Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Altarum Insittute is a nonprofit health systems research and consulting organization. Altarum's technical service offerings are grouped into the following seven categories: health research, policy, and analysis; health program management, technical assistance, and evaluation; business advisory services; clinical research support and pharmacovigilance; strategic communications and digital services; conferences and meetings; and health innovation and technical assistance.

Keywords: Health policy, Policy development, Research, Systems development, Technical assistance

Annotation: Family to Family is an initiative designed in 1992 by the Annie E. Casey Foundation to help child welfare agenies respond more effectively to children who are being placed in out-of-home care. Family to Family provides an opportunity for states and communities to reconceptualize, redesign, and reconstruct their foster care system with the goal of improving care outcomes. An explicit premise of Family to Family is that the planning, implementation, and evaluation of child welfare policy and practices have to be guided by clear and specific goals, and that progress toward those goals requires good performance data. As part of the initiative, the Casey Foundation has developed specific tools for rebuilding foster care, written by leading experts on child welfare, built on lessons learned working inside child welfare agencies and with community and political leaders. Fact sheets about the tools, as well as detailed summaries and full how-to manuals, can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Electronic publications, Reform, Foster care, . Systems development, Child welfare, Data, Evaluation, Out of home care

Annotation: The Brazelton Touchpoints Center is dedicated to strengthening the families of young children and the systems of care that surround them so that all children – regardless of their cultural, socioeconomic, physical, psychological, emotional health, or environmental challenges – will be successful early learners and have the opportunity to thrive. It provides professional development, research and evaluation, practice innovation and technical assistance, and policy advocacy focused on systemic change for children and families.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Families, Infant behavior, Infant development, Service delivery systems, Training

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: The Child and Family Policy Center (CFPC) is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization promoting outcome-based policies that improve child well-being. The center focuses on a range of policy areas in Iowa, including child care and early education, health and well-being, and family economic success. CFPC also conducts national evaluation work focused on early-childhood system building and policy development promoting comprehensive, asset-based approaches to supporting children and families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Evaluation, Families, Family economics, Iowa, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Annotation: The Dental Trade Alliance Foundation (DTAF) was established in 2000 as the philanthropic arm of the Dental Trade Alliance. The foundation funds early stage innovative programs designed to increase the effectiveness of the oral health care system by encouraging changes in overall health behavior, improving access for underserved populations, and enhancing the efficiency of the system. The foundation's Dental ReSERVE provides donated equipment and supplies to vetted, non-proift organizations that provide free dental care to those in need.

Keywords: Financing, Foundations, Oral health, Service delivery systems, Systems development

Annotation: The Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECCS CoIIN) is a five-year initiative that supports 12 states and their communities in an effort to enhance early childhood systems and demonstrate improved outcomes in population-based children’s developmental health and family well-being indicators.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Model programs, Provider networks, Service delivery systems, Young children

Annotation: The Early Childhood Data Collaborative (ECDC) supports state policymakers’ development and use of coordinated state early care and education (ECE) data systems to improve the quality of ECE programs and the workforce, increase access to high-quality ECE programs, and ultimately improve child outcomes. The ECDC provides tools and resources to encourage state policy change and provides a national forum to support the development and use of coordinated state ECE data systems. The ECDC is supported through funding from the Alliance for Early Success, the Pew Charitable Trusts, and the David and Lucile Packard Foundation.

Keywords: Collaboration, Coordination, Data, Early childhood, Integrated information systems, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Workforce

Annotation: The Help Me Grow National Center serves as a national resource to support the replication of Help Me Grow systems, which aim to connect at-risk children with the services they need, throughout the country.

Keywords: Child development, Early childhood, Systems development

Annotation: The Learning Policy Institute conducts and communicates independent research to improve education policy and practice. Working with policymakers, researchers, educators, community groups, and others, the Institute seeks to advance evidence-based policies that support empowering and equitable learning for each and every child. Nonprofit and nonpartisan, the Institute connects policymakers and stakeholders at the local, state, and federal levels with evidence, ideas, and actions to strengthen the education system from preschool through college and career readiness.

Keywords: Educational change, Equal opportunities, Learning, Policy development, Research, School readiness, Systems development

Annotation: The Linda and Timothy O'Neill Institute for Global and National Health was founded in 2007 in conjunction with Georgetown Law and Georgetown School of Nursing & Health Studies. The Institute comprises four centers; (1) Center on Global Health; (2) Center on Health Care Financing and Organization; (3) Center for Disease Prevention and Health Outcomes; and (4) Center on Health Regulation and Governance. The O'Neill Institute plans to influence policy at the national, regional, and international levels. Its audience is diverse, including health professionals, lawyers, legislators, judges, academics, policy makers, and others. The O'Neill Institute plans to improve understanding about how the law affects the prevention of disease and injury through policy development, research, education, training, collaboration, and dissemination. By undertaking a diverse portfolio of research and scholarship, the O'Neill Institute plans to stimulate fresh, nonpartisan proposals for health promotion and disease prevention.

Keywords: Health policy, Disease prevention, Health care financing, Health care systems, International health, Legislation, Policy development, Public policy

Annotation: The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) works to improve the health and health care of all Americans by supporting grants and grant programs; research, evaluation, and learning; and building a culture of health. Focus areas include health leadership, health systems, healthy communities, and healthy children and healthy weight.

Keywords: Body weight, Child health, Grants, Leadership, Policy development, Program development, Systems development

Annotation: The Southern California Injury Prevention Research Center (SCIPRC), one of eleven national injury control centers designated by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, is a multidisciplinary academic and community effort that brings together public health scientists, clinicians, social scientists, and other injury specialists. The center works to reduce injury among ethnic and racial minorities, people who are socioeconomically disadvantaged, and other underserved Southern California populations. It sponsors research on applications of biomechanics, rehabilitation, acute care, and epidemiology in the primary, secondary, and tertiary prevention of intentional injuries (assaults, self-inflicted wounds) and unintentional injuries (motor vehicles, occupational and domestic exposures). Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The center sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. Publications include a catalog.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Data, Education, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Minority groups, Program development, Research, State initiatives, Training

Annotation: The U.S. Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) leads federal efforts to promote the prevention and treatment of mental disorders. The center helps states improve and increase the quality and range of their treatment, rehabilitation, and support; make it easier for people to access mental health programs; encourage a range of programs such as systems of care to respond to the increasing number of mental, emotional, and behavioral problems among children; support outreach and case management programs for people who are homeless and the improvement of these services; and ensure that scientifically-established findings and practice-based knowledge are applied in preventing and treating mental disorders.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Federal programs, Mental disorders, Mental health programs, Mental health services, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Systems development, Trauma care

Annotation: The Pacific Center for Special Care is an organization within the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry committed to improving the oral health of underserved people on the local, state and federal level. The center has created best-practice models of, and advocates for, improved access to dental care for anyone who faces challenges receiving oral health services through the traditional oral health care system. This includes groups and individuals who have difficulty maintaining good oral health or accessing oral health services because of medical, physical, social, economic, and geographic conditions. The website provides information about projects, the virtual dental home, and training.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care systems, Oral health, Special health care needs, Systems development, Telemedicine, Training, Underserved communities