of the biopsychosocial aspects of obstetric and gynecologic medicine. Although the primary focus is often on women, this does not preclude the study of men insofar as they are involved with women in couple communications, sexual, reproductive, and parenting behavior. The society was formed in 1971 as an independent body after existing as a special interest group of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) since the early 1960's. The society remains an affiliate organization of ACOG. NASPOG conducts an annual meeting during February-March each year holding abstract presentations, poster sessions, and symposia with invited speakers. The annual meeting serves as a forum for scientific and clinical discussions.

Keywords: Professional societies, Psychosocial factors, Gynecology, Medical research, Obstetrics, Reproductive health, Women's health

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago, Women with Disabilities Center

Annotation: The Women with Disabilities Center provides a variety of health services for women with disabling conditions, including consultative pregnancy services, family planning, mammogram referrals, preventive health care counseling, parenting support, peer counseling, psychological services, and support groups. The center provides referrals and offers educational literature, videotapes, and seminars on such topics as prenatal care, parenting challenges, sexuality and dating, aging and menopause, violence and self-defense, and disability rights. Publications include a newsletter, Resourceful Woman: Women with Disabilities Striving Toward Health and Self-Determination, published three times a year. The Center also sponsors workshops and training seminars.

Keywords: Gynecology, Parenting, Physical disabilities, Pregnancy, Special health care needs, Women

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.