Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (64 total).

American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM)

Annotation: Previously known as the Society for Clinical Ecology, the group was founded in 1965 and is an international association of physicians and other professional interested in the clinical aspects of human ecology. The Academy is interested in expanding the knowledge of interactions between human individuals and their environment, as these may be demonstrated to be reflected in their total health. The Academy is comprised primarily of medical professionals who sponsor publications, seminars, and courses. A newsletter and journal are among the organization's publications.

Keywords: Environmental medicine

American Academy of Pediatrics, Council on Environmental Health (COEH)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Council on Environmental Health (COEH) advises the AAP Board of Directors on environmental health issues and supports legislative initiatives designed to protect the health of the fetus, infant, and child from toxic exposure and debilitating or hazardous environmental agents. The Council also leads educational initiatives related to children's environmental health. The website provides links to patient education materials, Council newsletters, environmental health-related articles in AAP News, and Council-authored policy statements on issues such as air pollution, lead screening, secondhand smoke, and radiation disasters.

Keywords: , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Risk factors

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights

Annotation: Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights is a member-supported lobbying association. It promotes clean indoor air legislation. Its sister organization the American Nonsmokers' Rights Foundation creates comprehensive programs for youth of all ages on issues of smoking prevention, the benefits of smokefree air, and the right to breathe smokefree air. It provides educational resources for schools, health departments, medical organizations, and others interested in the issues surrounding smoking and secondhand smoke.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Environmental exposure, Nicotine, Smoking cessation

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

Best Babies Zone (BBZ)

Annotation: The Best Babies Zone (BBZ) Initiative is a multi-sector approach to reducing infant mortality and racial disparities in birth outcomes and improving birth and health outcomes by mobilizing communities to address the social determinants that affect health. The uniqueness of this national initiative lies in the fact that not only is the approach zonal, but it is comprehensive – addressing four critical sectors – economics, education, health, and community – in order to strengthen environments that support better and healthier outcomes. BBZ is funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is being implemented in three cities – Cincinnati, Ohio; New Orleans, Louisiana; and Oakland, California.

Keywords: Barriers, Cities, Communities, Community action, Environmental influences, Infant mortality, National initiatives, Public private partnerships, Racial factors, Risk factors, Socioeconomic factors

Birth Defect Research for Children (BDRC)

Annotation: Birth Defect Research for Children (BDRC), formerly the Association of Birth Defect Children (ABDC), disseminates information on birth defects, especially those that may be caused by environmental substances such as drugs, pesticides and other chemicals, and radiation. It also provides referrals and helps people with birth defects to cope with problems associated with physical malformation. The 501 (c) (3) organization sponsors a national parent matching program that links families of children with similar birth defects, and in 1993 it established a National Birth Defect Registry that collects information on birth defects, learning disabilities, cancers, and other childhood disabilities that may be related to environmental exposure of either parent during or before pregnancy. Publications include fact sheets on the most common categories of birth defects as well as environmental toxins that have been linked to birth defects.  A free monthly newsletter is sent out electronically.  Parents may subscribe on the BDRC web site.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental exposures, Family support services, Information services

Brookings Institution, Metropolitan Policy Program

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

Center for Progressive Reform

Annotation: The Center for Progressive Reform is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit research and educational organization working to protect health, safety, and the environment through analysis and commentary. CPR’s core issue areas are health, safety and the environment, addressing topics as: protecting the environment (including climate change, clean air and water, enforcement issues, environmental justice, toxins, the next generation of environmental policies, natural resources, wildlife and nature); defending clean science from political or corporate interference; ensuring food and drug safety; excessive secrecy in government (focused on areas affecting health, safety and the environment); regulatory policy (including cost-benefit analysis, risk assessment and various tools for weighing the merits of protective regulation); and corporate accountability and tort reform (including federal preemption of state tort laws).

Keywords: Advocacy, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Food safety, Public health, Safety

Center for Rural Pennsylvania

Annotation: The Center for Rural Pennsylvania is a bipartisan, bicameral legislative agency that serves as a resource for rural policy within the Pennsylvania General Assembly. The center works with executive agencies and federal, regional and community organizations to maximize resources and strategies that can better serve the needs of Pennsylvania's 2.8 million rural residents. The center promotes and sustains the vitality of Pennsylvania's rural and small communities by: awarding grants for applied research and model projects; maintaining and disseminating information on rural trends and conditions; publishing research and project results; and sponsoring local, state and national forums on rural issues.

Keywords: Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Rural population, State agencies

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN)

Annotation: The Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN) is a national non-profit organization dedicated to addressing pediatric environmental health concerns. In its ongoing efforts to promote a healthy environment, and to protect the fetus and child from environmental hazards, CEHN curently focuses on the key areas of chemical-safe policy; global climate change and children's health; education and training (for child care and health care providers, and the general public); and support for pediatric research and protective policies. A variety of materials, including a resource guide, are available on the website. Workshops and professional educational modules are available.

Keywords: Environmental health, Training

Columbia Center for Children's Environmental Health

Annotation: The mission of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health is to improve the respiratory health and cognitive development of children and to reduce their cancer risk by identifying environmental toxicants, genetic susceptibility factors, and conditions related to poverty that increase their risk of disease. Additionally, research results are used to educate parents, families, and health professionals and inform prevention strategies and public policy to reduce levels of harmful environmental toxicants.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Research

Concerned Educators Allied for a Safe Environment (CEASE)

Annotation: The Concerned Educators Allied for a Safe Environment (CEASE) is a national network of parents, teachers, and other advocates of young children. The organization draws attention to the conflict between efforts to make the classrooms safe for children and the lack of attention to the dangerous world outside. CEASE publishes Cease News three times a year; develops peace education materials; gives workshops for local groups and at regional and national conferences; conducts petition campaigns on such issues as child care, the military budget, and war toys; and works for the regulation of the amount of violence and commercialism on children's TV programming.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Environmental hazards

Conservation Law Foundation

Annotation: The Conservation Law Foundation (CLF) is a nonprofit, public interest, member supported organization that uses the law to improve the management of natural resources and protect the environment and pubic health throughout New England. Its current work is in the areas of clean energy and climate change; ocean conservation; clean water; healthy forests; and healthy communities, including transportation, livable cities, and a farm and food initiative.

Keywords: Environmental hazards, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning

Convergence Partnership

Annotation: In 2006, a collaboration of funders came together to create the Healthy Eating Active Living Convergence Partnership, with the shared goal of changing policies and environments to better achieve the vision of healthy people living in healthy places. The steering committee includes representatives from The California Endowment, Kaiser Permanente, Nemours, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention serve as critical technical advisors on the committee. The work of the Partners is supported by PolicyLink, a national research and action institute devoted to advancing economic and social equity. The Convergence Partnership supports multifield equity-focused efforts to create environments that support healthy eating and active living.

Keywords: Advocacy, Environment, Health promotion, Public awareness campaigns

Council for Biotechnology Information

Annotation: The Council for Biotechnology Information is a coalition of biotechnology companies that aims to create a public dialogue and share information about biotechnology that is based on scientific research, expert opinion, and published reports. The council provides public information through its Web site, consumer-oriented brochures and printed materials, advertising, and a toll-free number. Topics addressed include environmental protection, better nutrition, feeding the world's population, the delivery of medicines through food, and food safety.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Drug administration routes, Environment, Food safety, Food supply, Genetic engineering, Hunger, Nutrition

Council of the Great City Schools

Annotation: The Council of the Great City Schools provides a forum for urban educators to develop strategies, exchange ideas, and conduct research on urban education. The council promotes public policy initiatives to ensure improvement of education and equity in the delivery of comprehensive educational programs. The organization publishes reports and a newsletter (these can be downloaded in pdf format from the Web site), and sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Child health, Educational programs, School districts, Urban environment

FHI 360 ( )

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.